TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2012, 11:30 AM   #1
benmusic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 2
Lost HDMI?

Anyone have an idea why I would all of a sudden loose HDMI on my S3. It's been fine for about 5 years. I tried a new high speed HDMI cable, but that didn't change a thing. I went to RGB cables and that works fine. It just doesn't look as sharp and crisp as HDMI.

I called both Time Warner and Tivo and neither could solve my problem. Anyone have an idea as to what went wrong?

Ben Music
benmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:17 PM   #2
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by benmusic View Post
Anyone have an idea why I would all of a sudden loose HDMI on my S3. It's been fine for about 5 years. I tried a new high speed HDMI cable, but that didn't change a thing. I went to RGB cables and that works fine. It just doesn't look as sharp and crisp as HDMI.

I called both Time Warner and Tivo and neither could solve my problem. Anyone have an idea as to what went wrong?

Ben Music
Maybe the hdmi port on the TV stopped working.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:17 AM   #3
shadowplay0918
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by benmusic View Post
Anyone have an idea why I would all of a sudden loose HDMI on my S3. It's been fine for about 5 years. I tried a new high speed HDMI cable, but that didn't change a thing. I went to RGB cables and that works fine. It just doesn't look as sharp and crisp as HDMI.

I called both Time Warner and Tivo and neither could solve my problem. Anyone have an idea as to what went wrong?

Ben Music
Same thing happened to me about a year ago. HDMI port of tv is fine when I tested it with my Blu-ray player. Called Tivo and they said my tv needed to be upgraded to a newer version of the software (which does not exist).

It's just a 32" tv in the bedroom so I just switched to component...
shadowplay0918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:42 AM   #4
Nugent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 89
This is a known and common problem. I just lost HDMI on my second TiVo HD, having lost the first about a year ago. There does not appear to be a diy fix.

Annoying for me to have separate video and audio...
__________________
TiVo HD Owner/Operator
Western Carolinas
Nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 03:56 PM   #5
kevreh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 31
Add me to the list of bad HDMI ports. When I wiggle the HDMI plug on the tivo it alternates between blue screen on my TV (nothing) and a black screen (something, but signal not working).
kevreh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:02 PM   #6
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
The bad HDMI port is a known issue with the S3HD units. Not sure if the original S3 has the same issue. I had one and the RGB wasn't a bad compromise. Certainly better than composite.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:26 PM   #7
kevreh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 31
Yeah, component is a close second to HDMI. But I just dropped some money on a new plasma and damnit...it sucks I can't use HDMI.
kevreh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:34 AM   #8
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
I doubt you would notice the difference. On BluRay maybe, but surely not on overly compressed CATV programming.
Besides, there will never be any handshake issues.

Out of curiosity, for all that have lost HDMI, would you give this a try;
Reconnect the HDMI cable, power down, then power up. Let us know if you see the initial "welcome" screen for 90 seconds before it goes black (looses video).
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:42 AM   #9
kevreh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 31
Also, over the weekend I was reading on a home theater forum where some people have a problem using short HDMI cable, like a foot or so. When they switched to a longer cable the devices were able to "see" each other whereas before there was no signal. Worth a try.
kevreh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:29 AM   #10
Nugent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
Out of curiosity, for all that have lost HDMI, would you give this a try; Reconnect the HDMI cable, power down, then power up. Let us know if you see the initial "welcome" screen for 90 seconds before it goes black (looses video).
I have this. Very strange, as it would indicate a software or handshake problem, rather than hardware.
__________________
TiVo HD Owner/Operator
Western Carolinas
Nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:23 PM   #11
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 252
It's not a unusual problem. But, with no solution. One source claims it's the connector, but if so, why the initial screen, not the 2nd which are both 480i (I believe)?
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |