TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2013, 05:57 AM   #1
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 148
Our P4 got sick and passed out receiving cable!

RESOLVED BUT POSTING AS A FYI

This is very strange, but over a period of time our P4 started losing reception on channels - I didn't notice until my husband complained - as he's the one that watches offbeat channels.

Yesterday it got a lot worse and a tons of channels we're saying "no signal" so we contacted the cable support people.

Our setup -

BrightHouse standard cable
Tuning adapter
P4 w/cablecard

We were watching something on our AppleTV via network (not Tivo), then something on YouTube via Tivo - then that video froze. At that point we were not receiving ANY cable channels.

I reset the Tuning Adapter a couple of times - no help there
Figuring it was fault with the cable company I went to watch a recorded Tivo show - and nothing would play.
The Tivo had to be unplugged.

That cleared it up!

The advanced level tech from Brighthouse said that Tivos need to be shut down every week or so to clear them out. I don't know about that - but in this case, for whatever reason, ours died a slow temporary death until it was power cycled.

Strange.
__________________
* Tivo Premiere 4 w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:23 AM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by igirl View Post
The advanced level tech from Brighthouse said that Tivos need to be shut down every week or so to clear them out. I don't know about that - but in this case, for whatever reason, ours died a slow temporary death until it was power cycled.
Your "advanced level tech" is an idiot or a liar. There is no such requirement.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:26 AM   #3
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by igirl View Post
RESOLVED BUT POSTING AS A FYI

This is very strange, but over a period of time our P4 started losing reception on channels

I reset the Tuning Adapter a couple of times - no help there
Figuring it was fault with the cable company I went to watch a recorded Tivo show - and nothing would play.
The Tivo had to be unplugged.

That cleared it up!


Strange.

I have had multiple occurrences of of this symptom.

Two of the times it occurred I could not play recorded videos and the SD menu backgrounds were also black. Indicating to me that this time the mpeg decoder or disk playback system had crashed.



Losing all channels - Tivo Premiere


This is a random bug that Tivo does not know how to fix yet.

You can PM tivosupport_kaitlyn to register the bug with tivo.
(so they don't keep saying that it only occurs for a couple of people)
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |