TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 06:36 PM   #1
Evilmumrah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 79
HP MediaSmart remote code

I have an HP MediaSmart TV. There is a remote code for it that works for on-off, volume, etc. My problem is with the input button. The code works to get to the input screen but I can't get it to change the selection. I need to be able to go up or down on the input screen but can't. Am I stuck with two remotes here?
Evilmumrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:38 PM   #2
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
If you press the input button again, it doesn't cycle through the inputs?
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:43 PM   #3
Evilmumrah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 79
No. I have a little screen on the left side of the screen that shows all the inputs on a list so that I need to be able to scroll up and down.
Evilmumrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:18 PM   #4
Evilmumrah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 79
No. As I say, I can get the input button to give me the input menu but the directional keys don't work. They just do stuff on the TiVo screen. About the code search -- when do I do that? At the remote screen after I have selected the HP as my TV?
Evilmumrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:58 PM   #5
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,195
What you need is an old Directv tivo remote, instead a dvr1/dvr2 switch, it has dvr/tv switch. in the tv position, the cursor keys control the tv menu. But then it might not have proper code, since last directv remote dates to 2006.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:49 PM   #6
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivosupport_jacob View Post
Evilmumrah,

You're programming the remote to control the Television Set, the TiVo box has nothing to do with it.

Since you are programming only the remote the entire time, it doesn't matter where you are in the TiVo menu(s) when you enter this; you can even be in Live TV, TiVo Central, settings - it doesn't matter.

Does that make sense?

Thanks!
The reason the OP mentioned the tivo menu, he needs more then just the tv input key to navigate the tv input screen displayed on his tv screen, but cursor keys only control tivo. And not the tv. Does that make sense?
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:08 PM   #7
Evilmumrah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivosupport_jacob View Post
Evilmumrah,

You're programming the remote to control the Television Set, the TiVo box has nothing to do with it.

Since you are programming only the remote the entire time, it doesn't matter where you are in the TiVo menu(s) when you enter this; you can even be in Live TV, TiVo Central, settings - it doesn't matter.

Does that make sense?

Thanks!
Yes, that makes perfect sense. Thank you.
Evilmumrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |