TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2013, 09:34 AM   #1
TiVo Fool
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 168
What's the hold up with XFINITY OD?

Seems like the XOD roll-out is on pause. I don't think the list of cities on TiVo.com has been updated for 2 or 3 months. I'm selfishly interested in Atlanta and curious as to what the hold up is...
TiVo Fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:34 PM   #2
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
Nobody knows or at least whoever knows isn't talking. It's been almost a year since the rollout began in San Francisco so I understand and share your impatience.
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:49 PM   #3
jlobello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
It showed up in Philly suburbs last Nov without any notice. I think my family has used it all of twice. Both times where a recording got cut off or we forgot to schedule it. I instinctively tried to FF through the ads and remember that caused it to go back to the start of the show. It's nice but its not TiVo.
jlobello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:58 PM   #4
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,235
Sounds like the hold up is on the Comcast side of things... does this require new equipment at the nodes etc?
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:26 AM   #5
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by P42 View Post
Sounds like the hold up is on the Comcast side of things... does this require new equipment at the nodes etc?
Nah, it probably just requires comcast to care :-(.
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:01 AM   #6
WVZR1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The WV Eastern Panhandle
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhorsley View Post
Nah, it probably just requires comcast to care :-(.
That actually "could be" why it's not out there! It's had it's "hicups" and if they're actually attempting to get a "grip" on it then it's the right thing!

The last 4 - 6 day outage is/was a good example.
WVZR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:51 PM   #7
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,997
Now that I'm on Comcast Hell I use it. It's ok but I wouldn't miss it if it was gone.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:44 PM   #8
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by P42 View Post
Sounds like the hold up is on the Comcast side of things... does this require new equipment at the nodes etc?
I don't know if it requires new hardware, but it does require at least software updates in the nodes to allow the VOD control commands to come over the Internet rather than back upstream on the cable, as they do with the set-top box.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:04 AM   #9
gothaggis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 78
yeah it's annoying. They list it being available in Maryland, however it is not available in Baltimore. It's frustrating.
gothaggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:16 PM   #10
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,515
Were we promised a larger roll out than has already taken place?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:40 PM   #11
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Were we promised a larger roll out than has already taken place?
I'm pretty sure we weren't promised anything.

And we're certainly getting it.
astrohip is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:08 AM   #12
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
I'm pretty sure we weren't promised anything.

And we're certainly getting it.
The TiVo CEO has been quoted as saying the plan was to rollout to Comcast's 15 largest markets. That remark was essentially an offhand comment on an investor call and not a promise. But I do think it will come eventually to places like Chicago, Atlanta and Houston, but the rollout is proceeding on what i call "TiVo twin time". You see TiVo management is actually on a spaceship traveling near the speed of light. To them little time has passed but to those of us on Earth.....
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:29 AM   #13
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,515
Not really relevant.

What has Comcast promised? It is dependent upon them before fingers can be pointed at TiVo.
__________________
TiVo Owner

Last edited by jrtroo : 04-02-2013 at 06:44 AM.
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:14 AM   #14
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by drebbe View Post
But I do think it will come eventually to places like Chicago, Atlanta and Houston, but the rollout is proceeding on what i call "TiVo twin time". You see TiVo management is actually on a spaceship traveling near the speed of light. To them little time has passed but to those of us on Earth.....
Yea, I am in the Atlanta area and was hoping for this months ago for my Premieres, but at this point, I have totally given up on it and not expecting it to come to our market anytime soon. Not to mention how I have heard there are still so many bugs in it anyway. If you are in a large Comcast market and it hasn't come yet (i.e Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, LA, etc.), I would just move on at this point and not expect to have it. If/when it does arrive for you, it will be a pleasant surprise.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:25 PM   #15
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
I'm in south east Michigan and just happen to notice it in my menu and it works great. I don't know when it became available.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:17 AM   #16
TiVo Fool
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 168
Could the delay be related to Comcast's roll-out of their X1 platform in Atlanta? Maybe they can't walk and chew gum at the same time.
TiVo Fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:13 AM   #17
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,624
They certainly can't get the X1 to work reliably, just had a complete outage of all of them this week and it's buggy as hell anyway.

I'm not counting on my Tivo getting VOD anytime soon, just like we all thought when the combo of Tivo and Comcast was involved.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:36 AM   #18
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,515
The existing roll out is actually much larger than I had expected when that PR came out a few years ago.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:11 PM   #19
TiVo Fool
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
The existing roll out is actually much larger than I had expected when that PR came out a few years ago.
It may be larger in terms of the number of cities, but as drebbe pointed out there are some huge Comcast markets that have been left hanging.
TiVo Fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:40 PM   #20
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,086
at least Comcast has ondemand via Tivo Cox still hasn't launched it anywhere and they announced before Comcast.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:56 PM   #21
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,515
I have Comcast and live near Chicago, and would like to have this as an option. I have no expectations to get it (nor do I think I would use it often- I already record what I want to watch).
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:42 PM   #22
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
I have Comcast and live near Chicago, and would like to have this as an option. I have no expectations to get it (nor do I think I would use it often- I already record what I want to watch).

With the exception of local programming, I have found that EVERYTHING offered by Comcast VOD can pretty much be obtained elsewhere and from other sources anyway.At least a good 95% of it I personally don't "obtain" it these ways as I don't have time to watch it anyway (another reason I ultimately don't care if my TiVo gets Comcast VOD), but I know it can be done. Maybe this is why they really haven't cared too much about it.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:58 PM   #23
rifleman69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 816
I don't use it on my TiVo's, actually take that back...I did use it once to watch Moneyball again. Otherwise, I'm on Amazon or Netflix...or stuff that I've recorded already!
rifleman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 12:13 PM   #24
TiVo Fool
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 168
Bump

Six more months and no more markets. Has this roll out been shut down?
TiVo Fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 01:28 PM   #25
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,012
Apparently they never promised it to all markets. I do believe it has hit either the end of near the end of all markets that will receive it. Supposedly their deal with Tivo only covered this much.
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:03 PM   #26
SlappyMcgee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
That sux. I was reading up on the Roamio after making my purchase and saw people talk about having VOD. I waited 2 days after activating my Roamio then started looking online only to find out this is only available in a few markets. Oh well...maybe Google will get a Chromecast to work with VOD.
SlappyMcgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:53 PM   #27
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
They're waiting to see what the customer uptake is like before rolling it out to more markets. Yet another side effect of Comcast having hundreds of different feudal domains, each with different equipment, slightly different channel line-ups, etc.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:56 PM   #28
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVo Fool View Post
Six more months and no more markets. Has this roll out been shut down?
Yes. I read somewhere (sorry, no link) that Comcast has decided to stop rolling out TiVo/VOD. Not sure what the reason was, but if you don't have it by now, you won't be getting it.

And that includes me.
astrohip is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 06:30 AM   #29
SlappyMcgee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
Yes. I read somewhere (sorry, no link) that Comcast has decided to stop rolling out TiVo/VOD. Not sure what the reason was, but if you don't have it by now, you won't be getting it.

And that includes me.
That officially sux. I was kind of looking forward to it.
SlappyMcgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:17 AM   #30
stujac
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlobello View Post
It showed up in Philly suburbs last Nov without any notice. I think my family has used it all of twice. Both times where a recording got cut off or we forgot to schedule it. I instinctively tried to FF through the ads and remember that caused it to go back to the start of the show. It's nice but its not TiVo.
Same here, in the Philly burbs N/W and I have yet to use it. With Netflix, etc. there just is no reason for us to use it, now anyway.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Basic w/2TB, TiVoHD + 1TB, Panny 46" Plasma, Marantz SR5003, PS3, Panny A2 HD DVD player, Panny DMR E-95, JVC Dvd-Audio, all controlled by a Harmony One
stujac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |