TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 06:14 AM   #1
tkcuisine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Update lasting more than 24 hours

My tivo premier box has been locked on a screen that says preparing the update this may take an hour or longer for over 24 hours. when i talked to the support last night they said it must be a big update and was not very helpful. anyone else had this the box is less that2 years old.
tkcuisine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:50 AM   #2
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,918
Its stuck. Reboot time and hope it recovers. If not, its likely a hard drive failing.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:04 AM   #3
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
If you have a the Keyboard remote or Wireless adapter unplug them hopefully the boot will continue.
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:23 PM   #4
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,309
I do not have the update yet on my Premier. I hope it does not take more then 24 hours. Try unplugging the network cable and Cable Card also. If that does not work a power cycle reboot may be needed.

Can anyone that has received the new update respond with how long it took?
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:28 PM   #5
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 259
30-60 minutes after Pending Restart reboot.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:38 PM   #6
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeUser View Post
I do not have the update yet on my Premier. I hope it does not take more then 24 hours. Try unplugging the network cable and Cable Card also. If that does not work a power cycle reboot may be needed.

Can anyone that has received the new update respond with how long it took?
It depends on which version you currently have, and how large your HDD, a 2TB HDD will take longer, there is some major database changes in the update.

Updating from 20.2.1 to 20.2.2.1 (Second Fall release) takes over 1 hour from reboot (2TB HDD)

Updating from 20.2.2 (First Fall release) to 20.2.2.1 (Second Fall release) only takes about 20 minutes from reboot (2TB HDD)
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |