TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2013, 09:47 AM   #1
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Chronic problem with 1 SDV channel

I'm aware of a bug whereby often times SDV channels will not tune, then simply using channel up/down will resolve and tune the problem channel. However my issue runs deeper with one particular SDV channel (Science HD) channel 335 in my area. About once/week I cannot tune this channel and using channel up/down doesn't resolve it. The only way for me to resolve it is to start recordings on all four tuners (Premiere XL4) excluding the problem channel, then cancel recordings and re-tune channel 335 which always seems to bring it back. Apparently if a tuner sits on this channel for too long the issue will start again, so forcing my TiVo to record 4 different channels somehow purges the tuners. Has anyone else had this issue?
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:46 AM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,983
What is your cable system? Location? Are you using a Tuning Adapter?

I suspect this is a problem with your cable system's response to SDV tuning requests. I don't see why you should have to start recordings on all tuners rather than just set the four tuners to four distinct channels. Each tuner is "recording" to a 30 minute buffer anyway.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:11 PM   #3
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
What is your cable system? Location? Are you using a Tuning Adapter?

I suspect this is a problem with your cable system's response to SDV tuning requests. I don't see why you should have to start recordings on all tuners rather than just set the four tuners to four distinct channels. Each tuner is "recording" to a 30 minute buffer anyway.
I don't believe it to be a problem with my cable system (BrightHouse) as I've used Windows Media Center with the very same tuning adapter for years without tuning issues related to SDV channels. I believe this is yet another bug with how TiVo interfaces with tuning adapters. I'm just concerned that this is something that will get swept under the rug and never fixed. I have reported it to TiVo tech support however I feel like it's fallen on deaf ears at this point...
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |