TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-27-2013, 06:07 PM   #1
donnoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 734
I'm Pleased so Far

My new Tivo mini showed up today and setup was a breeze. I was somewhat surprised at how long it took to boot up and also to install a service update since it doesn't have a hard drive.

It found my Tivo 4 over MoCA with no problems and it seems to be pretty zippy. I look forward to getting rid of Charters $2.00 cable card and $5.99 outlet fee they started charging me for my Tivo 2 tuner Premiere.

I elected to not share a tuner so I can't comment on that aspect of the Mini since I never watch live TV in my bedroom.
donnoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 12:47 AM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnoh View Post
My new Tivo mini showed up today and setup was a breeze. I was somewhat surprised at how long it took to boot up and also to install a service update since it doesn't have a hard drive.

It found my Tivo 4 over MoCA with no problems and it seems to be pretty zippy. I look forward to getting rid of Charters $2.00 cable card and $5.99 outlet fee they started charging me for my Tivo 2 tuner Premiere.

I elected to not share a tuner so I can't comment on that aspect of the Mini since I never watch live TV in my bedroom.
That good so the 90 minute time out will not be a problem for you.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:10 AM   #3
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
That good so the 90 minute time out will not be a problem for you.
With the exception of maybe a sports program.. what else would you watch for 90 min straight without pushing any buttons
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:35 AM   #4
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
With the exception of maybe a sports program.. what else would you watch for 90 min straight without pushing any buttons
Live TV put on as background noise, or Live TV that someone is simply watching. I know there have been complaints about the time out screen while watching Live TV already posted. You have to keep in mind that we're enthusiasts, and in the minority. Most people still watch Live TV.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:50 AM   #5
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Live TV put on as background noise, or Live TV that someone is simply watching. I know there have been complaints about the time out screen while watching Live TV already posted. You have to keep in mind that we're enthusiasts, and in the minority. Most people still watch Live TV.
90% of the TV I watch is Live TV but a button is pressed always within 90minutes..
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:56 AM   #6
Loach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
90% of the TV I watch is Live TV but a button is pressed always within 90minutes..
What I'm not sure of is whether any IR remote button press will reset the timeout. For example, I'm constantly fiddling with the volume on my universal remote, which is a command for my audio receiver, not the Mini. But I would think the Mini should recognize that an IR command has been sent and reset the timout. I guess I haven't determined if "non-Tivo" commands reset the timeout.
__________________
Roamio Pro (MoCA)
Premiere 4 (MoCA) w/2TB WD20EURS upgrade
2 Minis (MoCA/Ethernet)
Loach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:21 AM   #7
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
On a normal TiVo, the IR light blinks when you press TV buttons like volume or mute. I would guess the Mini acts the same way. Can anyone confirm?
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:35 AM   #8
Loach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
On a normal TiVo, the IR light blinks when you press TV buttons like volume or mute. I would guess the Mini acts the same way. Can anyone confirm?
It blinks if you use the volume buttons on the Tivo peanut remote. It does not blink when I use the volume buttons on my universal remote. (Just tried both).

I won't actually use the peanut remote in this room because my receiver is behind a solid cabinet door (I'm using an MX-600 IR/RF remote). So I suspect I would have to do something else, like toggle the guide button, to reset the timer. Or just clear the "Are you there?" message when it comes up.
__________________
Roamio Pro (MoCA)
Premiere 4 (MoCA) w/2TB WD20EURS upgrade
2 Minis (MoCA/Ethernet)
Loach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:31 PM   #9
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Live TV put on as background noise, or Live TV that someone is simply watching. I know there have been complaints about the time out screen while watching Live TV already posted. You have to keep in mind that we're enthusiasts, and in the minority. Most people still watch Live TV.
The biggest problem would in the bedroom if you like to go to sleep with the TV on, the 90 minute time out would be a bummer. I think TiVo does this so your home network bandwidth is not reduced when TiVo thinks your not watching. Live TV on the Mini does eat up some of your home network bandwidth, especially if your not using Moca.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:25 PM   #10
donnoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 734
I almost always watch my bedroom TV to fall asleep with. In the rare instances that I'm not, I'm using the 30 second skip so the 90 minute time out has never been an issue.

Edit: Another thing that I didn't note was that the 30 second skip works just fine with the Mini. I had to do the SPS30S command about three or four times before it worked, but it finally did. I really hate the 30 second scan and was glad they left in the skip.
donnoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:01 PM   #11
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnoh View Post
I almost always watch my bedroom TV to fall asleep with. In the rare instances that I'm not, I'm using the 30 second skip so the 90 minute time out has never been an issue.
So after you go to sleep the TV sound going off does not bother you or wake you up ? and your running the TV all night not being used.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 06:11 PM   #12
donnoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
So after you go to sleep the TV sound going off does not bother you or wake you up ? and your running the TV all night not being used.
I almost always hit the TV sleep timer when I go to bed, usually for an hour. When I don't is when I get woken up, usually about the 2 am mark and that makes for a miserable nights sleep. Having the 90 minute timer is actually somewhat of a blessing for me.
donnoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:58 PM   #13
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnoh View Post
I almost always hit the TV sleep timer when I go to bed, usually for an hour. When I don't is when I get woken up, usually about the 2 am mark and that makes for a miserable nights sleep. Having the 90 minute timer is actually somewhat of a blessing for me.
For you if your are setting the TV sleep timer to 1 hour, the Mini sleep would be no problem, what about the person that sets their TV on for say 2 hours Problem!! A person cooking in the kitchen with the TV on for background, if more than 90 min went by they would have to go back to the TiVo remote.
Just saying....
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:15 PM   #14
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,010
The only way TiVo could appease everyone is to have an option change the length of the timer. Since I doubt they would ever have an option to turn it off.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 02:09 AM   #15
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The only way TiVo could appease everyone is to have an option change the length of the timer. Since I doubt they would ever have an option to turn it off.
Why not have the option to turn it off, the extra traffic is on the home network not the internet itself, and sure not a drain on any TiVo servers. If this system was IPTV from the main internet for Live TV then a sleep timer would be necessary or people would using a ton of bandwidth with IPTV running 24/7.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:09 AM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Why not have the option to turn it off, the extra traffic is on the home network not the internet itself, and sure not a drain on any TiVo servers. If this system was IPTV from the main internet for Live TV then a sleep timer would be necessary or people would using a ton of bandwidth with IPTV running 24/7.
Because then people would start complaining that they aren't using one of their Minis but can't get a tuner for their second Mini. I think either way people would complain.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 06:59 PM   #17
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Because then people would start complaining that they aren't using one of their Minis but can't get a tuner for their second Mini. I think either way people would complain.
If you have a 2nd Mini and share one tuner, are you going wait 90 min to get the other Mini on live TV ? With two Minis you have to have the discipline to turn one off live TV when leaving the room, but with two Minis and many people in the house you may still have a problem when two people want to watch live TV using the Mini at the same time and you only allocated one tuner.
All I am saying is TiVo should give me the option of controlling the time out that best for my house and the way we use the Mini(s).
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |