TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 02:21 PM   #1
spencerl
Spencer L
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Same Channel - 1 show is fine, the other is pixelated

I have a brand new Premiere XL that was bought for one purpose - recording The Young & The Restless for my wife. This is the only program that will not record so that it is remotely viewable. we tried recording the show right after that one on the same channel and it plays back without any issues.

We do not have cable, so everything is being recorded off an antenna. Haven't had 1 issue with any other recordings, just this one show.
spencerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:06 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,474
Was there any overlap between the two shows? If so then the second show may have been recoded with the other tuner which could mean you have a bad tuner.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:17 PM   #3
spencerl
Spencer L
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
The 2nd show was recently (today) added as a test. The only thing we can figure out is that the show in question Y&R) is the only show in the Season Pass. All the other shows we have recorded (at least for the week we have had the unit) are selected individually. We do have one other series in Season Pass, but they have not been aired recently due to the holiday.
spencerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:19 PM   #4
spencerl
Spencer L
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Is there a way to determine which tuner is recording? Is there some sort of log/history that I could look at?
spencerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:41 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,474
No log, but you can test it right now. Setup two recordings right now that are on at the same time. Once they start recording check the System Information->DVR Diagnostics screen to see which tuner is recording what. After they're done check them and see if either has pixelation. If one does then do the test again, but on two completely different channels. If the show recorded on the same tuner as the first one also has pixelation then you definitely have a bad tuner.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:48 PM   #6
spencerl
Spencer L
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Will do. Have 2 shows set up to record at 5pm. Will do the same at 6pm on different channels and let you know what happens. Thanks for the help!!!
spencerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 06:06 PM   #7
spencerl
Spencer L
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
All 4 shows are fine. I reset the show in question in the Season Pass and I'll see what happens next week.
spencerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 02:53 PM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by spencerl View Post
I have a brand new Premiere XL that was bought for one purpose - recording The Young & The Restless for my wife. This is the only program that will not record so that it is remotely viewable. we tried recording the show right after that one on the same channel and it plays back without any issues.

We do not have cable, so everything is being recorded off an antenna. Haven't had 1 issue with any other recordings, just this one show.
It's not impossible that the pixelation occurred before the signal got to your local CBS broadcast affiliate.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 02:25 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,474
You could always hook up a pair of rabbit ears and see if you can pickup the channel OTA. That would tell you if the pixelation is in he source or being introduced by your cable company.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |