TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2013, 08:30 AM   #1
jctivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 79
Problems with audio, guide, tivo recorded shows

So my S3 is on the fritz. I have lifetime on it and don't have the $$ for a new tivo. I run farifax va fios with cable cards.

I have 2 kids and this the primary tv distribution product so I need to fix it.

Problems escalated last night.
I had audio dropouts on recorded shows and live shows.
Then I let it sit for a while and didn't touch it.
Then it worked for a few hours later that evening.
Then this morning, almost total non responsive to the remote.
There were no shows listed in the saved list.

I had guide problems and interface problems where I haven't been able to change channels or select a recorded show.
I finally got on a cartoon network but I couldn't do much else.

I think I have narrowed the list down to. I'm not very handy.
a. hard drive issue
b. power supply
c. capactictor
d. verizon line trouble
e. cable card
f. coax into box from street
g. external hard drive (western digital 500gb hooked up thru esata)


I understand that e-g are the least likely reasons for the trouble but are the easiest to test.

I'm less concerned about shows that I might lose that I have already recorded.


1. My first question is if I disconnect the external hard drive, will the tivo work? (IF that were the problem)

2. If I bought a tivo series 3 on craigslist for $50, could I just use it for parts like power supply, capatictors to repair my nonfunctioning tivo series 3.

Thank you in advance,
jctivo
__________________
jctivo
RIP - 2 Series 2 Tivos not on Lifetime - Stupid me
Tivo HD 1/2009 - Lifetime

Tivo Concept is the best thing since: Remote Control, Refrigerator & AC
jctivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:24 AM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,515
External drive issues are at the top of the list to investigate. The 500 GB model was not as reliable as the 1 TB model. However, cables could also be the issue. Exchange with a known good one.

If you just remove it, all shows recorded after it was installed will be lost.

Internal drive is next to investigate.

Capacitors are the same as the PS. You could try a used unit, but that could be a short term prospect as bad caps are a well known problem.

Easy things to try are to reseat the cable cards and to review your signal quality.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:52 AM   #3
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by jctivo View Post
1. My first question is if I disconnect the external hard drive, will the tivo work? (IF that were the problem)
Yes but many if not all saved programs may not play.
Eliminate eSata cable by swap or replace with known good cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jctivo View Post
2. If I bought a tivo series 3 on craigslist for $50, could I just use it for parts like power supply, capatictors to repair my nonfunctioning tivo series 3.
Thank you in advance,
jctivo
Yes, but not a good idea with regard to power supply repair. As the TiVo you buy could have bad capacitors too.
Better to find a local radio/tv/appliance repair shop to replace the capacitors in the power supply. Much info here and on web on that subject.

You indicate problems playing back with recorded shows, that should eliminate the verizon side of things. You can disconnect the cable from verizon to TiVo and recheck recorded programs, just in case.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:53 AM   #4
jctivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 79
external hard drive or cable

thanks for all of the tips.

I disconnected the external wb hard drive and the tivo seems to be working much better. No problems with only a couple hours of testing.

So I will try to find a new esata cable and reconnect the hard drive.

Assuming that doesn't help, I will try to go internal and get a new hard drive per the various faq threads on tivocommunity which are very helpful.

I was definitely surprised at the costs of sending my tivo to someone to have the hard drive upgraded. I guess I will try it myself and save $150.

Thanks again,
jctivo
__________________
jctivo
RIP - 2 Series 2 Tivos not on Lifetime - Stupid me
Tivo HD 1/2009 - Lifetime

Tivo Concept is the best thing since: Remote Control, Refrigerator & AC
jctivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:08 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by jctivo View Post
thanks for all of the tips.

I disconnected the external wb hard drive and the tivo seems to be working much better. No problems with only a couple hours of testing.

So I will try to find a new esata cable and reconnect the hard drive.

Assuming that doesn't help, I will try to go internal and get a new hard drive per the various faq threads on tivocommunity which are very helpful.

I was definitely surprised at the costs of sending my tivo to someone to have the hard drive upgraded. I guess I will try it myself and save $150.

Thanks again,
jctivo
When you disconnected the external drive, did the TiVo complain about it being missing and force you to "divorce" it before you could do anything else?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:35 PM   #6
jctivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 79
yes

It wiped out all of my recorded shows.

I'm trying a new esata cable today.

jctivo
__________________
jctivo
RIP - 2 Series 2 Tivos not on Lifetime - Stupid me
Tivo HD 1/2009 - Lifetime

Tivo Concept is the best thing since: Remote Control, Refrigerator & AC
jctivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:38 PM   #7
jctivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 79
new esata cable worked

I tried a new esata cable and wiped out all of my past shows by removing the external drive for a day.

Everything has been working fine for a week but I know it might not last.
__________________
jctivo
RIP - 2 Series 2 Tivos not on Lifetime - Stupid me
Tivo HD 1/2009 - Lifetime

Tivo Concept is the best thing since: Remote Control, Refrigerator & AC
jctivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:58 AM   #8
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 629
Any update?
My S3 has been dropping audio in recordings (not playback) lately and I don't have eSATA, already replaced the power supply and hard drive a year or two ago (maybe the new ones are already dying?), and my Premiere on the same cable feed isn't having these problems.

Last time I had this it was just the power supply. I guess I'll open it up and check it out.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |