TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 05:20 PM   #1111
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by AALANman View Post
Could anyone take pity on a TiVo community old-timer who is in need of an image for his TCD648250? Started getting an S03 error on update, so as a last resort I tried a Kickstart 57 and now she's stuck in a Guided Setup loop. I already have a DropBox account so I can be of no help referral-wise but if someone could provide a link to the WinMFS image or tell me where to look I'd sure be grateful!!! All links I have found via search are dead and there are no Seeders for the Supafly option.
I can hook you up eventually.

Right now it seems that too many people were banging on my DropBox public folder, so my account is temporarily suspended.

If there's some way I could upload to your DropBox account, email me at myusernamehereonTCF at coastalnet dot com

(My PM box here at TCF is getting kind of crowded)
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:09 PM   #1112
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
My Tivo Series 2 40GB HDD crashed. The model number is: TCD24004A I have the same 40G drive (almost identical as the original) that I want to use. Does anyone have an image for this? Thanks in advance!
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:19 PM   #1113
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM3MD157 View Post
My Tivo Series 2 40GB HDD crashed. The model number is: TCD24004A I have the same 40G drive (almost identical as the original) that I want to use. Does anyone have an image for this? Thanks in advance!
If you can be patient and wait until access to my DropBox account is restored, I've got a 140 image that should work--the 140 and 240 basically use the same version of the software. I've also got a 24008A if you want to go to a bigger drive (it'll have to be at least slightly larger than the average 80GB drive because back then TiVo was using Maxtor drives which had a slightly higher LBA number than their Seagate and WD counterparts)
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:29 PM   #1114
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I can hook you up eventually.

Right now it seems that too many people were banging on my DropBox public folder, so my account is temporarily suspended.

If there's some way I could upload to your DropBox account, email me at myusernamehereonTCF at coastalnet dot com

(My PM box here at TCF is getting kind of crowded)
Popular guy.
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, now sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:31 PM   #1115
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
Thank you so much! You are awesome and responsive!
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:42 PM   #1116
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Popular guy.
It's all due to my boyish charm.




Did I mention how my participation here is making me wealthy beyond all my dreams?



__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:52 AM   #1117
AALANman
Powering Up..
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I can hook you up eventually.

Right now it seems that too many people were banging on my DropBox public folder, so my account is temporarily suspended.

If there's some way I could upload to your DropBox account, email me at myusernamehereonTCF at coastalnet dot com

(My PM box here at TCF is getting kind of crowded)
Sent you an email regarding upload to DropBox is apparently limited to 75MB. I appreciate any assistance on my issue as soon as your account is back in service.

Let me check my "archives" I think I might have a Series 2 image that could help out that other user.
AALANman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:35 PM   #1118
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If you can be patient and wait until access to my DropBox account is restored, I've got a 140 image that should work--the 140 and 240 basically use the same version of the software. I've also got a 24008A if you want to go to a bigger drive (it'll have to be at least slightly larger than the average 80GB drive because back then TiVo was using Maxtor drives which had a slightly higher LBA number than their Seagate and WD counterparts)
You might be able to get accounts from other file share sites.

filepost.com
bitshare.com
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, now sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:54 PM   #1119
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by AALANman View Post
Could anyone take pity on a TiVo community old-timer who is in need of an image for his TCD648250? Started getting an S03 error on update, so as a last resort I tried a Kickstart 57 and now she's stuck in a Guided Setup loop. I already have a DropBox account so I can be of no help referral-wise but if someone could provide a link to the WinMFS image or tell me where to look I'd sure be grateful!!! All links I have found via search are dead and there are no Seeders for the Supafly option.
I sent you a link via PM.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:54 PM   #1120
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM3MD157 View Post
My Tivo Series 2 40GB HDD crashed. The model number is: TCD24004A I have the same 40G drive (almost identical as the original) that I want to use. Does anyone have an image for this? Thanks in advance!
I sent you a link via PM.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:57 PM   #1121
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If you can be patient and wait until access to my DropBox account is restored, I've got a 140 image that should work--the 140 and 240 basically use the same version of the software. I've also got a 24008A if you want to go to a bigger drive (it'll have to be at least slightly larger than the average 80GB drive because back then TiVo was using Maxtor drives which had a slightly higher LBA number than their Seagate and WD counterparts)
I sent PM's to the guy who needs the 240 image and the guy who needs the S3 250GB image. Now you know why I don't post my Dropbox links on the forum. No good deed goes unpunished.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:46 PM   #1122
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
You might be able to get accounts from other file share sites.

filepost.com
bitshare.com
I started out with SendSpace, but what I put there wasn't in demand enough to keep the files from being removed due to inactivity.

Now my DropBox account public folder got suspended (apparently since restored) for too much demand.

Unfortunately DropBox doesn't have a level inbetween free and much bigger than I need and a great deal more expensive than I'd want to pay each year.

I really hadn't planned on this turning into a career.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:47 PM   #1123
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
I sent PM's to the guy who needs the 240 image and the guy who needs the S3 250GB image. Now you know why I don't post my Dropbox links on the forum. No good deed goes unpunished.
It was easy and convenient until I apparently experienced a sudden surge in popularity.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 08:50 PM   #1124
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
I sent you a link via PM.
Thank you so much! I tried to PM you back, but since I don't have enough posts, I can't.

Now that I am an ultimate n00b, I need to find a good tutorial.
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:00 PM   #1125
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM3MD157 View Post
Thank you so much! I tried to PM you back, but since I don't have enough posts, I can't.

Now that I am an ultimate n00b, I need to find a good tutorial.
Go to mfslive.org and read everything about MFS Live and WinMFS.

More than once.

Then come back and ask questions.

There are a few things on that site where I or others here might might tell you something slightly different, and might have other things to say on which that sight is silent.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:51 PM   #1126
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
I downloaded winmfs and noticed that the last version that was released was in 2008. I recently upgraded to windows 8. Hope I can run it! Will come back after hunting around. Thanks!
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 03:32 PM   #1127
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM3MD157 View Post
I downloaded winmfs and noticed that the last version that was released was in 2008. I recently upgraded to windows 8. Hope I can run it! Will come back after hunting around. Thanks!
WinMFS is easy to run. You may have to right click on the exe and run in admin mode. I use a cheap USB to SATA cable instead of breaking open my PC and trying to connect to the MB. If you use a drive that is automatically mounted by Windows then you need to unmout before running WinMFS. Instead of that, I think I may have gotten it to work by running WinMFS and telling it to select a mounted drive and then erasing the boot sector. After that it seems I had to exit WinMFS and restart the PC then enter WinMFS again. Once you get WinMFS to recognize the drive as being unmounted, then imaging is as easy as clicking on Restore, selecting the desired image file, and clicking start. If you use a larger than original drive, then it will ask at the end if you want to expand so you can use all of the available space. Click yes and you should be done.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:01 PM   #1128
damianthehusky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Ive spent the better portion of my last two days hunting on the web for an image for my poor TCD649080. if the Instantcake didn't cost more than i paid for the tivo i would gladly buy the image but if i can't find one it seems it's just going to end up in the bin which is sad.
damianthehusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:42 PM   #1129
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by damianthehusky View Post
Ive spent the better portion of my last two days hunting on the web for an image for my poor TCD649080. if the Instantcake didn't cost more than i paid for the tivo i would gladly buy the image but if i can't find one it seems it's just going to end up in the bin which is sad.
I think my DropBox public folder is accessible again.

Try it.

For using the MFS Live cd v1.4


https://dl.dropbox.com/u/49887720/649_gset.bak


For using WinMFS


https://dl.dropbox.com/u/49887720/649_gset.tbk


How did you acquire this TiVo and what exactly seems to be wrong with it? (you can't always trust the symptoms to tell you the truth)
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:37 PM   #1130
ScubaCat3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 95
Looking for TCD540140 image for a 140gb series 2. Thanks!
__________________
The second rat gets free cheese.
ScubaCat3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:45 PM   #1131
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaCat3 View Post
Looking for TCD540140 image for a 140gb series 2. Thanks!
To what size drive do you plan to restore it? Specifically, the LBA number as well as the size in GB, and do you have plans to replace that with a larger drive at a later date?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:10 PM   #1132
damianthehusky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Ok so the 80Gb drive in my TCD649080 died the other day and i have a drive to replace it (200Gb drive) but i need an image for it. can anyone help me out? i'm pretty new to this stuff and i really miss my Tivo
damianthehusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:18 PM   #1133
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by damianthehusky View Post
Ok so the 80Gb drive in my TCD649080 died the other day and i have a drive to replace it (200Gb drive) but i need an image for it. can anyone help me out? i'm pretty new to this stuff and i really miss my Tivo

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...95#post9408695
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:49 PM   #1134
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
Thanks so much for everyone's help! It worked perfectly!
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:49 PM   #1135
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
So it is a good idea to make images of your HD when you first get your Tivo?
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:28 AM   #1136
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM3MD157 View Post
So it is a good idea to make images of your HD when you first get your Tivo?
Yes. It's always good practice to make backups of your important software.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:56 PM   #1137
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaCat3 View Post
Looking for TCD540140 image for a 140gb series 2. Thanks!
I sent you a PM with a link to a TCD540 image. It is from a 40GB drive but the SW should be the same.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:33 PM   #1138
mlippert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 54
Hi just wanted to say thanks for the image. I'm going to try using it this weekend. I'd be happy to get a dropbox referral, but I don't have 10 posts yet (this is post #6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If you use WinMFS, I think this will work.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49887720/658000.tbk

If you let me refer you to get a dropbox account, we both get extra free space.

email or PM me for the referral

mlippert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 12:42 AM   #1139
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlippert View Post
Hi just wanted to say thanks for the image. I'm going to try using it this weekend. I'd be happy to get a dropbox referral, but I don't have 10 posts yet (this is post #6)
Click on my username and you should be able to email me through this site, or if you're smarter than a spambot you can just email me directly at myusername at coastalnet dot com
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:59 PM   #1140
DM3MD157
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
I am having problems with my Toshiba Series 2 SD-H400. I think it may be hardware related, however I would like to try and re-image the drive to be sure. Does anyone have that image? TIA.
DM3MD157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |