TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 11:38 PM   #1
FanCarolina
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Toshiba SD-H400

I recently decided to upgrade the hard drive in my aging Toshiba SD-H400. I've imaged a new drive using Instant Cake for my device. No issues there.

Previously when using the TiVo I used my TiVo Plus trial and was able to switch the Now Playing list into a folder view that put each show in a separate folder. When I returned to TiVo Basic mode the folders remained. Now that I have reimaged a new drive I've lost the folders. Is there any way to change the Now Playing List view without signing up for TiVo Plus for a month?

Another option I'd considered is cloning my original TiVo drive with a tool like Clonezilla then extending the partition out to fill the new bigger drive. Having not carefully examined the drive with a partition tool I don't even know what kind of partitions TiVo's use, are they standard FAT32 or ext3. Are their any other strange things I should look out for. Ie: bootloader, or MRB settings. Has anyone cloned an existing drive, would it work?

Last edited by FanCarolina : 11-30-2012 at 12:02 AM.
FanCarolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:52 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,805
Tivo basic service is basically the guide data and nothing else. Tivo service for most other Tivo includes everything including streaming and transfers of recordings.

Tivo uses something like APM (apple partition mapping) and not anything like what's on a Windows or MAC drive. Using those tools from a windows or MAC system will not work.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:42 PM   #3
FanCarolina
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Fixed

I was able to clone my original TiVo drive using MFSLive and it gave me back the settings I wanted.
FanCarolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |