TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
jdanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Extra tuner for tivo mini in sd menus

So I just got a TiVo premiere4, and after using the HD menus for about a day, I immediately went back to the SD menus. the hd menus are absolutely unusably slow, to the point of being worthless.

Question is, now im thinking of adding a TiVo mini, but it wont let you enable a tuner for it without turning on the HD menus. if you switch back to SD, it seems to re-enable the tuner for normal use.

Is there any way to allow a tuner for a TiVo mini, but keep my permiere4 in SD menus?

I really want to buy a TiVo mini for another room in my house - but I would honestly throw the premiere4 in the garbage before turning the hd menus back on. Hell I would rather gargle broken glass then use the hd menus ever again.

Am I just not able to get the mini, or is there a trick to leave it enabled with sd menus?
jdanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:16 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
You only have to use HDUI to choose how many tuners to dedicate to Mini. Once you set that you can go back to SDUI mode.

NOTE: Mini only has HDUI option, but you'll find it is MUCH speedier than on Premiere and is actually a pleasure to use. I use a Mini as a front end to my Elite which I find too slow to use directly.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:32 PM   #3
jdanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Oh yay that's great news.

Is there a way to verify the setting took hold? When I had hd menus on and I brought up the tuner pop up it said that one was reserved for remote devices. When I switch back to SD it doesn't show that anymore, it shows what all 4 tuners are tuned to.
jdanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:25 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Well, it's pretty easy to test - with 1 tuner dedicated to Mini try recording 4 things at once to see what happens.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:37 PM   #5
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdanna View Post
So I just got a TiVo premiere4, and after using the HD menus for about a day, I immediately went back to the SD menus. the hd menus are absolutely unusably slow, to the point of being worthless.

Question is, now im thinking of adding a TiVo mini, but it wont let you enable a tuner for it without turning on the HD menus. if you switch back to SD, it seems to re-enable the tuner for normal use.

Is there any way to allow a tuner for a TiVo mini, but keep my permiere4 in SD menus?

I really want to buy a TiVo mini for another room in my house - but I would honestly throw the premiere4 in the garbage before turning the hd menus back on. Hell I would rather gargle broken glass then use the hd menus ever again.

Am I just not able to get the mini, or is there a trick to leave it enabled with sd menus?

The HD menus are slow during the first few days and speed up later.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |