TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-10-2013, 03:03 AM   #121
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmonroe View Post
I was wrong, the second did activate but it does not work. Quoting the comment by DailyPlanet here:
Quote:
I was able to activate it at the correct price for lifetime, but when I try to set it up it gives a “TiVo DVR Not Found” error. As well as an error code. When I looked it up on TiVo.com it said this. “NOTE: At this time, a TiVo Mini will not work with a retail TiVo Premiere series DVR.”
This might explain why your Premiere 4 is recognized as a "Q4" by your working Mini.

Is Hulu Plus working? MSOs don't have Hulu Plus do they?
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by CoxInPHX : 03-10-2013 at 03:09 AM.
CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 03:33 AM   #122
cmonroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
This might explain why your Premiere 4 is recognized as a "Q4" by your working Mini.

Is Hulu Plus working? MSOs don't have Hulu Plus do they?
Yes, Hulu Plus works great.
cmonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 03:33 AM   #123
cmonroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I doubt you will be able to stream directly to the Mini since streambaby is not real streaming, however as I mentioned earlier you should be able to use streambaby to push videos to other TiVos and then you can use MRS from the Mini to play the videos while they push - at least in theory. Installation is pretty simple:
1. Download streambaby-20111203-2132.zip
2. Unzip it to a new folder somewhere.
3. Edit streambaby.ini file to look something like below (change dir.1 setting to be a valid path to your videos, and for pushes to work you have to provide your tivo.com username and password):
(If ffmpeg is already in your path then you are set. Otherwise you can also add ffmpeg.path=/full/path/to/ffmpeg)
Code:
dir.1=/path/to/where/your/videos/are/here
title=streambaby
autogenerate.continue=false
use.title=false
sort.filename=true
mp4module.interleave=false

#pushes
tivo.username=xxxx
tivo.password=xxxx
4. Start streambaby by executing the "streambaby" script.
5. On Mini from TiVo Central choose "Showcases & Apps" and then find streambaby and click on it.
6. Find a video file and press select. I doubt the "Play" option will work on a Mini but you can try it. For push scroll down to "Push video" and use the left/right arrows to select a TiVo you want to push to, then press select.
Thanks for the quick tutorial, I'll give this a shot tomorrow.
cmonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 04:13 AM   #124
cmonroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 73
For those curious about timing, see this text file of notes about a video I sent to ZatsNotFunny (should be up in a day or two). It outlines how fast channel changes are, browsing, starting recordings, etc. It will make more sense once you see the video but for now the notes should give you some info.

Quote:
Note that all content below was HD. All live content was:
1.) On an encrypted channel requiring a cable card (TBS and Food Network)
2.) On SDV according to my providor

As such each live channel change consisted of:
* TiVo Mini signals Premiere to change channel via Moca network
* Premiere signals SDV adapter to request desired channel via USB
* SDV adapter requests channel and frequency from CMTS via cable
* CMTS responds via cable with frequency of channel and begins streaming if it's not already
* TiVo Premiere is instructed which frequence to tune to by SDV adapter via USB
* TiVo Premiere begins sending stream to TiVo Mini via Moca

Yes 6-8 seconds feels like an eternity when changing channels
but when you take into account what's happening in the back end
it's actually pretty impressive. I think the tuning adapters
are a cheap hack and functionality like that built into a TiVo
would save a couple of seconds from that time but the benefit
of an external adapter is the TiVo can work with multiple types
of head end gear (e.g. Motorola vs. Cisco).

0.00: Started recording; on live TV, "Food Network"
0.04: Chose "TiVo" button (note how fast TiVo Central loads)
0.05: Selected "My Shows"
0.10: Scrolled down one page and selected "Storage Wars Texas" (note how fast the page loads)
0.13: Scrolled down a couple of episodes and selected a random one
0.15: Selected play
0.20: Video starts
0.23: Start fast forward at 3x
0.29: Stop fast forward
0.33: Jump 30 seconds ahead
0.37: Jump 30 seconds ahead
0.47: Pressed "Live TV" button
0.50: Live TV starts playing
0.54: Pressed "Guide" button (note how fast guide loads)
0.57: Start scrolling through the guide; no lag I was going slow looking for a decent show
1.09: Chose "The Big Bang Theory"
1.15: Video starts playing
1.21: Chose "Pause" button; device responds immediately
1.28: Chose "Play" button; device responds immediately
1.36: Chose "Info" button (note how fast info loads)
1.40: Chose "Enter/Last" button to return to "Food Network"
1.43: "The Big Bang Theory" stops playing and is replaced with a black screen and spinning circle
1.48: Video begins to play on "Food Network"
1.54: Chose "TiVo" button (note how fast TiVo Central loads)
1.59: End of video

cmonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 04:15 AM   #125
cmonroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Can the LEDs be turned off or do they only shut off when the unit is powered off?
There is only one LED (in the center of the box) and it can be shut off via software just like all other TiVo units. Note that the LED in the Mini is not intrusive at all, you will barely notice it. You can see it in the bottom left corner of the video I mention in the post above that will be posted in a day or two.
cmonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 06:14 AM   #126
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Not Magnolia

Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
Do we know it's ALL Best Buys?

Neither one of my two stores, are Magnolia. One store was NEVER able to order the Mini.
The closest store to me, did make the Mini order, but later said that it became unavailable. (Found that out, when we called back, to make a relatives order)
I called the 800 number and my original order is still good, for the 15th so....

It may still be canceled or delayed.

Last edited by overFEDEXed : 03-10-2013 at 06:34 AM.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 06:59 AM   #127
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 235
Next weekend, perfect timimg

Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
That depends. Gotta set of bolt cutters and a mini-Maglite?
Next weekend would be a great time. Dublin, Georgia, St. Patrick's day festival.
Just kidding. It's nothing like Savannah.

I've had really good luck with BB. It was great, when one of my neighbors, was our BB store manager.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:12 AM   #128
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by grey ghost View Post
$250 for a $99 piece of hardware and he justifies the cost because he drove 45 minutes to get it?? The boy needs a tuneup. That's $1.67 per mile!
You never know. When the HD DirecTiVo came out in 2004, I picked up eight of them at $1k each and sold six of them for around $1500 each on ebay. The profit covered my two boxes and the cost of upgrading the hard drives. You never know what people will pay when they want something and there is short supply.

I also did the same thing in 2001/2002 with the DirecTiVo. I think they were only a couple hundred but I bought ten of them and sold seven, each for over $300 each on ebay. Which covered the cost of my three. I'm still amazed sometimes at the prices that people will pay to get items early.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:12 AM   #129
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvalpreda View Post
Well....this didn't take long.

eBay Gouger!
I expect that Tivo will contact eBay and have it taken down.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:17 AM   #130
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
I expect that Tivo will contact eBay and have it taken down.
With what justification? If he bought it legitimately at Best Buy, it's probably his to resell.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:30 AM   #131
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
With what justification? If he bought it legitimately at Best Buy, it's probably his to resell.
I believe that he's violating eBay TOS by selling an item that is not available for actual retail sale yet. That's between him and eBay/Tivo... I don't care enough to look it up. I'm sure there is something that they can get him for. I've had auctions pulled for a lot less.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:40 AM   #132
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,022
He bought it at a retail store so it must be available for retail sale. Otherwise how could he have purchased one? If it was sold by mistake, that is not his fault. Personally I've never had an auction pulled on eBay. That sounds like it would be a pain if they pull an auction. Do you lose the fees you've payed?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:03 AM   #133
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
He bought it at a retail store so it must be available for retail sale. Otherwise how could he have purchased one? If it was sold by mistake, that is not his fault. Personally I've never had an auction pulled on eBay. That sounds like it would be a pain if they pull an auction. Do you lose the fees you've payed?
Nope, they give you your money back and tell you not to re-list it. I've not re-listed after they pulled it. So, I don't know what happens after that.

I don't think it will matter that BB sold it to him or not. He won't be able to list it until launch date.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:32 AM   #134
Bwatford141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
I believe that he's violating eBay TOS by selling an item that is not available for actual retail sale yet. That's between him and eBay/Tivo... I don't care enough to look it up. I'm sure there is something that they can get him for. I've had auctions pulled for a lot less.
I doubt that they're going to pull the auction. I did nothing wrong and only walked into a store and bought one. I also doubt that someone would be willing to pay $250 for a Mini, but who knows...
Bwatford141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:33 AM   #135
Bwatford141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 86
Oh, and thanks for the free advertising everyone
Bwatford141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:48 AM   #136
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwatford141 View Post
Oh, and thanks for the free advertising everyone
appreciated but if this comes out this week you can kiss that profit goodbye
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:55 AM   #137
jjd_87
Registered User
 
jjd_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 475
I can't imagine anyone is gonna pay an 150% markup to get a device they can't even use till its released.
jjd_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:57 AM   #138
Bwatford141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjd_87 View Post
I can't imagine anyone is gonna pay an 150% markup to get a device they can't even use till its released.
Can't use it? My other one is activated with lifetime and working perfectly.
Bwatford141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:58 AM   #139
Bwatford141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 86
Although hijacking one tuner has given me a bit of tuner anxiety.
Bwatford141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:59 AM   #140
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
He bought it at a retail store so it must be available for retail sale. Otherwise how could he have purchased one? If it was sold by mistake, that is not his fault. Personally I've never had an auction pulled on eBay. That sounds like it would be a pain if they pull an auction. Do you lose the fees you've payed?
I have buy trying to sell a Boes product in the international market, what a pain.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:01 AM   #141
jjd_87
Registered User
 
jjd_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwatford141 View Post
Can't use it? My other one is activated with lifetime and working perfectly.
Maybe I'm wrong but I seemed to remember reading somewhere here that TiVo had caught on and stopped allowing them to be activated.
jjd_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:01 AM   #142
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,480
I can't fathom why people are rushing to but an unreleased product that complete relies on TiVo to activate service. It really makes no sense to me and I'm not what you'd call a patient man.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:05 AM   #143
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjd_87 View Post
Maybe I'm wrong but I seemed to remember reading somewhere here that TiVo had caught on and stopped allowing them to be activated.
You did.
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:16 AM   #144
Bwatford141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
You did.
Not true. I have followed these threads and have not read anything like that. Can you provide a link?
Bwatford141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:20 AM   #145
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwatford141 View Post
I doubt that they're going to pull the auction. I did nothing wrong and only walked into a store and bought one. I also doubt that someone would be willing to pay $250 for a Mini, but who knows...
Well, I'm not going to tell them but stranger things have happened. I've had auctions pulled for lots of different reasons and all of them seemed pretty stupid to me.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:31 AM   #146
jjd_87
Registered User
 
jjd_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwatford141 View Post
Not true. I have followed these threads and have not read anything like that. Can you provide a link?
Post 116 in this thread.
jjd_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 11:56 AM   #147
DavidAsher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjd_87 View Post
Post 116 in this thread.
But there's a follow-up post on zatznotfunny which says it is working now after sitting overnight.
DavidAsher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:29 PM   #148
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 140
have mine on hold right now at a certain store...friend going to get it for me...picking it up tonight...

Last edited by Am_I_Evil : 03-10-2013 at 12:36 PM.
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:39 PM   #149
teklock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
You did.
Did you ever get your 2nd one working? Seems BB has put the mini on the shelfs in many locations.
teklock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:48 PM   #150
Craig in PA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Got mine today

A BB magnolia store on the east coast had a few which were not on display but which employee got for me when I asked. Employee sold me one with only minor hesitation. "If the computer says its ok, its ok."
Craig in PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |