TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Kennykenny17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Exclamation How flash a TiVo image to a hard drive using winmfs

My hard drive on my Series 2 TCD 540040 gave out and I have another drive waiting to be installed. I need to know how to flash a image on the new drive for the TiVo, I can only plug one drive in because I have one ide to usb adapter. I have the image and am using winmfs.
Kennykenny17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:10 PM   #2
IWLSR5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
The Winmfs explains step by step how to do this. There are also multiple threads on this forum that also tell you how to do this.
IWLSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:29 PM   #3
Kennykenny17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
I just wanted to know if I hook up the new drive and do the restore tivo drive from the tcd540040 images, will everything work out fine. The new drive was from a Toshiba Series 2 ST380012 TiVo I believe, it was barely used
Kennykenny17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:17 PM   #4
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,292
The TiVo drive will only work if it is from the same model in your case the TSN that starts with "540".


Now if you have a image for a "540" you need to "install" it to the a replacement drive (same size or larger) by using one of the programs for copying TiVo drives like MFSTools, MFSLive, WinMFS ....
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:22 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kennykenny17 View Post
I just wanted to know if I hook up the new drive and do the restore tivo drive from the tcd540040 images, will everything work out fine. The new drive was from a Toshiba Series 2 ST380012 TiVo I believe, it was barely used
Has that Toshiba drive been erased or otherwise messed with?

If not, you should do a backup image of it for the benefit of others, especially if you're begging a 540 image.

What's the LBA number of that drive, or the brand and model number?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |