TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2012, 12:43 AM   #31
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
It is not a horrible interface, after waiting forever for it to load. Although slow (no shock there) it seems faster than the YouTube interface. Video quality is good, but not fantastic. It is a hell of a lot more usable than YouTube on the TiVo. Yet it is missing search.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:51 AM   #32
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,264
I don't get the point of this App. Just looks like a random mishmash of mostly uninteresting stuff. What am I missing? What's the distinguishing feature set here? Unsurprisingly like everything else Flash based on series 4 TiVo it's pretty slow on 2 tuner Premiere and just unbearably slow on my Elite.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 02:10 AM   #33
Drewster
Shooting blanks
 
Drewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 10,150
Looks like it's video content slurped up from different media sources -- AP, HuffPo, Engadget, etc. Not really something I'm interested in.
__________________
-Andrew
Drewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 03:24 AM   #34
ntarvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Haven't you all seen Windows 8??

Hasn't anyone here seen Windows 8 ???

This is a copy of what W8 has for many of the items on the "start screen"... only this is worse because you've got several levels of "menus" on top to navigate before you can even watch anything, and like W8, it's rather "sparse" in content...

I dumped W8 from my computer almost before it was done installing, and I'm doing the same with this...

Now, if i could only get rid of Tivo's ever-growing list of games ...
ntarvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:36 AM   #35
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntarvin View Post
Hasn't anyone here seen Windows 8 ???

This is a copy of what W8 has for many of the items on the "start screen"... only this is worse because you've got several levels of "menus" on top to navigate before you can even watch anything, and like W8, it's rather "sparse" in content...

I dumped W8 from my computer almost before it was done installing, and I'm doing the same with this....

LOL!!! I was just about to post the exact same response! It looks a lot like MS-WIndows 8-

A random, colorful, and irritating mish-mash of mostly stupid stuff. Bingo!! At least it doesn't appear the squares are animated, like in Win8.

Good thing I use Linux.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:42 AM   #36
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,346
AOL On doesn't seem too bad. There seems to be alot of content to look at. It doesn't seem to be too slow on this Elite I'm trying it on. Well except for the initial loading which does take entirely too long. Of course any UI can always be faster.

For Windows 8, I put it on four of my machines and I will probably put it on a couple more since I like Windows 8 so much. It took a little to get used to at first, but now that I am used to it I prefer using my Machines with Win8 to my machines that still have Windows 7 on them.

And especially for the price I paid, it was bargain. My first machine was $40 for the upgrade and the other three only cost me $15. Although when I upgrade my other two, those will most likely be $40 each.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:15 PM   #37
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,477
I think OSX only cost me $20 for all of my Macs.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:24 PM   #38
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
I think OSX only cost me $20 for all of my Macs.
And Linux (Mageia, Fedora, and CentOS) cost me $0 for all my computers. I win!
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:07 PM   #39
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post

And Linux (Mageia, Fedora, and CentOS) cost me $0 for all my computers. I win!
Yep, kinda depends on if you have enough good programs to run on Linux. If its free and you can't run any good programs well then....
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:27 PM   #40
HeatherA
Old AVS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
I think OSX only cost me $20 for all of my Macs.
One of my favorite Mac perks It'd cost us $100 to upgrade all PCs in our house... we decided to pass.

As for this AOL On... I'd rather we have gotten Amazon streaming... this is pretty worthless. Though, I must say it's nice to see new features hitting the box... hope TiVo steps it up and gives us more.
__________________
-HeatherA

Roamio Basic 477HDHr TiVo Prem.4 237HDHr TiVo Prem.XL 157HDHr TiVo Prem. 192HDHrx2 TiVo Mini

Retired
TiVoS2DT 560hr HDVR2 104hr Phillips 14hr TiVoS2(40hr) DTiVo 69hr TiVoHD 21HDhr
HeatherA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:15 PM   #41
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Yep, kinda depends on if you have enough good programs to run on Linux. If its free and you can't run any good programs well then....
Thankfully it does everything I want and with tons of good programs. That won't necessarily be the case for everyone, of course. The reverse is true too (MS-Windows and MacOS don't do everything I want).

All of us are used to not getting everything we want, already, though.... we are TiVo owners
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 11:06 AM   #42
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Yep, kinda depends on if you have enough good programs to run on Linux. If its free and you can't run any good programs well then....
In this space you can run MythTV, which is the most powerful DVR software ever made. And free, and can be complex to setup and maintain. But it runs rings around everything else out there, if you can put up with the limitation of only being able to view/record unprotected content (non-CCI'd). It also allows you to build a whole-home media server with SFF, low-power/quiet slave PCs that can do pretty much anything, audio and video-wise.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 11:23 AM   #43
abqdan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Played with AOL On for a while. Nothing there I'd watch. I don't really want to watch 2 minute snippets of news etc - if I did, I'd go to YouTube. And any interface that clicks at me, without giving me a button to turn the annoying noise off, isn't going to get much use. I turned off all 'noises' on the TiVo, but this app still clicks.

Following this Windows 8 paradigm is stupid, particularly on a box like the TiVo. A simple list of content would be far easier to navigate, and fast too, without all the unnecessary graphics. The Tile "preview" tells me nothing about the content - I still have to look at the description of the clip to know what is going on, so what's the point? Another example of programmers not having a clue about human interface design.
abqdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:08 PM   #44
TrooperOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 26
Anyone else have this app disappear after having been installed and used?

I had it, watched an hour long Engadget show that I enjoyed. Went back today, it is missing.

Checked the Settings > Channels > Video Providers, and everything else is listed, but AOL isn't.

Re-booted etc... no change.

Any help would be appreciated.
TrooperOrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:50 PM   #45
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrooperOrange View Post
Anyone else have this app disappear after having been installed and used?

I had it, watched an hour long Engadget show that I enjoyed. Went back today, it is missing.

Checked the Settings > Channels > Video Providers, and everything else is listed, but AOL isn't.
That happened to me too. I really don't care enough about it spend any time trying to sort it out.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:53 PM   #46
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrooperOrange View Post
Anyone else have this app disappear after having been installed and used?

I had it, watched an hour long Engadget show that I enjoyed. Went back today, it is missing.

Checked the Settings > Channels > Video Providers, and everything else is listed, but AOL isn't.

Re-booted etc... no change.

Any help would be appreciated.
I never got it in the first place.
morac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:37 AM   #47
TrooperOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 26
Well I tried to sort it out, no luck, nothing simple.

I don't care enough to contact Tivo either. lol

If I had to guess, they rolled it to some, maybe found a bug, so pushed a new update to remove it or something.

Who knows. The app is by no means brilliant, but it is content that we didn't have otherwise. *shrug*

The more the merrier.
TrooperOrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:52 AM   #48
TIVO_GUY_HERE
I miss the ocean
 
TIVO_GUY_HERE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 5,641
for what it's worth, I still have it, after checking it out last night.
TIVO_GUY_HERE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:16 AM   #49
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by morac View Post
I never got it in the first place.
+1. Wonder if it's a regional rollout, for whatever reason?
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:44 AM   #50
ntarvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
I disabled AOL earlier this week, but checked it this morning - and it's still there.

Regional?? Perhaps. Tivo-Guy 's in Dallas, I'm in Tulsa, CharlesH was San Fran area.... maybe a west-to-east rollout???

(I'm keeping it disabled - I still don't like it.)
ntarvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:33 PM   #51
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,602
UG. I need to disable this as well.

The app has no appreciation for us timeshifters.

After watching the entire season of survivor, and keeping away from NBCnews.com (which is notorious for spilling the beans in their article titles) since the finale recorded Sunday, I just happened to check out the app. First thing I saw was a headline indicating the winner.

UG. App dismissed.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 02:47 PM   #52
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewster View Post
Looks like it's video content slurped up from different media sources -- AP, HuffPo, Engadget, etc. Not really something I'm interested in.
They are all AOL-owned media properties, not just random sources.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:56 PM   #53
apw2607
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
App is terrible. Slow. Poor content. User interface looks like a copy of the opera tv store ... Which is also horrible.

It would be nice if they go back and fix the junky apps that are already on the box like amazon VOD....
apw2607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:00 AM   #54
apw2607
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
Actually. TiVo just provided AOL the SDK/API. I suspect that TiVo put very little engineering effort into support the AOL app. I guess Sony, Samsung, Roku, Google TV, and Boxee wasted their time as well...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
I have no clue why people continue to point to TiVo as if they write these apps themselves. Do people complain to Apple or Google when they want an app written for that platform?

Even if I have no interest in this app, which I don't think I will- I cannot stand hulu plus, the fact that any parties are writing apps for Tivo is great news.
In the case of Apple TV, all the 3rd party content UIs use the standard Apple TV UI.
apw2607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:13 PM   #55
bfaz18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 12
AOL On app - Are you kidding?

Tried it yesterday. Slowest App Ever!
First attempt - didn't finish initializing enough to accept navigation moves.
Second attempt - initialized ( finally ); watched one 2 minute segment.
A 5 minute segment didn't start after 5 minutes, gave up.
Reminds me of the "search beta"; I might try in another 6 months when it might be fully "cooked".
( Note I have no trouble streaming Premiere to Premiere or Internet->TV ).
While I love my TIVOs, TIVO's implementation of internet apps doesn't hold
a candle to my other devices. -- doesn't matter if they do the development
or it's 3rd party -- it's up to TIVO to certify ready for "primetime".
bfaz18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 05:07 PM   #56
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,429
I looked at it again today and I just don't get the appeal of slogging through random videos to see if there's anything I might want to actually watch. Am I missing something?
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 05:38 PM   #57
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,619
AOL On has an iPad app and it's available on Roku. I think both have a better interface and faster. Note, I've only tested AOL On in the SD menus on TiVo since that's the only way I've been able to get to it.

AOL Music CD is kind of interesting and it's not available on the iPad app, but it is in the Roku version.
morac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:20 PM   #58
jrlbc06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Forget AOL.

ESPN3 ESPN3 ESPN3

Why has this not happened yet? XBox has ESPN3.
jrlbc06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 04:16 PM   #59
Delegator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
I decided to try this app and see what kind of content it brought with it. On the main page was "Honey Boo Boo's Family Shares a Christmas Photo."

I wish I could just remove the stupid thing.

I also don't bother with the Amazon App on Tivo, because
a. it doesn't know up front that I'm an Amazon Prime member, so I can't have it just show Amazon Prime videos like I do with Roku, and
b. It's dog slow, whereas Roku is quite snappy
c. With TiVo I have to buffer a show in order to start watching it, but with Roky I don't.

The performance problems are also there on the Netflix app. Xbox and Roku are much better interfaces.
Delegator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:27 PM   #60
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delegator View Post
I decided to try this app and see what kind of content it brought with it. On the main page was "Honey Boo Boo's Family Shares a Christmas Photo."

I wish I could just remove the stupid thing.
You can. Just turn it off in your video service settings.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |