TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
Cnewt15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Bad HD

I have a Hughes HDVR2 for Directv that I have been using for a long time. I have already replaced the hd one time a few years back. My question is, the box keeps restarting 3 or 4 times a day. I have cleared all thumbs ratings, and the last time it restarted it got to 9% then stopped, but I could still access the menu using the Dtv button on the remote. I am assuming I have a bad hard drive again. The problem I am having is locating the image to put on a spare drive I have. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Cnewt15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:09 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cnewt15 View Post
I have a Hughes HDVR2 for Directv that I have been using for a long time. I have already replaced the hd one time a few years back. My question is, the box keeps restarting 3 or 4 times a day. I have cleared all thumbs ratings, and the last time it restarted it got to 9% then stopped, but I could still access the menu using the Dtv button on the remote. I am assuming I have a bad hard drive again. The problem I am having is locating the image to put on a spare drive I have. Does anyone have any suggestions?
I suggest you eliminate any problem with the power supply as a cause or contributor.

As should anyone having problems with an S2 or S3.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:11 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cnewt15 View Post
I have a Hughes HDVR2 for Directv that I have been using for a long time. I have already replaced the hd one time a few years back. My question is, the box keeps restarting 3 or 4 times a day. I have cleared all thumbs ratings, and the last time it restarted it got to 9% then stopped, but I could still access the menu using the Dtv button on the remote. I am assuming I have a bad hard drive again. The problem I am having is locating the image to put on a spare drive I have. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Further suggestion, pull the hard drive, hook it to a PC, and run the drive manufacturer's diagnostic long test on it.

(unless you have a GigaByte brand motherboard in that PC)
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:25 AM   #4
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
The reboots are probably not a hardware problem. Read this thread. Hundreds of DirecTiVo users are affected.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:42 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,542
Even if it is DirecTV screwing around with him, that thing's still old enough it's a good idea to check the power supply and the drive.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:04 PM   #6
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
True.

There are dozens of people who told me they are still running the original drives in their ancient Series2 DirecTiVo boxes. But the 150+ people that have bought replacement drives from me for those boxes would seem to indicate that hard drives don't last forever...
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:59 AM   #7
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
But the 150+ people that have bought replacement drives from me for those boxes would seem to indicate that hard drives don't last forever...
They don't?!?!?


lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |