TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2012, 01:54 AM   #1
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,581
Windows 8 app?

I know TiVo has mentioned that and Android app is in the works, but I wonder if they're also working on a Windows 8 version for the upcoming Surface tablets? If they are then we might be able to use the desktop version of Win8 as well and perhaps gain access to the recoded shows on a real PC.

Anyone seen any mention of a Windows 8/RT app in the works?

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:43 AM   #2
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,554
Not at all unfortunately.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:52 AM   #3
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,094
I think we will have to wait a little while to see some adoption numbers...

Windows phone is still struggling and Windows 8 / W8 Tablets have not hit the market yet. I am highly excited about the ecosystem, but I am sure it is not worth the investment for TiVo yet.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:37 PM   #4
dgraff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
This really needs to be addressed. For example, 2 TiVo Premiers and thinking about a 23 inch touchscreen windows 8 system for my kitchen. It would be great to have the streaming ability from my TiVo boxes.
dgraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:34 PM   #5
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,094
If your surface is the full i5 pro version, you have a few options...

It appears that TiVo is working on a stream to PC companion to their whole home solution. Whether this leverages the stream or not is still a question and whether it will be a full replacement for the legacy TiVo desktop is also an outstanding question.

Kmttg and the old legacy TiVo desktop will allow you to move content to your tablet and watch videos locally on you Surface.

I have also been playing around with this nifty little community developed Proxy Server to stream through VLC. A very cool Windows 8 version will be available very soon - "Metro" VLC Player....



The best option is of course hoping TiVo moves forward with their stream to PC whole Home option...


__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 02-14-2013 at 01:09 AM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:38 AM   #6
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,012
Did anyone buy a Surface?
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:47 AM   #7
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,094
I really want a pro - but I have not purchase one. I am waiting on the V2 option and hoping it brings a couple of updates.
  • Haswell Chip for better battery life
  • LTE broadband connectivity
  • GPS chip
  • independent resolution settings between the start screen and the desktop
  • Docking station with additional ports

But I really do like the Surface Pro tablet and believe it is a fantastic product. I have had my hands on it and it really is a wonderful device - but I think if I wait just one more year, it will be a better use of dollars.

note - if it had broadband, I probably would have purchased it on day one. It really is a deal breaker for me.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:25 PM   #8
Snake Plissken
Registered User
 
Snake Plissken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadam101 View Post
Did anyone buy a Surface?
I should have mine next week
Snake Plissken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:18 AM   #9
gayste
Love TiVo!
 
gayste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 267
Got a Surface Pro 128 and cannot play TiVo files. Also, TiVo desktop cannot transfer files.
__________________
XL4 Lifetime
Premier Lifetime
Series3 Lifetime (broken)
Series3 Lifetime (broken)
Pioneer 810H Series2 (retired)
Series2 (retired)
gayste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:25 AM   #10
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
Something Microsoft made is broken? Wow, I am so shocked.

Premiere has an E on the end of it.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:18 PM   #11
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by gayste View Post
Got a Surface Pro 128 and cannot play TiVo files. Also, TiVo desktop cannot transfer files.
I just got a 64gb Surface Pro at work on Friday so have not had a chance to try TiVo Desktop yet (still setting it up with all the work stuff). As for for the transfer issue, are you sure it's not due to the cookie problem?
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:41 PM   #12
fdisker2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: JBLM, WA
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
I just got a 64gb Surface Pro at work on Friday so have not had a chance to try TiVo Desktop yet (still setting it up with all the work stuff). As for for the transfer issue, are you sure it's not due to the cookie problem?
Yes, the TiVo Desktop cookie problem is the root of Surface problems. I can confirm that the fix in this thread works: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...63#post9527463
fdisker2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:32 AM   #13
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
I was able to install and use TiVo Desktop on my Surface Pro. I had to use the TiVo Beacon instead of Bonjour for it to see my TiVos, but I was able to download and play .TiVo files without issue (once I made morac's cookie change).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:08 PM   #14
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,094
I got my surface today as well!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:42 PM   #15
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,094
Windracer, how are you liking your Surface?

I am blown away by the handwriting recognition... I did install start8 to bring back the desktop start button, but otherwise it works fantastically.

8 second cold boot is pretty impressive as well...
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:51 AM   #16
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Windracer, how are you liking your Surface?
I've been using it for a week as a replacement for my laptop at work and it has its highs and lows for me.

I spend most of my time, like I assume most people would, in the desktop side of Windows 8. The 150% scaling on the Surface Pro drives me crazy since it causes some window controls to be rendered differently, some text is very small and crisp, other text is larger and blurry. It's been messing with my eyes ... I really need to just connect it to a regular monitor. The non-adjustable angle of the kickstand bothers me to because as it sits on my desk all the screen does is reflect the overhead lights in the office (which is also probably messing with my eyes). If I were to continue using this as a laptop replacement, I'd definitely request some sort of docking station solution to use my normal dual-monitors, external keyboard/mouse, etc. (right now I am using Synergy+ which allows me to use the keyboard/mouse on my desktop to control the Surface).

The pen is definitely neat. My daughter was disappointed it wouldn't work on her Surface RT but that's because the Pro has a completely different digitizer/screen. I do like how, when using the pen, multitouch is disabled so you can rest your palm on the screen to write normally, unlike my iPad.

Battery life, when sleeping, seems poor. Sometimes it won't survive an overnight sleep. I've started just powering it off since, as you indicated, it does cold boot incredibly fast.

As a Windows 8 laptop, I like it. It runs everything I need to (even though I'm down to 14gb free). As a tablet, it's a bit heavy and bulky when compared to my iPad, but the convenience of having a full Windows 8 desktop in that form factor is definitely appealing.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 10:35 AM   #17
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Com Hem Launching a TiVo Windows 8 App?

http://investordiscussionboard.com/b...coming-com-hem
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 05:25 PM   #18
zubinh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 131
If Microsoft would have all of the apps that I use on my iphone and ipad (And Tivo is by far the most used app), I would dump my Apple Gizmos in a hearbeat and have all of my devices running Windows 8. - one ecosystem for all devices is definitely appealing, MSFT just has to execute!
__________________
Verizon FiOS 75/35 MoCA, Roamio Plus, Mini, Sony STR-DG1200, Samsung Plasma
PS3, Harmony 900, IPhone 5S
zubinh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:42 AM   #19
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
I don't know what language that site is in, but if you look they have a link to something with TiVoToGo in it's name and it appears to be PC software that looks to have similar abilities to the iOS app. I wonder if that's something they rolled themselves? If not why hasn't TiVo released it here in the US?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:51 AM   #20
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 117
Lightbulb Com Hem launches TivotoGo Beta

I did some checking on the service, it's a Sweedish Network that partnered with Tivo that not only put together an app for IOS and Android but also a web version of Tivo 2 go.

https://tivotogo.comhem.se/tve/login

Com Hem TiVoToGo


Your browser is not supported


You must use one of the following browsers to watch the programs on this site. Click on the appropriate link for your computer if you want to update now.

ViewRight Web for PC. Windows 8, 7, XP, Vista (32 or 64 bit)



Firefox 5.6 or later
Firefox 5.6 or later, IE 5.5 or IE 6.0
IE 5.5 or IE 6.0 or later, Chrome 10.6
Chrome 10.6 or later

Translator by Bing

Last edited by jgametest : 01-28-2014 at 10:04 AM. Reason: Screenshot removed, link takes you to the TivoToGo Web Beta with preview screens.
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 05:04 PM   #21
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,554
I wonder if it is just the RCN portal thing rather than a new desktop app.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 09:14 AM   #22
zubinh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 131
Sorry to rehash this old thread but have there been any updates as far as development of a Windows phone app?

Tivo is my favorite app by far and I would just love to dump Apple and have all of my devices running Windows. I think Windows hardware has now caught up in terms of features with Apple. Just need the software!
__________________
Verizon FiOS 75/35 MoCA, Roamio Plus, Mini, Sony STR-DG1200, Samsung Plasma
PS3, Harmony 900, IPhone 5S
zubinh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 04:00 PM   #23
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 753
still waiting.. The TiVo app is the only thing i'm missing since switching from iPhone to windows phone.
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |