TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2013, 11:04 AM   #1
nyjack
Registered User
 
nyjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 49
Move Drive From Tivo HD To Tivo Premiere 4?

I just ordered a new TiVo Premiere 4 from TiVo. From what I understand the Premiere 4 comes with a 500 gb drive but can only record 75 hours of HD programming. My current TiVo HD has a 500 gb drive (I installed this drive myself to increase recording time from 20 hours to 180) but has room to record @ 180 hours of HD programming. Anyone know why the difference? I ask this question because I just ordered a new Premiere 4 and planned to move the drive from my TiVo HD to the premiere? Also, will I be able to simply swap the TiVo Premiere 4's drive with the one from my TiVo Hd?
nyjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:50 AM   #2
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyjack View Post
I just ordered a new TiVo Premiere 4 from TiVo. From what I understand the Premiere 4 comes with a 500 gb drive but can only record 75 hours of HD programming. My current TiVo HD has a 500 gb drive (I installed this drive myself to increase recording time from 20 hours to 180) but has room to record @ 180 hours of HD programming. Anyone know why the difference? I ask this question because I just ordered a new Premiere 4 and planned to move the drive from my TiVo HD to the premiere? Also, will I be able to simply swap the TiVo Premiere 4's drive with the one from my TiVo Hd?
Assuming that both TiVos are U.S. models, a 500GB drive in a TiVo HD should hold the same number of HD hours as a 500GB drive in a Premiere, except that the software on the Premiere's drive might take up a bit more of the space. But my TiVo HD with a 1TB drive can hold about 157 hours of HD, so it sounds like your TiVo HD must have a 1TB drive. In any case, you can't just swap the drives, since the software on the Premiere's drive will be completely different from that on the TiVo HD's drive.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:32 PM   #3
nyjack
Registered User
 
nyjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post

Assuming that both TiVos are U.S. models, a 500GB drive in a TiVo HD should hold the same number of HD hours as a 500GB drive in a Premiere, except that the software on the Premiere's drive might take up a bit more of the space. But my TiVo HD with a 1TB drive can hold about 157 hours of HD, so it sounds like your TiVo HD must have a 1TB drive. In any case, you can't just swap the drives, since the software on the Premiere's drive will be completely different from that on the TiVo HD's drive.
Now you've really got me thinking. I was pretty sure I have a 500 gb but you may be right. I'll find out soon.

Thanks,
Jack
nyjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:53 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
Apparently a recent software upgrade has S4s now listing all recordings, no matter how short, at a minimum of 4GB, even if they wind up smaller once copied to PC.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 02:34 PM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Apparently a recent software upgrade has S4s now listing all recordings, no matter how short, at a minimum of 4GB, even if they wind up smaller once copied to PC.
Actually, the minimum reported size is 2.05GB. In any case, I don't really see the relevance. The reported maximum capacity and the reported individual recording size are not related.

To me, the 180 hour reported capacity seems more like you are using 1.2TB of a 1.5TB or 2.0TB drive.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 02:38 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
That's what I get for working from memory.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |