TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2013, 08:16 PM   #1201
wfg97079
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Still looking for a tcd230040 image. I have seen some talk about one but cant find someone that has it
wfg97079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:06 PM   #1202
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorcycle_rider View Post
Hmmm, I will attempt the 230 as I have that image....I will also attempt to search for the proper phrase. Thanks for pointing that out.
Did that 230 image work?

On anything?

In other words, is it good?

If so, any chance you could stick in your DB public folder and post the link, someone was looking for an image for a 130 or 230 the other day.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:59 PM   #1203
Ebuddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 11
TCD652160 Image

Well, apparently I can't send a PM until I have 10 posts.

So here's the deal: My TCD652160 died and I'm quite sure that it's the hard drive. I happen to have one lying around that should fit the bill (250GB/7200/3mb). The problem here is that this is my bedroom unit (read: The one my wife uses the most) and certain members of my family are VERY cranky that they can't watch TV in bed.

Any help anyone could offer with regard to obtaining an image would be GREATLY appreciated!
Ebuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:33 AM   #1204
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebuddy View Post
So here's the deal: My TCD652160 died and I'm quite sure that it's the hard drive. I happen to have one lying around that should fit the bill (250GB/7200/3mb). The problem here is that this is my bedroom unit (read: The one my wife uses the most) and certain members of my family are VERY cranky that they can't watch TV in bed.

Any help anyone could offer with regard to obtaining an image would be GREATLY appreciated!
A link to a TCD652160 image has been provided multiple times over the last few pages of this thread: link.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:31 PM   #1205
Ebuddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbourgeo View Post
A link to a TCD652160 image has been provided multiple times over the last few pages of this thread: link.
Thank you...I did indeed find it. Unfortunately, my search-fu must be weak. I did try to search but I seemed to get so many results with just the mention of the model number that it seemed a bit onerous to comb through. My bad, I will endevour to be more diligent.
Ebuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:08 AM   #1206
ndno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Help: Need TCD140060 image

Hi everyone, my old TCD140060 with lifetime service finally croaked due to some bad caps and the hard drive got corrupted I was able to buy cap replacements and replaced the caps in the power supply. Unfortunately the hard drive is corrupted and the unit constantly freezes when changing channel. I tried cloning the old drive to a new drive using MFSlive but it's still bad; I think the software is corrupted. Does anyone have a backup image of the TCD140060 software? I read online that I can also use a TCD240040 software if I do a clear and delete. I would pay $40 to get InstantCake but I don't know if the problem is with the Tivo unit itself so I don't want wasting $40 for nothing. Please please help! Thank you!

EDIT: nevermind, I searched this thread and found the download images posted by unitron. Thank you unitron, I will try those images.

Last edited by ndno : 02-06-2013 at 05:24 AM.
ndno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:23 AM   #1207
Chevy45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Hi, I don't know if this thread still work but I need an image for my old tivo SD-DV40. Thanks in advance.
sede@hotmail.com
Chevy45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:49 PM   #1208
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
TCD758250 Image?

My Premiere XL4 drive crashed last night. Believe boot sector corrupted (ever cycling GSOD). Trying to rebuild but need an image. Can anyone help? Want to try to fix myself before going after a replacement drive.

Many thanks
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:54 PM   #1209
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
My Premiere XL4 drive crashed last night. Believe boot sector corrupted (ever cycling GSOD). Trying to rebuild but need an image. Can anyone help? Want to try to fix myself before going after a replacement drive.

Many thanks
Premiere images does not exist, the JMFS is what is used and that only does bit-by-bit copy from drive to drive.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:09 PM   #1210
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Premiere images does not exist, the JMFS is what is used and that only does bit-by-bit copy from drive to drive.
A good drive to drive, if your drive has gone south you will have to purchase another drive, look on E-Bay.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:46 PM   #1211
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
My Premiere XL4 drive crashed last night. Believe boot sector corrupted (ever cycling GSOD). Trying to rebuild but need an image. Can anyone help? Want to try to fix myself before going after a replacement drive.

Many thanks
Have you tried kickstart 52?
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:45 AM   #1212
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Have you tried kickstart 52?
Tried that. Kickstart 58 is what started the problem. Looking at disk with TestDisk shows directory structure intact. Bad superblock. Makes me think disk may be OK, just jumbled up a bit. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Maybe an image will come out of the ether for me.
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:20 AM   #1213
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
Tried that. Kickstart 58 is what started the problem. Looking at disk with TestDisk shows directory structure intact. Bad superblock. Makes me think disk may be OK, just jumbled up a bit. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Maybe an image will come out of the ether for me.
If, from some alternate universe in which they exist, you happen to receive such image and the tool to restore it, kindly pass it on to the rest of us.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:20 PM   #1214
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 768
If it is GSOD then you should be able to get to the kickstart portal. Might go to 54 first and test the drive. If it's bad and you are under warranty let Tivo get you a new one. If it's not then buy a replacement. Might be able to use dd or dd_rescue to copy the drive with enough good data to fix it enough to use the kickstart portal to clean it up. If the drive is good or you copied to another drive, then kickstart 52, 56, 57, and 58. If those don't work then you will probably need an image.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:23 PM   #1215
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 768
Why did you use kickstart 58 to begin with. Also do you have an external drive connected as well.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:50 AM   #1216
kenfused
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
THanks for this thread! Saved my tivo !!!
kenfused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:11 AM   #1217
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenfused View Post
THanks for this thread! Saved my tivo !!!
Why didn't you say you just needed to put a fresh image on that 80GB instead of making us think you needed to copy the original drive?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:32 AM   #1218
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
Why did you use kickstart 58 to begin with. Also do you have an external drive connected as well.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
TiVo was slow on response. Hoped to clean up file system. Will try your suggestion.
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:32 AM   #1219
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
TiVo was slow on response. Hoped to clean up file system. Will try your suggestion.
No external drive.
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:22 PM   #1220
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
TiVo was slow on response. Hoped to clean up file system. Will try your suggestion.
Probably not related but my TiVo has intermittent slow response when I use bluetooth tivo controller. Using the regular tivo controller I don't have the issue. Other potential culprits, other than a software update from tivo that may cause issue, are hard drive or power supply going bad. Hard drive the primary. Sometimes if the drive is almost full you can experience some problems as well.
Never had a kickstart cause a recurrent GSOD without a hard drive going bad. Always a first time for everything.



Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:38 PM   #1221
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
Never had a kickstart cause a recurrent GSOD without a hard drive going bad. Always a first time for everything.
Possibly related strange kickstart behavior. Pressing pause caused yellow light to stop blinking. After entering code, yellow and green lights blinked alternately for awhile. Blue light never came on. Then on to GSOD.
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 05:00 PM   #1222
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 768
My XL started doing that after the fall update.... as far as behavior of the kickstart portal. No longer get the blue light just yellow / green alternating rapidly in place of the blue light.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:39 AM   #1223
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Image Still Needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
If it is GSOD then you should be able to get to the kickstart portal. Might go to 54 first and test the drive. If it's bad and you are under warranty let Tivo get you a new one. If it's not then buy a replacement. Might be able to use dd or dd_rescue to copy the drive with enough good data to fix it enough to use the kickstart portal to clean it up. If the drive is good or you copied to another drive, then kickstart 52, 56, 57, and 58. If those don't work then you will probably need an image.
New drive, ddrescue copy, still no joy. Really need a XL4 image. $250 for a new drive from Weakknees/DVRupgrade is just unreasonable when a new 2TB drive can be had for $90.
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:26 AM   #1224
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
New drive, ddrescue copy, still no joy. Really need a XL4 image. $250 for a new drive from Weakknees/DVRupgrade is just unreasonable when a new 2TB drive can be had for $90.
Images for Series4 TiVos do not exist. There is no way to create one.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:56 PM   #1225
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
New drive, ddrescue copy, still no joy. Really need a XL4 image. $250 for a new drive from Weakknees/DVRupgrade is just unreasonable when a new 2TB drive can be had for $90.
People with an TPXL4 that already has a 2TB drive in it will not have an original drive, that one reason I got the TP4 and purchased a 2Tb drive and now I can keep the original drive in a safe place if my 2Tb drive goes bad. You don't have many options except to suck it up and purchase a TPXL4 formatted drive, if you want a backup you will have to purchase another 2 TB unformatted drive and make a copy, and hope the drive you purchase has the same or more sectors on it as your working 2Tb drive. Your TPXL4 would cost you $750 to replace so spending another $140 and not have to make your own copy is not that bad a rip off, IMHO.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:43 PM   #1226
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
People with an TPXL4 that already has a 2TB drive in it will not have an original drive, that one reason I got the TP4 and purchased a 2Tb drive and now I can keep the original drive in a safe place if my 2Tb drive goes bad. You don't have many options except to suck it up and purchase a TPXL4 formatted drive, if you want a backup you will have to purchase another 2 TB unformatted drive and make a copy, and hope the drive you purchase has the same or more sectors on it as your working 2Tb drive. Your TPXL4 would cost you $750 to replace so spending another $140 and not have to make your own copy is not that bad a rip off, IMHO.
He could save some money by purchasing the replacement drive from dvr_dude rather than weaKnees.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:47 PM   #1227
timdugan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
He could save some money by purchasing the replacement drive from dvr_dude rather than weaKnees.
Unfortunately, dvr_dude doesn't support the TCD75825 (asked him a few days ago just in case his site wasn't current). Sure wish a WinMFS tbk file was available somewhere for it.
timdugan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:04 PM   #1228
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
Unfortunately, dvr_dude doesn't support the TCD75825 (asked him a few days ago just in case his site wasn't current). Sure wish a WinMFS tbk file was available somewhere for it.
WinMFS cannot do a thing for any Series 4 drive except screw it up.

You have to find someone else with the same model TiVo and "Xerox" the drive to another one of the same size or larger, but no larger than 2.2TB or 2TB, I'm not sure which.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:23 PM   #1229
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
WinMFS cannot do a thing for any Series 4 drive except screw it up.

You have to find someone else with the same model TiVo and "Xerox" the drive to another one of the same size or larger, but no larger than 2.2TB or 2TB, I'm not sure which.
I never heard of a 2.2Tb drive but if there is one it would work, I know that a 2.5 TB drive will not boot on any TiVo even if you don't expand the drive, I did try as WD sent me a 2.5Tb drive on my return of a in warranty 2Tb drive, had to purchase a 2Tb drive and sell the new 2.5Tb drive.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:36 PM   #1230
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdugan View Post
Unfortunately, dvr_dude doesn't support the TCD75825 (asked him a few days ago just in case his site wasn't current). Sure wish a WinMFS tbk file was available somewhere for it.
I don't understand why a drive for a 750500 wouldn't work in a 758250. AFAIK, the only difference other than drive size is THX certification. Maybe he just hasn't tested it and doesn't want to guarantee anything.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |