TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
Tom Harms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 9
Lifetime TivoHD Constantly Rebooting

Purchased 3 TivoHDs in 2008 ~ one with Lifetime and the other two with monthly service. Now, five years later, my TivoHD with Lifetime service is constantly rebooting. Two TivoHDs with monthly ($9.95) service are fine. All 3 units have been left on 24/7, placed in friendly environmnets, & used about the same. Can not help being suspicous. Any comments?

Last edited by Tom Harms : 05-31-2013 at 03:24 PM.
Tom Harms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,385
Most likely its the hard drive, you should also check the power supply for bulging, bad capacitors.
If the hard drive is bad, and the other Tivos are the same model, you can use the other to image the lifetime box.
Be sure to run Clear & Delete Everything on the "new" tivo, otherwise it will not work and record.

Lifetime is not stored on the Tivo itself, it is on your account @tivo.com in relation to the service number.
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Pending sale)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 05:20 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,695
Could also be the power supply. If you don't mind a little surgery you may want to try swapping the power supply with one of your other units. If the reboot follows the power supply then you know it's the problem. If if stays with the lifetime TiVo then it's probably the hard drive.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 06:21 PM   #4
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Could also be the power supply. If you don't mind a little surgery you may want to try swapping the power supply with one of your other units. If the reboot follows the power supply then you know it's the problem. If if stays with the lifetime TiVo then it's probably the hard drive.
Sounds like what I would try first... If it were me.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 11:25 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,460
Any series 2 or series 3 TiVo giving any trouble, you should eliminate "capacitor plague" in the power supply as a possible cause before putting much time and effort into looking for another cause.

However, since you have to take the cover off to check the power supply, you might as well pull the drive and run the manufacturer's diagnostic software long test at the same time.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:18 AM   #6
Tom Harms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 9
Thanks for the tips. I used to do work on my old DirecTV HD DVRs, but not interested in opening boxes now. Just ordered a Verizon MRDVR to see if I can live with that system before pursuing another Tivo unit.
Tom Harms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:30 AM   #7
NotNowChief
Addicted to TiVo
 
NotNowChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Harms View Post
Thanks for the tips. I used to do work on my old DirecTV HD DVRs, but not interested in opening boxes now. Just ordered a Verizon MRDVR to see if I can live with that system before pursuing another Tivo unit.
Once you see its paltry storage capacity, you're going to regret this LOL
__________________
Verizon FiOS
TiVo Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini TCDA92000 (Codename: UNICORN)
TiVo HDXL TCD658000
TiVo HD TCD652160 + WD 500GB Expander
Retired: Philips Series 1 HDR212 & TiVo Series 2 540080
NotNowChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:14 PM   #8
tomharms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Good news. :-) Tivo is replacing by broken TivoHD with a refurbished Premier for $79, free shipping all around, and applying the product lifetime service to the Premier. Excellent customer service!
tomharms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:20 PM   #9
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,169
That is an amazing story. Not sure if I ever heard that happening at that price before.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:58 PM   #10
wtkflhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Metairie, La
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
That is an amazing story. Not sure if I ever heard that happening at that price before.

I tell you my story with TIVO svc. I had a series 2, single tuner that went bad. I also had 1 TIVO hd and 1 S3. The TIVO series 2 died, and so to replace it, bought a 2nd TIVO HD. When I called TIVO to set up the new box and cancel the dead one, they volunteered to replace the dead box with a re-furbished series 2 TIVO, with a duel tuner model at NO charge.
wtkflhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 05:26 PM   #11
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomharms View Post
Good news. :-) Tivo is replacing by broken TivoHD with a refurbished Premier for $79, free shipping all around, and applying the product lifetime service to the Premier. Excellent customer service!
Wow! I would have expected TiVo to charge $150 to transfer the lifetime service.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |