TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 09:26 PM   #1
chaseonbase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Arrow tivo so3 error and no video

This is my first time posting to the forums and this seems like a good place to start. This is my first TiVo issue after having 2 boxes. The past few weeks ago, we experienced an ice storm and when they were repairing the power lines it made my power flicker like crazy. Since this issue my TiVo informed me it needed me to download program info. This is when the so3 error occurred. A few days ago I was messing around with my surge protector and changed my coaxials. Now. The TiVo won't even show basic channels. I even plugged up the coax to the tv and it appears to be working fine. Here is a list of things I have done. Hard and soft reset, completed guided setup, called cable company and requested signal reboot. The TiVo is the hundred dollar model from bestbuy and I have a western digital 1tb, expandable hd. The next attempt I am going to try is a complete factory reset. Anyone got some suggestions?

Ps. I have also tried the pause 57 trick, and all it did was put me thru guided setup

Last edited by chaseonbase : 01-07-2013 at 09:28 PM. Reason: forgot to add a step
chaseonbase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:18 PM   #2
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaseonbase View Post
This is my first time posting to the forums and this seems like a good place to start. This is my first TiVo issue after having 2 boxes. The past few weeks ago, we experienced an ice storm and when they were repairing the power lines it made my power flicker like crazy. Since this issue my TiVo informed me it needed me to download program info. This is when the so3 error occurred. A few days ago I was messing around with my surge protector and changed my coaxials. Now. The TiVo won't even show basic channels. I even plugged up the coax to the tv and it appears to be working fine. Here is a list of things I have done. Hard and soft reset, completed guided setup, called cable company and requested signal reboot. The TiVo is the hundred dollar model from bestbuy and I have a western digital 1tb, expandable hd. The next attempt I am going to try is a complete factory reset. Anyone got some suggestions?

Ps. I have also tried the pause 57 trick, and all it did was put me thru guided setup
You didn't say what model your Tivo is. Check the back label and let us know the TCD number. You can try the steps located here:

http://dreadnaught.wordpress.com/200...ivo-error-s03/

If that doesn't work you will likely need to re-image the hard drive. The imaging SW is free and images are available from friendly forum dwellers for free (check the Upgrade Forum for more info).
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:53 AM   #3
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
1. Can you playback old recordings?

2. Will the DVR download data from TiVo?

3. Check the signal strength for several channels, Verify the cable is connected to "Cable" not the Antenna input.

4 Switch to the SD menus look in settings -> recording
And you should replace the surge protector strip with a UPS. The surge protector works by shorting the voltage spike to ground and will self destruct on the stronger ones in the process.
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |