TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-23-2013, 06:58 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Question can a mini coexist with a Series 3?

I'm sure this has been answered elsewhere, but I am assuming a mini can't interact at all with a Series 3 Tivo, correct? I'm thinking mainly because a Series 3 can only do multi-room "transferring" and not "streaming". Is this about right or can the mini interact with a Series 3 somehow in another way?

I have a few Series 3 lifetimes that are basically just being used as cable boxes in a basement. Not heavily used, but I do use their storage to record some shows. Free up space on my main level Premieres. Then multi-room transfer as needed over my (hard wired) home network.

If I had a 4-tuner Premiere and mini in my set-up, the mini would not then be able to view ANY material recorded on any of the Series 3, right? I realize I could probably "transfer" content from a Series 3 to a Premiere and then "stream" it from the Premiere to a mini, but is there maybe some other functions the mini can do with a Series 3?

Last edited by buscuitboy : 05-23-2013 at 07:05 AM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:31 PM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,538
You're correct. The Mini is strictly a streamer, and the Series 3's don't stream. I haven't tried it but I don't know of any other functions that a Mini/S3 together could perform directly.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:23 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,033
You can't access a S3 from a Mini at all. It's grayed out at the bottom of the My Shows list on the Mini.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 02:40 PM   #4
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
I did this with my Tivo HD:


Using an HDMI Extender with TiVo
You need to upgrade your Flash Player

Work ok for now, still need a little fine tuning.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 04:13 PM   #5
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,470
Yeah, you'd have to copy to the Premiere, and then stream to the Mini.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |