TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2013, 10:37 AM   #1
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
Missing Media Access Key entry under Account & System Info

Under the Account & System Info tab, the 2nd entry is completely missing. 'Media Access Key' is not there. This is not another missing Media Access Key thread.

I had the deck unplugged while I was trying to image the drive, when I returned that drive back and booted it up all was fine except for this. I forced a update which it did, but no change.
I waited a day, still no entry.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Account & System Info.jpg (41.0 KB, 25 views)
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:31 PM   #2
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
Is the MAK in "System Information" pages?
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:34 PM   #3
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
Yes.
Model 652 firmware V11.0k w/ lifetime service
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:25 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Under the Account & System Info tab, the 2nd entry is completely missing. 'Media Access Key' is not there. This is not another missing Media Access Key thread.

I had the deck unplugged while I was trying to image the drive, when I returned that drive back and booted it up all was fine except for this. I forced a update which it did, but no change.
I waited a day, still no entry.
If I remember correctly, that gets picked up when the Tivo communicates with the mothership. Have you tried another power cycle of the Tivo after the forced update? I do mean power cycle, not a restart. This might be somehow related to the fact that some information, like the Tivo name, can get downloaded from the website but does not get communicated to your network except on powerup.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:34 PM   #5
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
I contacted TiVo, I never xferd the deck mover to my name, but that hasn't affected anything before as I don't have plans to link decks or use the desktop etc. The other 652 is fine. I did read regarding a message about a missing key, but as you can see, the entry to click on is not even there.

Anyway, he stated he has seen this before though no clear reason was mentioned. I will wait another day since I finally decided to register both decks.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 02:48 PM   #6
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
I contacted TiVo, I never xferd the deck mover to my name, but that hasn't affected anything before as I don't have plans to link decks or use the desktop etc. The other 652 is fine. I did read regarding a message about a missing key, but as you can see, the entry to click on is not even there.

Anyway, he stated he has seen this before though no clear reason was mentioned. I will wait another day since I finally decided to register both decks.
1 An unregistered TiVo won't have a KEY.
2 You need a local Network connection.
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:16 AM   #7
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
1. Since it had lifetime, it was registered, just not to me yet,
2. It has had a connection.

Then why does the other deck have the entry?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:03 PM   #8
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,542
Perhaps the original owner asked for tivo to remove it from their account.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:27 PM   #9
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
I think that is the case. It's funny the other deck shows the number.
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |