TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 02:42 AM   #1
edorm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Lost telnet access to Tivo

I installed a cachecard and 400Gb drive from TivoHeaven about 5 years ago and have been downloading from my Tivo happily since then. Yesterday TyTools (#10r4) would give a now showing list but when I picked something to get I was getting a socket error.

In an ill-advised late night fit of activity I changed some settings via nic_tivo_config and now I cannot even telnet to the Tivo anymore. So could someone point me in the right direction of instructions to connect and reset whatever I have mucked up.

Cheers.
edorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 01:52 AM   #2
spitfires
wassock
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 704
If you know what IP address you gave your TiVo then try manually setting the IP of your PC/laptop to be on the same subnet. You should then be able to telnet onto it and re-run nic_config_tivo. (I'm assuming you are running the standard TiVo software and haven't installed AltEPG).

If that doesn't work then I think you are stuck with either getting access via the serial port or pulling the disc and installing in a PC to rerun the nic install.
__________________
Tivo since 2002. S1 + 1TB SATA. ex-TAM (tenner a month). Virgin Media not available.
spitfires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 04:30 PM   #3
edorm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks spitfires. I am running the standard Tivo software, using the AltEPG via the Internet. The problem is I thought I knew what IP address I had set but I cannot access the Tivo on it. So where do I find instructions so to take me through "pulling the disc and installing in a PC to rerun the nic install"?
edorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:39 AM   #4
spitfires
wassock
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 704
One last thing you can try is to run a program called Look@LAN.
http://lookatlan.com/oldindex.html

Select a "New Profile" and set the scan range to 192.168.0.0 -> 192.168.255.255

This will scan your network and report a list of all IP addresses it has found with something attached. If you see one which you don't recognise then try and telnet onto it and see if it is your Tivo!


If you've never pulled the disc before (and it sounds like you haven't?) this will be the simplest solution. Otherwise you will need to find and adapt (there is not a one-page to just repair the network config) instructions on how to get into your TiVo safely, and boot into byte-swapped Linux
(e.g. http://www.steveconrad.co.uk/tivo/upgrade2.html
http://http://www.freeranger.co.uk/TiVo/HowTo.htm
http://mfslive.org/forums/viewforum.php?f=9 (MFS Live 1.3 (not 1.4)).
Or, as always, use the search function on this forum.
spitfires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |