TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2013, 12:20 PM   #1381
philvh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Smile Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Why are your TiVos on your guest network? I'd just fix that.

Otherwise, I'd need to know more about how your network(s) is/are set up. Can the machine hosting pyTivoX even talk to the guest network?
I reinstalled pyTivoX and ran it with the host computer connected only to the guest network. Shared content shows on all three TiVos.
philvh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:29 PM   #1382
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 65,927
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by philvh View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. I was thinking to divide the traffic (7-8 wireless clients at any given time), and inasmuch as my Time Capsule offers a second network . . . was I kidding myself?
Yes, because all those devices (7-8 really isn't a lot) are still sharing the same bandwidth. Segregating "guests" is more about security than anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philvh View Post
I reinstalled pyTivoX and ran it with the host computer connected only to the guest network. Shared content shows on all three TiVos.
So now they're all on the guest network? Awesome
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 02:04 PM   #1383
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,861
Is there a way to add commands to the CLI pyTivo that the GUI shell calls? I didn't find the info in a quick search, but in one of the other threads, it says you can add a simple command to use the transport stream method (IIRC), so then closed captions will be retained when transferring back to the Tivo.. (On Premieres, you almost never get closed captions when simply sending the same file back..)

I looked inside the app package and didn't see an obvious "file with CLI parameters" in a quick search.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 04:10 PM   #1384
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,757
Actually the transport stream option is a pyTivo.conf option, not command-line. I don't know if that helps... Of course, last I checked, the latest version of pyTivoX long predates the feature.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 04:22 PM   #1385
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,861
Is there a pytivo.conf file I didn't see in my look around? and even if pyTivoX long predates the feature, isn't it correct that the GUI app is basically a shim on top of the CLI pytivo, so especially if just turning on transport stream is "invisible" to the caller, adding it should be easy?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:37 PM   #1386
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,757
pyTivoX is bundled with its own copy of pyTivo. You'd have to replace that. (It's doable; I've done it. But that was a while ago.) I can't speak to the .conf file offhand, except that it must exist (if not necessarily with that name) for pyTivo to function. Another thing I'd have to look up... But, this is an abandoned project, and IMHO it's quixotic to continue using it, unless someone resumes maintaining it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 03:43 PM   #1387
berkinet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Trying to run pyTivoX on a Mac: MacOS 10.9.1, java 1.7.0_45-b18, pyTivoX 1.3.

pytivo starts and runs fine. However, I cannot get stream baby to start. The log shows:
Code:
Error: This Java instance does not support a 32-bit JVM.
Please install the desired version.
If I startstream baby from inside the pyTivoX app bundle, it works fine.

Ideas?
berkinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:49 PM   #1388
berkinet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by berkinet View Post
...pytivo starts and runs fine. However, I cannot get streambaby to start. The log shows:
Code:
Error: This Java instance does not support a 32-bit JVM.
Please install the desired version.
If I startstream baby from inside the pyTivoX app bundle, it works fine.
Resolved, at least for me.

I scanned the binary executable (pyTivoX/Contents/MacOS/pyTivoX) and found where streambaby was called (actually 2 places). I then used a hex editor to change the -d32 argument to -d64 and it now works fine.

Now that I have the base application working I will check to see if there is a need to update the bundled pyTivo or streambaby.

BTW, based on the low volume on this topic, I am guessing I am the only person trying to use pyTivoX on MacOS with 64-bit java. If there is anyone else out there with interest in this, please post back.
berkinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:45 PM   #1389
cweb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 93
Can you state where the two places were that you changed?
cweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:55 PM   #1390
berkinet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by cweb View Post
Can you state where the two places were that you changed?
Offsets 40789 & 11476
But, its easier to just search for -d32

BTW, I used Hex Fiend to edit the binary.
berkinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:03 PM   #1391
JohnnyO
Crimper
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by berkinet View Post
BTW, based on the low volume on this topic, I am guessing I am the only person trying to use pyTivoX on MacOS with 64-bit java. If there is anyone else out there with interest in this, please post back.
Nice work.

I had been using PyTiVoX until about a year ago. I've just been using pyTiVo since then to stay up with the modifications.
JohnnyO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 05:05 PM   #1392
berkinet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
On the odd chance that someone with a bit of clue is still tuned in here...

Having patched pyTivoX to run under Mavericks, my next goal was to update the enclosed streambaby to 0.29. Got that working too. Now I am trying to get streambaby to load the FFmpeg libs rather than running FFmpeg directly. So far I have built FFmpeg-1.2.4 and now have 64-bit versions of the needed libs and streambaby seems to recognize them . However, on loading "FFmpeg-java Module" it blows up. Here is the log...
Code:
FFmpeg-java Module
I suspect this is a path issue, but it is hard to tell.

BTW, to get ffmpeg-1.2.4 to run, I had to delete ffmpeg.bin and recreate it as a link to ffmpeg
berkinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:25 PM   #1393
berkinet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Running pyTivoX under Java 1.6 AFTER you have installed Java 1.7.

So, as has been discussed in this (and the streambaby) thread, if you "upgrade" to Java 1.7 you will have problems with any any file names or meta-data that contain anything except straight ascii. Unfortunately, the only option presented has been to re-install Java 1.6.

Also unfortunately, pyTixoX has the java executable path hard coded in the app. However, here is a way to keep your Java 1.7 installation and still get pyTivoX to run correctly under Java 1.6.

First, create a link to the Java 1.6 executable, we will call it jav6.
Code:
cd /usr/local/bin
sudo  ln -s /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home/bin/java jav6
You can test this by entering:
Code:
jav6 -version
You should get something like:
java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-462-11M4609)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-462, mixed mode)
Now, use a hex editor to edit the pyTivoX executable as noted in the post on changing to a 64 bit java. This time you need to search for -d64 and then change "/usr/local/bin/java" (just preceding the -d64) to "/usr/local/jav6". Then search for the second appearance of -d64 and do the same thing.

That's it.

BTW, the reason for using jav6 instead of something more standard like java6 is that you cannot change the byte count of the executable.
berkinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |