TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2013, 11:25 PM   #1
Joey Bagadonuts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA 92807
Posts: 375
Thumbs down Good Bye TiVo

Well, after being a TiVo subscriber for 13 years, I am fed up with their shoddy product and shoddy customer service and dumping my remaining 3 DVRs (I had 6 and have recently dumped 3) and going with either Roku or Apple TV and Time Warner Cable DVRs. The final straw was when I had recently set a hockey game (a Stanley Cup semi-finals game) to record while I was at work and when I got home, ready to watch a game I had been anticipating all day, I was greeted with a black screen and an error message. Ironically, the channel (NBCSN) worked just fine on a different TV that didn't have a TiVo DVR connected. This isn't the first problem I've had with a TiVo DVR. I spent literally several months (more than 4, all told) helping TiVo TS troubleshoot a problem and what did I get in response? Two subscription-free months for the defective DVR and two TiVo supervisors giving me conflicting information as to whether or not my defective DVR would be replaced. One said sure, no problem while the other said I would have to jump through a few more troubleshooting hoops before a decision would be made on how to proceed. Apparently 4 months of hoop jumping wasn't enough for her.
So, I'm done. I'm done with having to deal with the CableCard issues and the tuning adapter issues and I am done having to pay $20 a month/DVR for a product that has become more of a headache than anything. Ironically, when it's all said and done, I will be paying more for Apple TV or Roku and the TWC DVR than if I were to stay with TiVo but I don't care. If it means paying a couple bucks more a month to have the peace of mind knowing that when I set a channel to record while I am at work, my program will be ready for viewing when I get home, then so be it.
One word of advice TiVo: Study the customer service practices of Verizon Wireless and mirror those. They actually care about their customers - something you might want to consider if you want to stay in business.

Buh Bye
Joey Bagadonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 11:37 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bagadonuts View Post
Well, after being a TiVo subscriber for 13 years, I am fed up with their shoddy product and shoddy customer service and dumping my remaining 3 DVRs (I had 6 and have recently dumped 3) and going with either Roku or Apple TV and Time Warner Cable DVRs. The final straw was when I had recently set a hockey game (a Stanley Cup semi-finals game) to record while I was at work and when I got home, ready to watch a game I had been anticipating all day, I was greeted with a black screen and an error message. Ironically, the channel (NBCSN) worked just fine on a different TV that didn't have a TiVo DVR connected. This isn't the first problem I've had with a TiVo DVR. I spent literally several months (more than 4, all told) helping TiVo TS troubleshoot a problem and what did I get in response? Two subscription-free months for the defective DVR and two TiVo supervisors giving me conflicting information as to whether or not my defective DVR would be replaced. One said sure, no problem while the other said I would have to jump through a few more troubleshooting hoops before a decision would be made on how to proceed. Apparently 4 months of hoop jumping wasn't enough for her.
So, I'm done. I'm done with having to deal with the CableCard issues and the tuning adapter issues and I am done having to pay $20 a month/DVR for a product that has become more of a headache than anything. Ironically, when it's all said and done, I will be paying more for Apple TV or Roku and the TWC DVR than if I were to stay with TiVo but I don't care. If it means paying a couple bucks more a month to have the peace of mind knowing that when I set a channel to record while I am at work, my program will be ready for viewing when I get home, then so be it.
One word of advice TiVo: Study the customer service practices of Verizon Wireless and mirror those. They actually care about their customers - something you might want to consider if you want to stay in business.

Buh Bye
And your telling us this because.....
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 12:01 AM   #3
Joey Bagadonuts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA 92807
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
And your telling us this because.....
Well, as a 13+ year subscriber to TiVo and owner of, at times 6+ TiVo DVRs, I felt somewhat of a responsibility to share my frustrations with other TiVo subscribers and provide some insight into what they (you) are getting yourselves in to. TiVo has turned a blind eye to the likes of Time Warner constantly feigning ignorance in dealing with CableCards. Hell, even when I filed a formal complaint with the FCC about the cable company refusing to allow me to self install a couple of CableCards, they blew me off. When even the Feds don't take a company like TiVo seriously, that tells me it's time to move on.

I'm pretty sure you weren't forced to read the thread but, you've asked a fair question and I have provided what I feel is an equally fair response.
Joey Bagadonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 07:56 AM   #4
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,883
I guess you never, for a moment considered it was TWC that was the source of your problems and suggested that TWC make their system work correctly and credit you for services you did not receive?

Seems to me TWC is the one you should be venting at, not giving more money to.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 07:59 AM   #5
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Seems like your problem is with Time Warner and their handling of third party merchandise. You did exactly what they wanted. They made it difficult to use a Tivo with poor cablecard support and faulty tuning adapters, so you dump the Tivo and put more money in Time Warners pockets. Bravo.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:44 AM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,423
Yes I would say Time Warner as well. I've been with TiVo for almost twelve years and have used over twenty TiVos between DirecTV, Comcast, and FiOS. And have not run into the problems the OP has. My TiVo DVRs have been more reliable during those twelve years than the Comcast and FioS DVRs are during a several month period. My neighbors Comcast and FiOS DVRs miss more recordings over several months than all my TiVos combined have ever missed during those twelve years.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:38 AM   #7
Richard Cranium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 173
I feel your pain. After laying out over $1100 for a premiere and an XL I had nothing but lookups, reboots and missed recordings. TiVo blamed FIOS until they couldn't deny the fact any longer that they rushed out the Premire half baked.

Their answer? They'll replace my 3 month old boxes. With REFURBS!!!

F-you TiVo, how's about taking some of those lawsuit winnings and hiring some competent engineers?

Like you I went with a "generic" DVR from my MSO (that was free) and have not had a single problem at all.

Trust me, you'll never look back.
Richard Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:42 AM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bagadonuts View Post
Well, as a 13+ year subscriber to TiVo and owner of, at times 6+ TiVo DVRs, I felt somewhat of a responsibility to share my frustrations with other TiVo subscribers and provide some insight into what they (you) are getting yourselves in to. TiVo has turned a blind eye to the likes of Time Warner constantly feigning ignorance in dealing with CableCards. Hell, even when I filed a formal complaint with the FCC about the cable company refusing to allow me to self install a couple of CableCards, they blew me off. When even the Feds don't take a company like TiVo seriously, that tells me it's time to move on.

I'm pretty sure you weren't forced to read the thread but, you've asked a fair question and I have provided what I feel is an equally fair response.
TiVo is a flyspeck compared to Times Warner so I have a problem with you saying TiVo turned a blind eye to the likes of Time Warner, if TiVo was the size of Microsoft, I would be more likely to agree with you, but you bring up one valid point, cable cos, left on their own, could put TiVo out of business, I am with Comcast and started using cable cards in 2006, never had any problem, don't have any cable card problems now, Comcast has a simple special tel number to pair your cable cards so moving a cable card to another TiVo is a few minute job, I can't speak for other cable cos. but my system is great and gives me no frustration as your experiencing.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:15 AM   #9
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,423
Never had a lick of trouble with Verizon FIOS and my S3's. Verizon tech support has always been exemplary whenever I had problems and they always resolved them quickly. I'm not a huge fan of Tivo's customer support, but it sounds like your issues were with Time Warner and not Tivo.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:44 AM   #10
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
I hate to pile it on but i also feel your cable card issues were with time warner cable .Cable companies like to hassle customers and blame tivo because they WANT YOU TO DROP THE TIVO AND GET THERE DVR!!!!!! And i've noticed cable companies that use tuning adapters seem to have more problems with tivos than those that dont have the TAs! In 13 years of using tivo i have never had a problem with either directv or verizon fios,2 companies that DONT USE tuning adapters!

Last edited by celtic pride : 05-25-2013 at 11:55 AM.
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 12:05 PM   #11
WO312
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,200
Guys, guys, guys. Sure, his problem is probably with TWC. What the F is he supposed to do??? Sue them?? All he wants is a reliable device. i don't blame him.

Having said that, I have both Tivo and the TWC DVR. I never use the TWC because it is so lame compared to the Tivo. But it is totally reliable (I use it to record critical shows as back-up). And it gets On-demand content, which I use occasionally (like when the Tivo misses a recording, or I see something good that I never recorded), and PPV, which I never use.

My Tivo service with TWC has been pretty good. My main headache is with my Tivo HD and the TA having the program data run out, so I have to put my TA on a timer. THAT I blame Tivo on. I have no such problem with my Tivo P4 and TA.
WO312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 12:26 PM   #12
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Could the problem be the new TWC lineup change ? I read in another thread here on the tivo community about TWC doing a lineup change.Sorry if some of us seemed to jump on you but speaking for my self I have been pretty much happy with tivo and hate to see someone dump tivo for a cable dvr. And to be fair i am being a little bit of a hypocrite here as i am debating switching and going back to directv,mainly beacuse i want the 5 tuner genie and hoping to get nba league pass and NFL sunday ticket for free this fall. I just cant afford to buy new tivos anymore,unless the new rumored tivo really has 6 tuners and a price less than $300.00 Even then i i probably wont get it because the lifetime service would bring the price up over$700.00 .
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 02:20 PM   #13
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,353
Every time I've had a snafu with reception on any of my TiVos using CableCARDS (beginning the original S3, an HD and now an XL4), it's ALWAYS been the cableco's fault. I'm not saying it's never TiVo's fault, but my guess (uneducated though it may be) is that this is another in a loooong list of cable companies who don't give a $hi! about the customers.

The latest problem was with some Starz channels that now require Mediacom to pair the cards to the machine. Their field techs had absolutely NO CLUE what to do and, even though they were instructed to bring extra CableCARDS (from their social media liaison with whom I was dialogging), did not get the instructions to do so. The guy I was chatting with (who is in Florida) ended up solving the problem from there after a week of frustration.
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 02:42 PM   #14
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bagadonuts View Post
Well, as a 13+ year subscriber to TiVo and owner of, at times 6+ TiVo DVRs, I felt somewhat of a responsibility to share my frustrations with other TiVo subscribers and provide some insight into what they (you) are getting yourselves in to.
Sharing your misplaced blame is not being responsible.

Quote:
TiVo has turned a blind eye to the likes of Time Warner constantly feigning ignorance in dealing with CableCards. Hell, even when I filed a formal complaint with the FCC about the cable company refusing to allow me to self install a couple of CableCards, they blew me off. When even the Feds don't take a company like TiVo seriously, that tells me it's time to move on.
What does an FCC complaint about TWC not allowing you to self install cablecards have to do with Tivo? It's just more misplaced blame.
Quote:
I'm pretty sure you weren't forced to read the thread but, you've asked a fair question and I have provided what I feel is an equally fair response.
Not really. It seems you have a problem figuring out who to blame for your problems.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:01 PM   #15
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by WO312 View Post
Guys, guys, guys. Sure, his problem is probably with TWC. What the F is he supposed to do??? Sue them?? All he wants is a reliable device. i don't blame him.

Having said that, I have both Tivo and the TWC DVR. I never use the TWC because it is so lame compared to the Tivo. But it is totally reliable (I use it to record critical shows as back-up). And it gets On-demand content, which I use occasionally (like when the Tivo misses a recording, or I see something good that I never recorded), and PPV, which I never use.

My Tivo service with TWC has been pretty good. My main headache is with my Tivo HD and the TA having the program data run out, so I have to put my TA on a timer. THAT I blame Tivo on. I have no such problem with my Tivo P4 and TA.
The above is the best answer I have seen to the OP, but the OP should not project his problems on all TiVo users, like using the words that what TiVo users are in for has no basis of truth because of the OP problem, his problem and other like it do cause many people just to take the cable cos DVR in the first place, and not have the possibility of this type of problem, for them, the DVR stops working, cable guy comes out and installs another, no unforeseen expense on your part. As for me, I have had TiVo for 12 years and I can sell on E-Bay, so I can keep my TiVo upgrade cost in check, and I can repair most TiVo problems myself, with little cost, I am sure many of this forum can do the same, but the wider world can't or don't want the bother.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:02 PM   #16
Emacee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 144
I can appreciate your frustration and I've had problems with my Tivo units, as well.

That said, I got a special offer for a free cable DVR (Motorola). Say what you want about Tivo - the cable boxes are so much worse. Hold on to your Tivos until you've actually lived with the cable company box for a month or so.

Those of you who have had a problem free experience with Tivo: I'm happy for you. Not all of us are so lucky. Those of you who think any problems with Tivo must be the users' fault: Maybe you should be working in tech support. In the meantime, enjoy listening to Rush.
__________________
Tivo Premiere w/ Comcast Xfinity
20.3.8*
TiVo Series3 HD (with upgraded 1g hard drive)
Plus a Roku2 for Netflix, Amazon Prime
Previously:
Hughes DirecTivo (02-06)
Phillips Series1 (99-03)
Emacee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 06:40 PM   #17
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emacee View Post
Those of you who think any problems with Tivo must be the users' fault: Maybe you should be working in tech support. In the meantime, enjoy listening to Rush.
No one said it was the users fault. The blame lies with TW. I have no idea what that last sentence means.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:06 PM   #18
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 848
I'll have to speak up and state that my 13 years of experience with TiVo's has been positive (2 S1's originally and now 2 S3's) when used with Comcast. We've had CableCards for 6 years now and any issues with them have always been on Comcast's side. Luckily those have been relatively few.

Calling TiVo a shoddy product is taking it to the extreme even given the frustration with your issue which as others have mentioned is more than likely on TW's side. My brother has a TiVo HD and a Comcast DVR and he's had to replace the Comcast DVR 3 times in the past 2 years and one of those was a brand new unit so his experience with the cable DVD has not been very good so far. I hope your experience with the TW DVR is better.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:05 AM   #19
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by WO312 View Post
Guys, guys, guys. Sure, his problem is probably with TWC. What the F is he supposed to do??? Sue them?? All he wants is a reliable device. i don't blame him.
.
Its very simple. One should call TWC and advise them that you do not intend to pay for services until such time that they are delivered. Force TWC to fix their problem or leave.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 09:00 AM   #20
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by celtic pride View Post
I hate to pile it on but i also feel your cable card issues were with time warner cable .Cable companies like to hassle customers and blame tivo because they WANT YOU TO DROP THE TIVO AND GET THERE DVR!!!!!! And i've noticed cable companies that use tuning adapters seem to have more problems with tivos than those that dont have the TAs! In 13 years of using tivo i have never had a problem with either directv or verizon fios,2 companies that DONT USE tuning adapters!
Why do the cable companies care if you use their DVRs? Several people say that they are free when compared to Tivo. So, again.... Why would the cable company care if you're using a Tivo then?
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 09:15 AM   #21
Richard Cranium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Its very simple. One should call TWC and advise them that you do not intend to pay for services until such time that they are delivered. Force TWC to fix their problem or leave.
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=476691

5 different MSO's mentioned including OTA. Guess what the common denominator is?

Last edited by Richard Cranium : 05-26-2013 at 09:27 AM.
Richard Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 09:58 AM   #22
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
Joey Bagadonuts, have you used a TWC DVR before? They stink. I had their "Signature Home Service" with whole house DVR. Supposed to be high support. It was the same support, except I had special number I could call, a person would answer right away, but they knew nothing, did not really do support. They just answered the phone and put me on the same hold queue as the other folks. Their hardware is flaky too. I had to reboot their DVR at least once a week. The UI stinks. The remotes had to be pointed directly at the DVR to work. Try the TWC DVRs before you get rid of your Tivos.
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:14 AM   #23
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Why do the cable companies care if you use their DVRs? Several people say that they are free when compared to Tivo. So, again.... Why would the cable company care if you're using a Tivo then?
TWC DVRs are not free they cost $22.50 each per month in my area, more if you rent their "whole Home" versions which are only dual tuners.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:52 AM   #24
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,951
Time Warners business plan is working perfectly. Ignore all support for third party products and people will be forced to use yours. They win. Game over.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:35 PM   #25
Richard Cranium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
TWC DVRs are not free they cost $22.50 each per month in my area, more if you rent their "whole Home" versions which are only dual tuners.
LOL! So naive!
Richard Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:42 PM   #26
Richard Cranium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 173
It's comical how defensive you guys get when someone points out that a Ferrari, while an awesome car, is not a good daily driver. Way more than most people need and ya'll are quick to blame the dealer when you get a bill for a $1400 tune up cause they run like **** most of the time.

Hint: It's not the dealers fault....
Richard Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:57 PM   #27
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by E. Norma Stitz View Post
LOL! So naive!
I guess I have no idea what you are talking about. I stated what TWC charges for DVRs in my area, what is funny or naive about that?
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:03 PM   #28
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by E. Norma Stitz View Post
It's comical how defensive you guys get when someone points out that a Ferrari, while an awesome car, is not a good daily driver. Way more than most people need and ya'll are quick to blame the dealer when you get a bill for a $1400 tune up cause they run like **** most of the time.

Hint: It's not the dealers fault....
Yea, there's no way it's Time Warner's fault.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...tuning+adapter
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:47 PM   #29
cwerdna
Proud Tivolutionary
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 8,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
Never had a lick of trouble with Verizon FIOS and my S3's. Verizon tech support has always been exemplary whenever I had problems and they always resolved them quickly.
I had little trouble w/my TiVo HD w/FiOS (Verizon then Frontier) for ~1.5 years.

The stock hard drive either went bad or got corrupted so I don't use it anymore.

I did have a big problem (what looked like a massive channel outage) that I and a few others here and TC dealt w/when we found out (after the fact) that our "outage" was due to VZ turning on copy protection on most channels w/o telling us. They hadn't paired our cards since it wasn't necessary, hence the outage.

This was before my VZ FiOS area was sold/spun off to Frontier.

Now have been using my TiVo HD w/CableCARD and Comcast for almost 2 years, w/o issue.
cwerdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:32 PM   #30
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,353
Absolutely the DVRs are NOT free....anywhere that I know of and certainly not in our service area (Mediacom). You don't pay for the hardware (if that's what you mean), but you certainly pay for the service. The only time it might be free is if it's a promotion which usually expires after a year or two...
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |