TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2012, 10:05 AM   #31
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,518
Old Tivos had to do an analog-to-digital conversion to store it on disk, so you could specify compression. Tivos now get a digital compressed mpeg2 stream (usually) and the only way to do what you suggest is to transcode to h.264 which takes a lot of horsepower to do without custom SOCs.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:38 PM   #32
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
If they were going to do this they would have done it years ago, it's just not important to them (or is too difficult to incorporate into their file-handling code).

I think a lot of the software devs here fail to understand why they can't do this because the fix appears straightforward from the outside looking in, but they have their reasons.

I've often wondered if their reasons are patent related....
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:51 PM   #33
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Old Tivos had to do an analog-to-digital conversion to store it on disk, so you could specify compression. Tivos now get a digital compressed mpeg2 stream (usually) and the only way to do what you suggest is to transcode to h.264 which takes a lot of horsepower to do without custom SOCs.
Actually, all but the Elite have an analog to digital converter.. You wouldn't really need to transcode it, *with slightly different hardware* you could essentially reroute the analog outputs back through the A/D converter.. That's what my XS32 does when you do rate-conversion dubbing (which is realtime of course).

Yes it would be hokey, but would be useful for space reasons.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:04 PM   #34
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Sorry to resurrect this thread, but I ran into something similar and thought best to add to this thread than create a new one.

I'm confused about how this works as for the first time ever I ran into a similar problem in which two of my season pass shows had a minute clipped at the start of the program.

The wrinkle with my setup is that I have a 4-tuner Elite but have one tuner unavailable so that TiVo Minis can watch Live TV.

Here's the full gist of what happened;

1. An episode of "The Office" was recording from 8:29 to 9:01 This show has a 1 minute pad at the beginning and end of the program.

2. I had two season passes scheduled to record at 9:00 PM... "Hannibal" and "Elementary". Neither of these shows has padding.

3. What TiVo did was clip a minute from BOTH Elementary and Hannibal.... but at most only one show should have been clipped.... I have three tuners available.

Can anyone explain what happened? Should I shut clipping off? This was really annoying.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:48 PM   #35
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,612
No idea what the issue was but from what you said I wouldn't have expected it to be clipped since you have three tuners available for recording and only three shows to record. Personally I prefer not to miss any part of a show so I've always had clipping turned off.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:57 PM   #36
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,750
This doesn't answer your question at all, but I could swear that one or BOTH of Hannibal or Elementary "officially" starts at 9:01 (in your time zone, 10:01 in mine).

Are you sure there wasn't something else clipping it?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:03 PM   #37
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
This doesn't answer your question at all, but I could swear that one or BOTH of Hannibal or Elementary "officially" starts at 9:01 (in your time zone, 10:01 in mine).

Are you sure there wasn't something else clipping it?
I'm sure. The only recording happening before those programs began was "The Office".... and, there was only one red record LED lit on the front of the TiVo prior to those programs beginning.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:31 PM   #38
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,349
TiVo is so dumb. It should be able to use the same tuner to record to two shows at once off the same channel for that one minute in the middle. I doubt it would be rocket science to do.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:15 PM   #39
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
TiVo is so dumb. It should be able to use the same tuner to record to two shows at once off the same channel for that one minute in the middle. I doubt it would be rocket science to do.
You're right, this is probably my #1 wish nowadays (since we now have a "ton" of tuners).. But IIRC, NOT all other DVRs do this either. Some do, but some don't.

Heck, at least when it *first* came out (I do not know if this has been fixed), Primetime Anytime on DISH did *not* properly save off 'padding'. (Recording all of primetime, then even "manually" saving off shows with padding on each end pretty much solves the tuner dilemma.)

So basically, Tivo's not worse than most of them.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:29 PM   #40
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
You're right, this is probably my #1 wish nowadays (since we now have a "ton" of tuners).. But IIRC, NOT all other DVRs do this either. Some do, but some don't.

Heck, at least when it *first* came out (I do not know if this has been fixed), Primetime Anytime on DISH did *not* properly save off 'padding'. (Recording all of primetime, then even "manually" saving off shows with padding on each end pretty much solves the tuner dilemma.)

So basically, Tivo's not worse than most of them.
Agreed. It just seems that TiVo should be ahead of the pack and held to a higher standard since they are selling a premium, "aftermarket" product that's not just another crappy MSO box.

DISH's Hopper is a neat device, but it's basically a 2-tuner box, as PTAT uses one, so you're left with 2 tuners for everything else, I'd much rather have TiVo's 4 tuners.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |