TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2013, 12:50 AM   #151
Toshirick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 32
ERROR 9 in Wnfs

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
What size drive are you restoring to?
I used an image I received and used DvrBars and it restored my new drive.

I then used MFSAdd in WinMFS then I get an error 9 zonemap.

What i'm I doing wrong.

any help is appreciated.

Rick
__________________
2 S3 Tivo's Lifetime
1 Toshiba TX60 Lifetime

S2 Lifetime
Toshirick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 02:28 AM   #152
Toshirick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 32
Green screen on a restored drive

Ok I put the new restored drive back in the TiVo and tried it.

It says powering up then it goes almost there then the green screen that says the dvr has serious problems allow it to try to fix it and it might take up to three hours!

What did I do wrong?

thanks for all the help everyone
__________________
2 S3 Tivo's Lifetime
1 Toshiba TX60 Lifetime

S2 Lifetime
Toshirick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:33 AM   #153
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshirick View Post
I used an image I received and used DvrBars and it restored my new drive.

I then used MFSAdd in WinMFS then I get an error 9 zonemap.

What i'm I doing wrong.

any help is appreciated.

Rick






Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshirick View Post
Ok I put the new restored drive back in the TiVo and tried it.

It says powering up then it goes almost there then the green screen that says the dvr has serious problems allow it to try to fix it and it might take up to three hours!

What did I do wrong?

thanks for all the help everyone
Don't think you did anything wrong. Not sure about the error. Will have to see if I can replicate. You could let it run through the fix and see what happens. If not I pm'ed you another file. If that one doesn't work then we need to evaluate your set up and process.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 11:24 AM   #154
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toshirick View Post
Ok I put the new restored drive back in the TiVo and tried it.

It says powering up then it goes almost there then the green screen that says the dvr has serious problems allow it to try to fix it and it might take up to three hours!

What did I do wrong?

thanks for all the help everyone
Whenever you use an image from a different TiVo, even though the same model, that image expects to boot up in a TiVo with the same TiVo Service Number as the machine from which the image was taken and the new TiVo expects the hard drive to have the same TSN stored on it as the one stored on the motherboard, so it has to do some stuff (basically set everything back to square one) to resolve the situation.

Eventually it should get everything squared away and dump you at the beginning of Guided Setup.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 10:03 PM   #155
Toshirick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 32
Thanks

It is working thanks to everyone and special thanks to jmbach for all the help and images.

I have 2777 sd and 318 HD.

Rick
__________________
2 S3 Tivo's Lifetime
1 Toshiba TX60 Lifetime

S2 Lifetime
Toshirick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:56 AM   #156
TiVoToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
Depending on the community you are in, the local technical college or high school might do the work for you.

The local electronics (tv) shop here in my area would replace the caps for that price.

Probably solder, soldering iron, and caps are less than 20 to 25 dollars.
Thanks to the encouragement of the regular contributors to this forum, I screwed up the courage to try to do it myself. Ordered the tools and parts I would need last weekend, then went out of town on a week of vacation. Packages were here when I got back home Saturday. Replaced 3 caps (C701, C401, C402) on one of the bad P/S yesterday afternoon. When I was done, my solder joints looked as good as original - so I was probably being too hard on myself regarding my skills. Installed repaired P/S back in S3 and it has been running for last 18 hours with no random reboots. For me, the hardest part was removing the old C401 and C402 caps. Trying to hold the board in place while holding the iron and putting a little leverage on the caps to pull them free required some juggling. A prehensile tail would have been helpful. I plan to repair the P/S for the other S3 this afternoon.
TiVoToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:20 PM   #157
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoToo View Post
For me, the hardest part was removing the old C401 and C402 caps. Trying to hold the board in place while holding the iron and putting a little leverage on the caps to pull them free required some juggling. A prehensile tail would have been helpful. I plan to repair the P/S for the other S3 this afternoon.
Congratulations!

You need one of these to help remove the solder. Once the solder is pulled out then the caps are easy to remove.



$5.80 at Amazon and called a solder sucker.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:22 AM   #158
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Congratulations!

You need one of these to help remove the solder. Once the solder is pulled out then the caps are easy to remove.



$5.80 at Amazon and called a solder sucker.

Scott
One of the things at Radio Shack actually worth having is a de-soldering iron.

Looks like a soldrering iron, but has a big squeeze bub.

You heat the solder joint with the tip while holding the bulb squeezed (adding a little fresh solder to get some flux in there helps melt the old stuff) and when it liquifies you release the bulb to suck the solder away from the joint.

Without squeezing the bulb, it can serve as a soldering iron in a pinch.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:19 AM   #159
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
One of the things at Radio Shack actually worth having is a de-soldering iron.

Looks like a soldrering iron, but has a big squeeze bub.
Same concept but just combines the soldering iron and solder sucker into one unit.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |