TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2013, 12:27 PM   #1
oldradio99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Angry Transfers to Tivo Desktop Failing

I have a Tivo XL4 with the 4 tuners that as recently replaced under extended warranty, but dont think that is the issue.

I am using Tivo Desktop 2.6.2 as that has always been stable.

Now all my transfers between my Tivo and the Tivo server fail. - Function Failed during execution.

I have cleared cache and made sure the firwall is off. Am using Microsoft Security Essentials on the Tivo server but that hasnt changed either.

Thought it may have been file size but even 30 minute shows wont transfer.

Units are wired and not wireless.

Thoughts?

Thanks
oldradio99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,651
Lots of threads on this issue.

Go to the tivo site and get the new patched version that came out Saturday.

Or patch it yourself, I'm too lazy to find the thread with this, but you can search and find it.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:17 PM   #3
oldradio99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Lots of threads on this issue.

Go to the tivo site and get the new patched version that came out Saturday.

Or patch it yourself, I'm too lazy to find the thread with this, but you can search and find it.
I tried the curl.config fix and that didnt work.

And the patch is only for ToGo 2.8 and I am running 2.6
oldradio99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 06:08 PM   #4
solutionsetc
Registered User
 
solutionsetc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Sierra Nevada
Posts: 658
The problem is a bug in the TiVo itself... a simple string in a file. Much like poorly written software around y2k.

The question is when TiVo plans to role out an update to fix it instead of wasting time patching the client app.

Last edited by solutionsetc : 03-11-2013 at 06:14 PM.
solutionsetc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 06:21 PM   #5
oldradio99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by solutionsetc View Post
The problem is a bug in the TiVo itself... a simple string in a file. Much like poorly written software around y2k.

The question is when TiVo plans to role out an update to fix it instead of wasting time patching the client app.
I tried the change date to 1/1/2013 and it seems to have worked for now.
oldradio99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 06:37 PM   #6
solutionsetc
Registered User
 
solutionsetc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Sierra Nevada
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldradio99 View Post
I tried the change date to 1/1/2013 and it seems to have worked for now.
Yes, that works. But the real problem is that one of the idiots at tivo hard coded a date for cookie expiration on the tivo itself, and never updated it.

This affected all of their users (not just the ones using their crappy desktop software).

It is an incredibly simple fix they should have rolled out to users well before the expiration date. Of course that assumes a certain level of competence they are clearly lacking.
solutionsetc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:30 PM   #7
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by solutionsetc View Post
It is an incredibly simple fix they should have rolled out to users well before the expiration date.
Whoever wrote that bit of code probably left TiVo long ago, was maybe never even aware of the problem (given the stupid way in which that code is written), and if aware, likely failed to pass that awareness on to anyone else. Perhaps he thought, "Yeah, I'll fix that later, I've got plenty of time," and then promptly forgot about it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:34 PM   #8
oldradio99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Is there any reason to not update to 2.8?
oldradio99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:51 PM   #9
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldradio99 View Post
Is there any reason to not update to 2.8?
No reason not to.

The only thing different that may affect you is the addition of using Bonjour for the Tivo DVR discovery protocol.
Bonjour will be setup as the default protocol with the new installation, but you will still have the option of using Tivo Beacon and I recommend that you do so.
That selection will be found in the Tivo Server Properties under the Network tab.

ETA: Also, under File -> Preferences, you will have a file transfer speed option that affects transferring files from Series 4 Tivos.
I think the faster transfers are selected by default.
This may or may not affect how you use the files on the computer.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!

Last edited by steve614 : 03-11-2013 at 08:57 PM.
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:58 PM   #10
MHunter1
TiVo Bug Hunter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 199
Desktop v2.8 conflicts with WMP on XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldradio99 View Post
Is there any reason to not update to 2.8?
I'm limited to using TiVo Desktop version 2.7 because installing v2.8 causes playback conflicts with Windows Media Player on my XP machine. Too much hassle installing third-party codecs just to make WMP and TD work together, so I'm sticking with TD v2.7 to push content to the DVR and TiVoPlayList v0.71 to pull shows from the DVR.
MHunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 05:32 PM   #11
vpittman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
I know that this is an old topic, but I just ran into this myself with 2.6.2

To fix...
Edit the file D:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\TiVo Desktop\TransferCookies

The expire date is the 5th field 1360972800, in unix time (seconds from 1/1/1970) Sat, 16 Feb 2013 00:00:00 GMT

I replace that with 1676505600 (Thu, 16 Feb 2023 00:00:00 GMT) rebooted and everything works fine
vpittman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |