TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-23-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
tbielowicz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 52
Tivo Mini & Slingbox... can it work?

I know this was asked by other community members before release, but I have not seen any updates. I liked the idea that you were not hijacking the main Tivo unit and instead a mini.

Let me know if this worked for anyone and if there were any limitations.
tbielowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:02 AM   #2
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 818
I have a Vulkano I may hook it up to. I'll report how it goes if I do.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:35 AM   #3
Gaidin43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 92
I know you have to use the break out cables and just like the Slingbox on the main TiVo box I believe you need a powered splitter / receiver / TV on the end of the HDMI if you don't just through put the component cables to your tv.
Gaidin43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:30 AM   #4
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbielowicz View Post
I know this was asked by other community members before release, but I have not seen any updates. I liked the idea that you were not hijacking the main Tivo unit and instead a mini.

Let me know if this worked for anyone and if there were any limitations.
I suppose it would work. You could have the HDMI to the TV and the component to the Slingbox. This assumes that the Tivo would output to both HDMI and Component at the same time (Like the Premiere does).
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:43 AM   #5
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,877
It works fine with component out from the Mini to the SB. And the component out from the SB going to the TV.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:31 PM   #6
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 607
So will it work with the HDMI out, or not? and also, does anyone know if the mini work with BOTH the HDMI and the component breakout cable?
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:35 PM   #7
k2ue
Retired RF Engineer
 
k2ue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Victor, NY
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoboy View Post
So will it work with the HDMI out, or not? and also, does anyone know if the mini work with BOTH the HDMI and the component breakout cable?
The Slingbox ALWAYS needs component, because of HDCP issues. The Slingbox 500 will ask if the exact same signal is present on the HDMI, apparently so it can use that if HDCP allows at a given time.
__________________
Roamio Pro/w Slide Remote, Cisco TA, iScan Duo, Epson 5020UB, Draper 80" Triggered Screen, TiVo Mini,
Oppo BDP103, Denon AVR1713, DT ProCenter 1000+ProCinema 800's, TSS-SUB4000, 4x Harmony 700
k2ue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:04 PM   #8
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoboy View Post
So will it work with the HDMI out, or not? and also, does anyone know if the mini work with BOTH the HDMI and the component breakout cable?
Yes it does, just did it yesterday.

(Both at same time)
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:30 PM   #9
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 607
well

Quote:
Originally Posted by k2ue View Post
The Slingbox ALWAYS needs component, because of HDCP issues. The Slingbox 500 will ask if the exact same signal is present on the HDMI, apparently so it can use that if HDCP allows at a given time.
yes, I just use a 500 with HDMI only, but don't stream things like HBO which is one of the only things it pukes on. I have the component setup as well, for when I travel and want HBO streaming (But most things are on hbogo) but if the mini WILL do both, component AND HDMI at the same time, then that is great, I'll probably just setup one premier or mini and try and have that do the one slingbox
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 03:32 PM   #10
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 818
It will, I did, it does!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:55 PM   #11
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoboy View Post
yes, I just use a 500 with HDMI only, but don't stream things like HBO which is one of the only things it pukes on. I have the component setup as well, for when I travel and want HBO streaming (But most things are on hbogo) but if the mini WILL do both, component AND HDMI at the same time, then that is great, I'll probably just setup one premier or mini and try and have that do the one slingbox
Nice, sounds like it's following the copy once for HDCP on the HDMI side.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:16 PM   #12
MisterTWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
I have a Tivo Mini and and Slingbox 350, I ran into an issue with the following configuration:

Tivo Mini:
HDMI - to av receiver
Component - to Slingbox 350

Viewing content over the Slingbox works but displays a message floating on top of the content that says "HDMI connection not permitted, press select for more information". All Tivo menu's, recorded, and live TV work but I see that message floating over all video content. I've tried to make it go away but it pops back up right away.

As a workaround I'm using the component outputs only and everything works as expected. Hopefully they will disable the error message in a software upgrade as I'd rather use HDMI to get surround sound from the Mini.
MisterTWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 03:46 PM   #13
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 607
same

I'm having the same issue with a XL4 and the 500 slingbox. Not really sure if it is an issue with the HDMI in on the TV from the SB or something else, but yes I just use the component connection for slinging and it works fine. HDMI straight from the TIVO to the TV and that works fine too.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 03:47 PM   #14
k2ue
Retired RF Engineer
 
k2ue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Victor, NY
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterTWo View Post
I have a Tivo Mini and and Slingbox 350, I ran into an issue with the following configuration:

Tivo Mini:
HDMI - to av receiver
Component - to Slingbox 350

Viewing content over the Slingbox works but displays a message floating on top of the content that says "HDMI connection not permitted, press select for more information". All Tivo menu's, recorded, and live TV work but I see that message floating over all video content. I've tried to make it go away but it pops back up right away.

As a workaround I'm using the component outputs only and everything works as expected. Hopefully they will disable the error message in a software upgrade as I'd rather use HDMI to get surround sound from the Mini.
The problem is usually that the HDMI destination is not handshaking when it is in "off" or "standby". It is is a receiver, they can be tricked into staying active by turning the HDMI Control mode to ON, which keeps it listening, and therefore HDMI stays active.
__________________
Roamio Pro/w Slide Remote, Cisco TA, iScan Duo, Epson 5020UB, Draper 80" Triggered Screen, TiVo Mini,
Oppo BDP103, Denon AVR1713, DT ProCenter 1000+ProCinema 800's, TSS-SUB4000, 4x Harmony 700
k2ue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:44 PM   #15
MisterTWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by k2ue View Post
The problem is usually that the HDMI destination is not handshaking when it is in "off" or "standby". It is is a receiver, they can be tricked into staying active by turning the HDMI Control mode to ON, which keeps it listening, and therefore HDMI stays active.
Thank you! I turned on RIHD mode on my Onkyo which is their version of HDMI control and everything is working as expected even with the receiver turned off!
MisterTWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:46 AM   #16
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 607
What were the slingbox 500 settings people used for the mini?
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |