TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 04:31 PM   #1
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Western Digital Red Drives

Anybody tried one of the WD Red drives on a Tivo? They are made for NAS installs and run at 5400 instead of 7200 which is all good but the transfer rate is 6Gb/sec and I'm not sure if that can be jumpered down to 3Gb/sec.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:37 PM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,016
I haven't tried one in a TiVo (or a WD Red), but I run several different 6Gb/sec drives in my PC with no problems even though it only supports 3. Odds are good that it will adjust down automatically.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 05:50 PM   #3
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Anybody tried one of the WD Red drives on a Tivo? They are made for NAS installs and run at 5400 instead of 7200 which is all good but the transfer rate is 6Gb/sec and I'm not sure if that can be jumpered down to 3Gb/sec.
I tried a WD20EFRX (WD Red drive designed for NAS) as reported here. It seemed to work fine for the few hours I had it in my 2-tuner Premiere. I didn't have to use any jumpers.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:00 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
I haven't tried one in a TiVo (or a WD Red), but I run several different 6Gb/sec drives in my PC with no problems even though it only supports 3. Odds are good that it will adjust down automatically.
I was unclear about that, having read some posts here that warn about possible issues with 6Gb/sec transfer rates.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:04 PM   #5
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
I tried a WD20EFRX (WD Red drive designed for NAS) as reported here. It seemed to work fine for the few hours I had it in my 2-tuner Premiere. I didn't have to use any jumpers.
I take it there was no need to run WDIDLE3 even though the drive has the IntelliPower "feature"?
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:08 PM   #6
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 804
Intellipower is okay. Intellipark has been the issues in the past.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:25 PM   #7
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
I take it there was no need to run WDIDLE3 even though the drive has the IntelliPower "feature"?
I don't remember whether I ran WDidle3 or not, but I haven't had to change the IntelliPark setting for any recent drives. IOW, if I did run it, it must have said IntelliPark was already disabled. In any case, the drive rebooted successfully, both cold and warm.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:56 AM   #8
banjomaniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
I believe that is the same drive Im getting ready to set up, if so I'll report back and let you know how it works.

Banjomaniac
banjomaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:38 AM   #9
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 12,116
The difference on the Red drives is the disabling of retries for errors, where the time delay can make a RAID array mark the drive as bad.

I think that wouldn't have much impact on a DVR, other than masking any glitches go by faster.
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:10 AM   #10
dmk1974
DA BEARS!!!
 
dmk1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Cary, IL
Posts: 524
I'm still looking around at various 2 TB drives for my Premiere 4. The RED I see is on sale at Newegg for $100.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822236343

Is the RED really at least as good as the GREEN (which I have one in a 2-tuner Premiere)? Specs look like the RED is quiet and uses a low power draw as well.

EDIT: I ordered 2 of them on Saturday with the Newegg promo so they were $91.99 each. Should be arriving on Wednesday. I hope they work well!
__________________

TiVo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime (318 hr)
TiVo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime (77 hr)
TiVo Mini w/Lifetime (x4)
TiVo Stream

Last edited by dmk1974 : 03-25-2013 at 06:40 AM.
dmk1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:27 AM   #11
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Anybody tried one of the WD Red drives on a Tivo? They are made for NAS installs and run at 5400 instead of 7200 which is all good but the transfer rate is 6Gb/sec and I'm not sure if that can be jumpered down to 3Gb/sec.
All SATA drives are backward compatible with previous SATA interfaces and will adjust to the speed of said interface. There is nothing to jumper.

The WD red drives should theoretically work, but they tend to be more expensive so I'm not sure why you'd want to use one in a Tivo. Your best bet would be to get an A/V drive specifically targeted for DVR use.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:08 PM   #12
dmk1974
DA BEARS!!!
 
dmk1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Cary, IL
Posts: 524
I received my 2 TB WD Red drive today. Used the jmfs tools 104 and performed the drive copy, expand, and supersize. Took about 3 hours. Popped it back into my Premiere 4 and so far so good. Seems to be just as fast (or slow I guess) as the original drive and is also very silent. 318 HD hours!!! I hope it hold up and works well for a long time!

Now I need to upgrade my buddy's 2-tuner Premiere with the other Red drive. Hopefully it goes just as smooth.
__________________

TiVo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime (318 hr)
TiVo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime (77 hr)
TiVo Mini w/Lifetime (x4)
TiVo Stream
dmk1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |