TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2010, 01:02 PM   #451
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Diablo View Post
whens the next software update gonna drop?

I'v about had it if the tivo won't operate as intended

sadly the month fee still has it be paid, for crappy service
No crystal ball here, so no idea when the next update will be. They usually have a fall update, but who knows?

What's your Series3 doing or not doing? Ours is working fine.

To answer your signature question...we have both. I pre-ordered the Premiere XL so have had it since day one. I still really like our Series3. So far I'm a bit disappointed in the Premiere XL. It is nice, a little more compact and has a few more bells and whistles but even though they've improved it since it was released the HD UI is still too slow for me so I run the SD menus. So for all intents it works the same as our Series3. I truly hope the Premieres will offer bigger, better, faster options in the future, but for now I'd stick with your Series3...providing it's working as it should.
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 02:00 PM   #452
keenanSR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 391
Only my guess, but given that the platform is over 4 years old, and the new Premier line has been released, I wouldn't expect too many more updates, maybe some small behind the scenes fixes, but certainly not anything new feature-wise. It is what it is, use it until it breaks.
keenanSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 08:35 PM   #453
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Diablo View Post
whens the next software update gonna drop?
The latest software version for the Series3/TiVo HD boxes is 11.0h which came out a few weeks ago. It enabled USB keyboard (and thus support for the new Slide remote).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis
S/old: 746~Premiere, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 08:20 AM   #454
bicker
Gruff
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 9,064
Uh, roll back a second... I can plug a keyboard into my S3 now?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 08:38 AM   #455
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,199
Yep.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis
S/old: 746~Premiere, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:06 AM   #456
mercurial
Retro-Av
 
mercurial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Caraleigh, NC
Posts: 17,164
Yeah, I've had a KVM and wireless keyboard in two of my A/V racks (for the 360, PS3, Wii) for ages and it was useless for the S3's and NOW when I'm about to switch back to DTV, they finally support it. What next? The ability to recognize a UPS I've asked for on every survey?
__________________
"WAFFLES!!!" - Hiro Nakamura
mercurial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:11 AM   #457
bicker
Gruff
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 9,064
Super!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 10:15 AM   #458
Darr247
Registered User
 
Darr247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
I'm not especially surprised that the 'official' links in the first post in this thread all point to information no longer available on Tivo's site, since that post is over 4 years old.

But when deciding on my first tivo about a year ago (ended up with a Series2+LPS for $200), I made use of the comparison charts that appear to be no longer available there.

Did anyone happen to save a copy of those matrices?

I'm especially interested in the features of the various S3 models.
e.g. was the TCD648xxx the only model ever THX certified?


Thanks!
Darr247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 05:55 PM   #459
richsadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darr247 View Post
I'm not especially surprised that the 'official' links in the first post in this thread all point to information no longer available on Tivo's site, since that post is over 4 years old.

But when deciding on my first tivo about a year ago (ended up with a Series2+LPS for $200), I made use of the comparison charts that appear to be no longer available there.

Did anyone happen to save a copy of those matrices?

I'm especially interested in the features of the various S3 models.
e.g. was the TCD648xxx the only model ever THX certified?


Thanks!
I don't have the comparison chart, but maybe this is what you're looking for...

http://www.engadgethd.com/2007/10/23...hd-vs-series3/

To answer your question, these three TiVo models were/are all THX Certified.

- TiVo Series3 (Original hi-def TiVo)
- TiVo HDXL
- TiVo Premiere XL (Series4)

You could also Check out this thread for more details about TiVo HD's:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...01#post5351201

Check out this post for spec comparisons between the Series3 and the Tivo HD.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...37#post5353037

This post has all of the details about the TiVo Premiere:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=444083

Hope that helps!
richsadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:06 AM   #460
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 65,928
TC CLUB MEMBER
Uh... huh?



__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |