TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 09:07 PM   #391
SouthTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The South
Posts: 30
The 9:58 reboot made it all the way to 97% detecting Satellites and rebooted again.

As of now, that second reboot has finally finished and the TV is back. For now.
__________________
After 12 years, left DirecTV for Dish Hopper W/Sling and Joey in 2013.
Former DirecTivo equipment:
SDDVR-40 @ 884+hrs
R10 at 300hrs
R10 at 500hrs
HR10-250 at 300hrs
SouthTivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:08 PM   #392
biker
Outlaw
 
biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlantic County, NJ
Posts: 1,180
More reboots. This is getting old.
__________________
Born To be a Wild!
biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:09 PM   #393
vanzalone
Tivo weenie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21
Wow, I got that 8:58pm MNF reboot too! With 15 seconds left in the half.
vanzalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:18 PM   #394
wbgolfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 32
Random ?? Reboot 9:58 PM EST Don't Think So !

Both my series 2 TIVO DVR's rebooted at exactly 9:58 PM EST !!!

Take a minute and read the threads in front of this one -
Notice how many have rebooted at almost + - 9:58PM EST.

Simply cannot understand WHY Direct cannot figure this out !!!

They say they have their engineer's working on this - are these the same guys who work for AMTRACK ?????

Willing to betthat this will not be fixed until sometime next week -
Any takers ?

Last time it tookthe 6 weeks to fix the problem.
wbgolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:19 PM   #395
vigfoot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: litchfield, CT
Posts: 283
Jesus. 2 reboots last 20 mins. Probably 5 so far today.
__________________
hughes dvr 80 stock (HDD died 5/09)
phillips 708 stock
samsung 4040 stock (mothballed) Back in service 5/09!
phillips 7000 stock (mothballed)


vigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:25 PM   #396
moonchilddave
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 44
Yep, I got the 9:58pm reboot as well. And just now at 10:28.
moonchilddave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:26 PM   #397
satpro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
There are region uplink centers for the locals and so I think people that get their locals through the same uplink sites may be getting the data error and crash at the same times, then on the national channels we have also have seen that people that are on the same transponders are seeing the problem at the same times, and I think whatever is triggering all this just keeps repeating from one transponder to the next, then it starts all over again. They need to stop broadcasting this trigger or tell the tivo to ignore it, its looks like they are opting for the latter as a solution, which is going to take a long time to perfect, roll out, and implement. And that is entirely unacceptable as a solution since has now been 12 days.

This is like some cruel joke now, day 13 and 13 reboots to come I am afraid.

Get ready to protest the charges because they are not promising any programming refund.
satpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:26 PM   #398
warnmar10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDUSER View Post
Maybe we should call them every time we reboot....
Jam their phonelines up....
They claim ~30 million customers. I suspect we represent an insignificant subset of the 30mil. Even if we could jamb their lines for a couple of minutes it wouldn't make ripple in their pond.
warnmar10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:28 PM   #399
biker
Outlaw
 
biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlantic County, NJ
Posts: 1,180
Another reboot.
__________________
Born To be a Wild!
biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #400
Lucymort
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Yet another reboot. Almost made it half an hour without one.
Lucymort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #401
vanzalone
Tivo weenie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21
30 minutes later 10:28 and another reset on MNF with Bears driving....
vanzalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #402
newswatcher
Registered User
 
newswatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 381
I just spoke with DTV CSR, then Tech, who suggested "if you want to cancel we can take care of that for you." The she forwarded me to Retention who basically had nothing new to say. (Oops, just rebooted again, third time in last hour, missing the game). Hatred is growing.
__________________
Me and Jerry. Oh, those were the days...

Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (1TB Upgrade) living room)
Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (bedroom)
newswatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #403
ayouch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
10:28 p.m. EST - all three rebooted again. One was watching a recorded show. One was watching FoxNews. One was off but set to ABC.
ayouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #404
lmv
Registered User
 
lmv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 18
Sent the following to DTV just now...
------------------------
my reset log
6 times today....
11/19 6:35am on local 9 and MSNBC finished 6:45
11/19 6:49am
11/19 2p
11/19 4:20p
11/19 6:13p
11/19 7:58p
This is ridiculous!
And no response from the email I sent this morning...
So your message is ... we don't care take your business elsewhere.
--------------------
and as I post this guess what 8:28p another reset... Colorado
8:58p another one
9:28

Last edited by lmv : 11-19-2012 at 10:38 PM.
lmv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:30 PM   #405
vigfoot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: litchfield, CT
Posts: 283
less than 10 mins and another reboot!
__________________
hughes dvr 80 stock (HDD died 5/09)
phillips 708 stock
samsung 4040 stock (mothballed) Back in service 5/09!
phillips 7000 stock (mothballed)


vigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:30 PM   #406
gsjenkins
Registered User
 
gsjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Oak, Texas
Posts: 37
Reboot. I turned off the multi-switch to watch some stuff I had recorded and had no reboots while watching. Plugged multi-switch back in 3 minutes before Castle started. Thirty seconds after plugging in multi-switch, unit rebooted. Now the wife is mad about missing the first seven minutes of Castle. Two units rebooted together. Last straw. I called DTV and talked to Jo at customer service. She was aware of the problems and said engineering was working on a solution. She also said she was unaware of the problem until today, and had received numerous calls today. She said my units hadn't called in since 2008 and would need to call in to get a fix for them. I said they hadn't been broken since 2008 and that if they could be broken via the data stream they could be fixed via the data stream. No comment. She noted on my account that there were no restarts as long as I had the multi-switch unplugged and restarted nearly right away after reconnecting to the satellite.

I asked for some sort of credit and she didn't want to talk about any credit of any kind. She just apologized for the inconvenience. REALLY? I pay for a service that I am currently not receiving in a usable manner. She was nice but that was it. She offered two or three times to upgrade my equipment and that I wouldn't be having these problems with new HD units. No deal. I think I will write to the customer advocate team now.

Arrrgh.... Third reboot in 30 minutes as I write this.

I'm getting sick of this...
__________________
Stewart...

HDVR2 40 hours
Samsung SIR-S4080R 216 hours
Philips DSR7000 176 hours
gsjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:30 PM   #407
jdrod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Reboot #2 this evening just started at 10:28PM while still watching MNF. Fortunately, we have an unaffected DTV DVR POC in the bedroom, so I guess I'll finish the game up stairs. I'm about to swap out the two units though, putting the DTV unit in the family room just so we don't have to deal with this crap right now.
jdrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #408
draiyne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
9:28 pm central - all 4 restarting at the same time again.

The first time all 4 went at the same time it was 3 hours between the next restart. Only 30 minutes between this latest restart and the last.
draiyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #409
HDUSER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by warnmar10 View Post
They claim ~30 million customers. I suspect we represent an insignificant subset of the 30mil. Even if we could jamb their lines for a couple of minutes it wouldn't make ripple in their pond.
Maybe not. But if they have to bring more people on, it would cost them a little bit... also increasing the wait time for the "valuable" other customers...

I'm tired of waiting, and I don't think they have any initiative to fix it. They are getting money from upgrades, and contract extensions....

Last edited by HDUSER : 11-19-2012 at 09:31 PM. Reason: spelling
HDUSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:32 PM   #410
SouthTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The South
Posts: 30
10:29PM, again.
__________________
After 12 years, left DirecTV for Dish Hopper W/Sling and Joey in 2013.
Former DirecTivo equipment:
SDDVR-40 @ 884+hrs
R10 at 300hrs
R10 at 500hrs
HR10-250 at 300hrs
SouthTivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:34 PM   #411
ralfsmouse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Many reboots still.
ralfsmouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:34 PM   #412
newswatcher
Registered User
 
newswatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 381
Yet another reboot at 7:33pm PST. Think I'll listen to the game on radio (remember those days?)...4th reboot in 1-hour!!
__________________
Me and Jerry. Oh, those were the days...

Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (1TB Upgrade) living room)
Hughes SD-DVR40 v6.4a (bedroom)
newswatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:35 PM   #413
Vodo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Third reboot in the last half hour at 10:32 EST.
Vodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:35 PM   #414
flagmaster1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Something usefull for HR10-250 users that are rebooting.

Im sorry this will only apply to those who have HR10-250 units. But I have a temp fix in place that seesm to allow the unit to work perfectly during this mess with the data stream. There a couple of catches howerver...

Step 1: reboot your tv with the power cord.
Step 2: Wait for it get all its guild data.
Step 3: wait for it to index most of it. (about 3 hours on mine)
Step 4: disconnect the SAT1 and SAT2 cables. Leave the UFH-OTA connecetd.

Your tivo will longer suffer the rebooting problem.

You tv shows recorded in HDTV over the OTA port will record just fine.

You WONT be able record or view SAT channels like this.

After a few days (maybe a week) you will need to hook them back up and repeat this procedure to fill the guide data back up.


Since I only use this tivo for OTA HD recordings, this fix works painless for me.
flagmaster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:38 PM   #415
DougF
Registered User
 
DougF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 13,590
Four units currently in service. One HDVR2 and three HR10-250s. All currently in repeated reboot mode and completely unuseable. Calling DirecTV in the morning about new equipment. I've never received any equipment from them, I've bought all my own receivers and DVRs since I joined in 1998. Hoping that will give me some leverage. If not, guess I'll finally jump to Dish.
DougF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:39 PM   #416
cutt
lurker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 24
I just pulled the power plug on mine; from past experience, this can be destructive to let it reboot continuously. will check back here for a fix. at least I have alternatives.

dtv, this is very amateurish, you would think after all these years you would have learned to deploy updates in a more professional manner.
cutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:39 PM   #417
Vodo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
I give up for tonight. They win. Switching over to my Roku and watching Netflix or Amazon Prime.
Vodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:39 PM   #418
moonchilddave
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 44
Personally, I think that they should replace the CEO's units (assuming he doesn't have Comcast or Fios) with older DirecTiVo units and then see how fast this gets fixed.
moonchilddave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:42 PM   #419
madddmaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
same thing here. dont know the gen, im guessing a 1 (hughes sd dvr-40) Ive had 3 over the last 10 or 12 years since the ultimate tv died. Never seen anything like this and ive been a directv customer since '94. Could give up and call dish but i here they suk too. Oh yea, and just came off the reboot ffor the 4th time tonight since ive been home.
madddmaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:42 PM   #420
sastanley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
+1 on the 10:28PM EST reboot (after the 9:58 reboot).

As a sys admin/programmer/tech guy I can see the tech staff pulling their hair out, so I have just a little sympathy for the guys working the problem. The other problem is that with a BIG organization like DirecTV, they shouldn't have these issues on this scale.

One thing they could do is to stop supporting service for older hardware and only support their new stuff...it costs money to test the older equipment prior to roll out (don't throw stones at me..I have a single R10 TiVo so I'm with you guys!! I feel sorry for the little techie trying to dig thru mounds of code looking for the issue.)

It is all a game of money & profit...how many man-hours are they willing to spend to make sure every piece of hardware they support will work when they change something without us complaining too much?

On the other hand, I pay a monthly fee just like everyone else, and I expect my equipment to work.

Last edited by sastanley : 11-19-2012 at 09:49 PM.
sastanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |