TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2013, 09:18 AM   #31
justen_m
Registered User
 
justen_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 6,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by humm View Post
How do the Yamaha's and Onkyo's compare over the long term? I have an aging Yamaha - going on 20 yrs old, that still sounds great but obviously lacks modern connectivity.
My Yamaha just died (actually it was just the display). 17 years old. I hope the new one lasts as long.

It still works, just no display.
justen_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:25 AM   #32
Davisadm
TiVo is Back!!!!!!!!
 
Davisadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 226
Onkyo's have had many problems with the HDMI boards failing.
Davisadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:04 AM   #33
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,280
I recently got a Denon AVR-2113. It's been pretty good. The only downside is that it's pretty limited in legacy ports.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:09 AM   #34
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davisadm View Post
Onkyo's have had many problems with the HDMI boards failing.
That is correct, at least for older units. I have an TX NR807 that the board went bad after about 27 months Onkyo fixed it for free and put in a new updated board, it runs much cooler now. So I would stay away from used units but I have no idea if the newer units are still having any issues (my 807 is several model years old and had the board replaced last fall).
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:59 AM   #35
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by justen_m View Post
The stupid receiver I foolishly bought has HDMI ports out the kazoo. My ancient ass needs a few more composite ports. Yeah. For my VCRs.

Anyway, poppagene, I don't know. I'm not throwing her out of the bed.

I just wish she was smaller.
If you spend some time with the manual, you'll discover that you can custom configure the input sources to combine each of the 4 composite video inputs (AV3 AV4 AV5 and AV6) with the 4 composite audio inputs (AV5 AV6 Audio 1 and Audio 2). No S video for the VCR, but are 4 composite inputs sufficient for your purposes?
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:06 PM   #36
humm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
I've had such good success with Yamaha I will probably stick with them. I have missed some good prices in the last few weeks, unfortunately!
humm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:54 PM   #37
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by justen_m View Post
My Yamaha just died (actually it was just the display). 17 years old. I hope the new one lasts as long...It still works, just no display.
the display thing happened to a "high end" technics of mine i kept for 26 years (bought mail order with allowance savings when i was young). i suspect it was hit with a power surge. it had a powerful class a dc amp that sounded better than anything close to the price, even with no display the last 7 years. it weighed over 40 lbs, manufactured in japan (not china).

i was sad to recycle it (sniff, sniff), but way past time for an avr with 3d passthrough, hdmi, optical, coax, etc.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg technics sa828.jpg (26.7 KB, 80 views)
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace

Last edited by NorthAlabama : 06-04-2013 at 05:48 PM.
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:28 PM   #38
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Just grab an HDMI switch. That's what I do to supplement the eight HDMI inputs of my iscan DUO in my main setup. I use a couple of the auto switching, two port, HDMI switches as well as a four port HDMI switch.

They also have auto component switches. Well at least they used to. I used to own a couple, four port, component auto switchers in the early 2000's when my HDTV only had analog HD inputs.
That's what I'm trying to avoid. I'm trying to simplify my system as much as possible. I have a very complicated setup and the rats nest of cables behind the A/V rack is scary looking. I'd like to simplify it to the point where there is one cable going from each device to the receiver and then a single HDMI cable running from the receiver to the TV.

I keep going back and forth, but right now I think I'm going to hold off. With new TiVos and new XBoxes on the horizon my needs may change this fall anyway.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 09:11 PM   #39
WO312
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
That's what I'm trying to avoid. I'm trying to simplify my system as much as possible. I have a very complicated setup and the rats nest of cables behind the A/V rack is scary looking. I'd like to simplify it to the point where there is one cable going from each device to the receiver and then a single HDMI cable running from the receiver to the TV.

I keep going back and forth, but right now I think I'm going to hold off. With new TiVos and new XBoxes on the horizon my needs may change this fall anyway.
Exactly. I used to have 3 different video switches. Now I have a Denon with everything plugged into it and one HDMI going to the TV. So much better.
WO312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 04:55 PM   #40
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,562
I have a composite switch, an HDMI switch, and a DVDO EDGE, and I'm going to be running short on HDMI inputs soon. For now, I can share the aux input (for a laptop) with an XBOX, but it's tough supporting a whole bunch of different platforms and media formats while maintaining a good cable management scheme.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:27 PM   #41
wkearney99
Bill Kearney
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,479
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
but it's tough supporting a whole bunch of different platforms and media formats while maintaining a good cable management scheme.
It eventually just becomes easier to get out and go have a life.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 04:06 AM   #42
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
I'm at the point where I'm trying to consolidate as much as possible. If I could whittle my system down to one TiVo and an Xbox I'd be happy. My new Samsung TV has apps for all the services I need so a DVR for recording, a game system to play games, and a BD/DVD player for movies is all I really need. Between the new XBox One and the rumored 6 tuner TiVo I might be able to make that a reality. Although I really need my cable company to go all digital too, or I'm always going to be stuck with at least one old TiVo for the analog stations.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |