TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2013, 07:57 AM   #1
TivoRocks193
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 93
TiVo Clock Issue - Permanent work-around?

As detailed in this thread, TiVo released a bug around 2/16/2013 that prevents TiVo transferring unless the clock on the computer is reset to an earlier date, such as 2/13/2013. For continued use, the user must every day change the date of the clock to be in the past.

Two questions:

1) Does anyone have a more permanent work-around?

2) Has anyone gotten a definitive answer from TiVo about when a solution will be coming.

No need to comment if you are experiencing this issue, it's widespread and has been reported by many. I'd like to only here from people who have solutions and/or have spoken to TiVo and gotten them to acknowledge the issue.
TivoRocks193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:15 AM   #2
TivoRocks193
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 93
Nevermind, the suggestion in this thread works. You just need to update your curl.conf located in Windows 7 at:

C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Local\TiVo Desktop\curl.conf

With the line:

cookie = "sid=abc"

All working again. This is a pretty major screw up by TiVo though...
TivoRocks193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:19 AM   #3
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,865
LOL. Fire then aim. Fire then aim.

Further evidence the forum's search feature is grossly underutilized.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:01 PM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoRocks193 View Post
As detailed in this thread, TiVo released a bug around 2/16/2013
To be clear, they released this bug around 2005. (!) It just didn't become a problem until Feb. 16, 2013. It was like a lurking time bomb, except that I assume it was placed by accident.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:22 AM   #5
BH9244
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoRocks193 View Post
Nevermind, the suggestion in this thread works. You just need to update your curl.conf located in Windows 7 at:

C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Local\TiVo Desktop\curl.conf

With the line:

cookie = "sid=abc"

All working again. This is a pretty major screw up by TiVo though...

I've located the curl.conf file , should the quotation marks in the added line be included ? Txs
BH9244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:41 AM   #6
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
FYI:

Whoever wrote the Mac version of the TiVo transfer software apparently ignored the cookie on the TiVo, because it still works just fine without any modifications.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:13 PM   #7
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by BH9244 View Post
I've located the curl.conf file , should the quotation marks in the added line be included ? Txs
Yes.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:01 PM   #8
steve771
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 39
Just got off a chat with Tivo as I had a computer meltdown and lost my Desktop Plus key. I was warned they were having 'problems' when I mentioned that Desktop wouldn't transfer files. They gave me the 'set your computer to a date before 2/17' as a workaround. It's a bit of a pain, so I came here, and sure enough, the community has the solution!

I wanted to toss in my 'thanks' for this fix (it works great), and a shame on Tivo for letting this go for almost 2 weeks w/o a fix!
steve771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:56 PM   #9
MHunter1
TiVo Bug Hunter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 189
RunAsDate freeware

Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoRocks193 View Post
Does anyone have a more permanent work-around?
I prefer using TiVoPlayList for transfers and found someone here on TCF mention a freeware program called RunAsDate which will run TiVoPlayList as if it were a date before 2/16 while leaving the system clock unaffected.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...php?t=501378#5
MHunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:41 PM   #10
dcahoe
TiVoPlayList Author
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by MHunter1 View Post
I prefer using TiVoPlayList for transfers ...
I have released a new version of TiVoPlayList v0.71 which fixes this expired cookie issue. Thanks everyone. Enjoy.
dcahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:46 AM   #11
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,964
TiVo posted last night that they WILL be fixing the kernel, including S2s and S3s. They're also patching Desktop as a stopgap measure, probably using morac's method but that's just a guess. See post #34.

http://forums.tivo.com/pe/action/for...ageId=10432560
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:02 AM   #12
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
TiVo posted last night that they WILL be fixing the kernel, including S2s and S3s.
Yay, a software update for my S2 (9.x) and S3 (11.x)! What could go wrong?

Glad to see they are fixing this for all platforms though.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by windracer : 03-06-2013 at 08:13 AM.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:09 AM   #13
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
TiVo posted last night that they WILL be fixing the kernel, including S2s and S3s. They're also patching Desktop as a stopgap measure, probably using morac's method but that's just a guess. See post #34.

http://forums.tivo.com/pe/action/for...ageId=10432560
Waiting for all the people who said that nasty TiVo would never do this to apologize ......... Of course it's of little significance to most of us since there are already patches or fixes for Desktop, kmttg, pyTivo and TivoPlaylist.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:40 AM   #14
philhu
User Since Day ONE!
 
philhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Funcity, MA
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
TiVo posted last night that they WILL be fixing the kernel, including S2s and S3s. They're also patching Desktop as a stopgap measure, probably using morac's method but that's just a guess. See post #34.

http://forums.tivo.com/pe/action/for...ageId=10432560
Maybe they can fix a few other things too:

Series 3 - Allow H.264 channels (Fios just announced they are moving towards them in April). The code is mostly in the tivo, just needs to be connected to the play system. WITHOUT THIS FIX, TIVOHD UNITS WILL START LOSING CABLE CHANNELS AS THEY MOVE TO H.264

Also, change 'Now Playing' to 'My Shows', for a more consistent experience
Also, Add the Tivo addons that allow the ipad tivo app to talk to the season pass manager, now showing, etc, like in a series 4
__________________
-----------------
Phillips (S1-retired)
Sony SVR-2000 (S1-retired)
Tivo (S2-retired, 500gb HD, 2 units)
TivoHD (2tb HD, chip mod, 2 units)
Tivo Premiere (2tb HD)
Tivo Premiere4 (2tb (JMFS) HD)
philhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:07 PM   #15
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,326
TiVo has released a patch for TiVo Desktop 2.8.3. I removed my work around lines from curl.conf, applied the patch and checked to see what was different. The patch added the cookie lines back to curl.conf (file now dated 03/01/13).
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 06:32 PM   #16
mrmega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Morac I wanted to thank you again for the fix

I also wanted to mention that I just saw an email TIVO sent me today informing me about the patch. The first thing I did was search for posts by you to see if you had any comments. I wasn't going to apply their patch without some research. For one thing I was content to just use the curl file edit you provided but I thought I should test the patch in case they force it into the Desktop software as an update. I didn't want TIVO to break your fix :P

I think it's REALLY "funny" and interesting that it took them so long for them to implement and distribute something you fixed immediately
mrmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:22 PM   #17
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmega View Post
I think it's REALLY "funny" and interesting that it took them so long for them to implement and distribute something you fixed immediately
I don't. We're talking about TiVo here. To be fair, they most likely put *their TD fix* through a beta test, which takes time.
It's going to take even more time to fix in the DVR software as that will also have to go through a beta test.

If it hadn't been for notting figuring out the problem and morac for coming up with the fix, TiVo would be lost.

TiVo doesn't want to admit it, but this forum is a valuable resource.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:37 PM   #18
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,224
So does the TiVo "patch" actually use the "sid=abc" wording? Not even a different sid?
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:44 PM   #19
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
So does the TiVo "patch" actually use the "sid=abc" wording? Not even a different sid?
Yep.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:59 PM   #20
mrmega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
So does the TiVo "patch" actually use the "sid=abc" wording? Not even a different sid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by morac View Post
Yep.

Along with the royalties idea or the lifetime free Tivo's and stuff mentioned in the other thread I think they should really credit you and notting. I mean seriously, you guys and the other regulars who discuss technical things here really saved a ton of people a ton of heartache. The least they could do is publicly credit you guys, or at least mention that "the forums regulars" or something!

Do I think they will? I do not. But I believe they SHOULD... but then again I am one of those guys who believes people (and companies) should always try to do the right thing.
mrmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:32 AM   #21
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmega View Post
Do I think they will? I do not. But I believe they SHOULD... but then again I am one of those guys who believes people (and companies) should always try to do the right thing.
I agree, but I cut TiVo some slack. You may not be familiar with the past history when TiVo reps used to post here.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:48 AM   #22
SteveHC1
SteveHC
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 157
Lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by morac View Post
Yep.
Yeah, I and a couple of others told them (literally) to just throw together an installer for "the morac patch" and make it available for downloading (got tired of telling people how to do it manually, I'm sure you did too) while they worked on system updates to push out. I guess they got the message... ;-)

ANYWAY, I had a feeling that they'd manage to turn such a simple thing into a major federal project so I decided to peek into "their" patch's installer with textscan just to satisfy my curiosity. Sure enough, it checks for everything imaginable before finally writing to the curl file by adding EXACTLY what *you* wrote for it LOL. BTW - If I remember correctly (I merely scanned through the code very quickly) it also labels the file as an "official corporate build" and gives TiVo full credit for the patch/installer. It also looked to me like they had contracted out to some other outfit for the development of the original Desktop software (or at least major parts of it). Just my *very* quick observations...
__________________
- SteveHC
down on the Gulf coast with a TiVo HD and
dropped Comcast in favor of OTA
SteveHC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:06 PM   #23
NowPlaying
Registered User
 
NowPlaying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Menlo Park, Kalifornia
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcahoe View Post
I have released a new version of TiVoPlayList v0.71 which fixes this expired cookie issue. Thanks everyone. Enjoy.
Thank you!!! I love your software.
__________________
1367 Hr TiVo HDXL
638 Hr Series 2 TiVo +HMO
80 Hr Humax Series 2 TiVo

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NowPlaying is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |