TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2013, 06:19 AM   #1
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Tivodecode replacement that has GUI?

I want to take .Tivo files with me to watch at a location that I do not have a Tivo at. I know that Tivodecode will strip the encryption but i cannot get it to work. I'm not criticizing the program.....I'm just not a command line sort of guy. I really need a GUI to work with. ( I have Tivo Desktop Plus).
I would like a no cost program but would be willing to pay for one if i must. I have found a couple of programs on a google search but would prefer a recommendation from someone here because i'm worried about downloading nasties from bad people.
Thank you for your help
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:42 AM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,009
Try kmttg.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 06:48 AM   #3
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Looking for GUI

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
Try kmttg.
Looking for GUI
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:13 AM   #4
SullyND
L:27-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim867 View Post
Looking for GUI
Try kmttg.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 07:43 AM   #5
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND View Post
Try kmttg.
Ah! Sorry.....I thought that kmttg was command line bc i downloaded it yesterday and could not figure out how to install it. I revisited kmttg just now and found a win32 package that i missed before. So, now I have unzipped the package and now have a folder that lists ....

atomicparsley,comskip,curl,ffmpeg,handbrake,mediainfo_cli,me ncoder,projectx,tivodecode

i dont see an executable for the whole package.... just executables within each folder. forgive my ignorance but i dont know what to do now.
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:20 AM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
Read the documentation starting with:
windows_installation
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:30 PM   #7
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,009
It will do everything you're looking for and so much more...
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:15 PM   #8
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Read the documentation starting with:
windows_installation
Thank you.
I followed the instructions and installed the program. I converted one .Tivo file to the default .mpg extension.
The video loads but is of poor quality. Also one second of program takes a minute to play.
I will be watching the videos on an HDTV. Can someone clue me in as to the proper settings?
Thank you
Danny
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:11 PM   #9
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
What are you using to play the .mpg file(s)? Decrypting .TiVo to .mpg has no effect on quality. Try playback with VideoLAN VLC player which doesn't rely on Windows crappy codec system.

"watching the videos on an HDTV" is too vague because you don't mention with what device you will be doing that with.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:20 PM   #10
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
What are you using to play the .mpg file(s)? Decrypting .TiVo to .mpg has no effect on quality. Try playback with VideoLAN VLC player which doesn't rely on Windows crappy codec system.

"watching the videos on an HDTV" is too vague because you don't mention with what device you will be doing that with.
I am using VLC.
I only mentioned watching on an HDTV bc I want to stay with a high resolution file when converting.

So, can anyone suggest the settings that I might use in case that is the problem?
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 02:32 AM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,225
I've used this one...

http://gmonweb.com/wordpress/?page_id=17

It's simple and easy to use.

Although keep in mind that Premiere units use a TS file format that is not compatible with tivodecode. A better option might be to install TiVo Desktop and then use DirectShow Dump instead. It exploits a part of TiVo Desktop to do the decrypting so it can decrypt anything TiVo Desktop can. However it hasn't been updated in a while so the files it outputs always have a .mpg extension. You may need to change those to .ts if you're files are from a Premiere.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:40 AM   #12
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I've used this one...

http://gmonweb.com/wordpress/?page_id=17

It's simple and easy to use.

Although keep in mind that Premiere units use a TS file format that is not compatible with tivodecode. A better option might be to install TiVo Desktop and then use DirectShow Dump instead. It exploits a part of TiVo Desktop to do the decrypting so it can decrypt anything TiVo Desktop can. However it hasn't been updated in a while so the files it outputs always have a .mpg extension. You may need to change those to .ts if you're files are from a Premiere.
Hi Dan,
Thank you for your response.
I need some clarification though.

First let me say that my goal is to convert my .Tivo files into something that I can play through my WD Live media streamer onto my TV. Right now I can do so with .avi. I think that .mpg will also play.

So, in reference to your suggestions...
1. I do have a Premier.....the extensions are.Tivo.....does that mean that i cannot use the app in your link?
2. I do use Tivo Desktop with a Premier....will DirectShowDump leave me with a file that i can stream? I thought that it was for making TS files for burning DVD.
Thanks again
Danny
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:47 AM   #13
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Although keep in mind that Premiere units use a TS file format that is not compatible with tivodecode.
The Premiere has the option to use transport stream format. It is not required, except when the source uses H.264 video instead of MPEG-2.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:33 AM   #14
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
I use kmttg to download and convert to mpg format. Then use videoredo to edit commercials and then meGUI to encode to an MP4 format that plays well on BOTH Tivo and our WDTV boxes.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 04:52 PM   #15
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I've used this one...

http://gmonweb.com/wordpress/?page_id=17

It's simple and easy to use.

Although keep in mind that Premiere units use a TS file format that is not compatible with tivodecode. A better option might be to install TiVo Desktop and then use DirectShow Dump instead. It exploits a part of TiVo Desktop to do the decrypting so it can decrypt anything TiVo Desktop can. However it hasn't been updated in a while so the files it outputs always have a .mpg extension. You may need to change those to .ts if you're files are from a Premiere.

Hi Dan,
I've downloaded TivoDecoder from the link that you supplied.
When i try to decode a Tivo file I get the following error...
>>Error (Exit code= -1073741819<<
Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
Danny
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:54 PM   #16
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
The Premiere has the option to use transport stream format. It is not required, except when the source uses H.264 video instead of MPEG-2.
That option is set by default. Also the TS format is more reliable when files have minor glitches and it's significantly faster. So turning it off just so you can use tivodecode seems silly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim867 View Post
Hi Dan,
I've downloaded TivoDecoder from the link that you supplied.
When i try to decode a Tivo file I get the following error...
>>Error (Exit code= -1073741819<<
Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
Danny
Your files are likely TS format. When TiVoToGo was first introduced the files that you downloaded where basically just encrypted .mpg files with a special header. They had a .tivo extension. A few years ago they released a software update to the Premiere units which switched them to using a new file format which is basically an encrypted .ts file. But they still have a .tivo extension. TiVo Desktop can tell them apart because there is a flag in the special heard that tells it the type.

If you use DirectShow Dump then you can convert these files. However the files it outputs will have a .mpg extension when they are actually .ts files. You will need to manually change the file extension to .ts. If your WD live doesn't support .ts then you will need to use another program to remux them as real .mpg files.

Not to be a shill, but have you tried VideoReDo? With it you can open either type of .tivo file, edit out the commercials and save directly to a .mpg file. You can even save to a .mp4 or .mkv with H.264 video to same some storage space. Although doing that requires a full recode which is a lot slower then saving to .mpg. We offer a 15 day trial. You should try it out and see if it's of any use to you.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:46 AM   #17
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
If you use DirectShow Dump then you can convert these files. However the files it outputs will have a .mpg extension when they are actually .ts files. You will need to manually change the file extension to .ts. If your WD live doesn't support .ts then you will need to use another program to remux them as real .mpg files.
Sorry, I'm confused.
If i use DSD i will get .mpg files but i need to change the extension to TS?
If i am trying to get .mpg files, DSD outputs .mpg files.....??

also note.....the resulting files that i get from using kmttg do play on VLC.....just at about a frame in 10 seconds.
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:50 AM   #18
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Not to be a shill, but have you tried VideoReDo? With it you can open either type of .tivo file, edit out the commercials and save directly to a .mpg file. You can even save to a .mp4 or .mkv with H.264 video to same some storage space. Although doing that requires a full recode which is a lot slower then saving to .mpg. We offer a 15 day trial. You should try it out and see if it's of any use to you.
Thank you but i don't have the means to purchase VideoReDo.
I will try it though .....if i still cannot get a file that will play maybe that will give you guys another clue to ascertain my problem.
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:54 AM   #19
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I've used this one...

http://gmonweb.com/wordpress/?page_id=17

It's simple and easy to use.

Although keep in mind that Premiere units use a TS file format that is not compatible with tivodecode. A better option might be to install TiVo Desktop and then use DirectShow Dump instead. It exploits a part of TiVo Desktop to do the decrypting so it can decrypt anything TiVo Desktop can. However it hasn't been updated in a while so the files it outputs always have a .mpg extension. You may need to change those to .ts if you're files are from a Premiere.
The link brought me to "Tivo Decoder GUI"
using that program gave me >>Error(Exit Code=-1073741819)<<
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:13 AM   #20
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
If you use DirectShow Dump then you can convert these files. However the files it outputs will have a .mpg extension when they are actually .ts files. You will need to manually change the file extension to .ts. If your WD live doesn't support .ts then you will need to use another program to remux them as real .mpg files.
I've googled DirectShowDump but am not getting any good links. Anybody have one?
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:16 AM   #21
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
I think your best bet would be to go back to kmttg and with the help of folks on this forum, figure out what is wrong with your files or your ablilty to play them. Forget tivodecode.

Use kmttg to download and decrypt a file from your TiVo. Make sure you are not set up to download TS format but the older PS format. Start fresh with a program on your TiVo, not a .TiVo file you already have. kmttg will download and convert to .mpg all in one operation.

Run mediainfo on your resulting .mpg file and post the results. We can then see what is going on with your files.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:29 PM   #22
slimjim867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Make sure you are not set up to download TS
format but the older PS format.
Thank you
How do i set up to download the older PS format.
(I already have programs recorded on my Premiere)
slimjim867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:15 PM   #23
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim867 View Post
Thank you
How do i set up to download the older PS format.
(I already have programs recorded on my Premiere)
In kmttg, click 'File' then 'Configure'

On the Program Options tab, make sure the checkbox for 'Download Tivo Files in Transport Stream Format' is not checked.

This tells kmttg to download in the older Program Stream format.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:44 PM   #24
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
I think your best bet would be to go back to kmttg and with the help of folks on this forum, figure out what is wrong with your files or your ablilty to play them. Forget tivodecode.
Doesn't kmttg call tivodecode to do the decrypting part?
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 02:01 AM   #25
Spire
WAS PHONE
 
Spire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Everywhere like such as
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by murgatroyd View Post
Doesn't kmttg call tivodecode to do the decrypting part?
Yes.
__________________
begin 644 .sig22&%I;"P@9F5L;&]W(&=E96LA`end

Last edited by Melody Chalis : Today at 03:47 AM.
Spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:57 AM   #26
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by murgatroyd View Post
Doesn't kmttg call tivodecode to do the decrypting part?
Yes, but the OP does not need to worry about that, its all handled by kmttg.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:03 AM   #27
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Yes, but the OP does not need to worry about that, its all handled by kmttg.
Unless he gets an error, in which case, he will have to worry about tivodecode.

Don't get me wrong -- I like kmttg, and it's very easy to install on Windows. I think the OP should give it a try. My concern is, if there's something funky going on with tivodecode on his machine, just slapping kmttg on top of it is not going to fix his problem.

E.g. my elderly PPC Mac. I thought I had the right executable, but when I try to decrypt, tivodecode exits with an error code, and I haven't had time to debug the problem. So I need to carve out a corner of time where I'm awake enough to work the problem.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:49 AM   #28
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
The OP is working on a PC, not a mac and the kmttg install includes the tivodecode portion. A clean install and using program streams should result in properly working downloads. One thing at a time.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:16 AM   #29
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
The OP is working on a PC, not a mac and the kmttg install includes the tivodecode portion. A clean install and using program streams should result in properly working downloads. One thing at a time.
I agree the OP should go for it. The install on my PC was very smooth. If my Windows machine's power supply hadn't crapped out, I would still be using it.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |