TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 03:20 PM   #1
toddspch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Tivo Fall 12 Update - New Sounds

Anyone else mildly "annoyed" by the addition of a tivo sound effect when changing channels now? Wish there was a setting to turn this off (without turning off all the very useful sound effects).
toddspch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:21 PM   #2
jjd_87
Registered User
 
jjd_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddspch View Post
Anyone else mildly "annoyed" by the addition of a tivo sound effect when changing channels now? Wish there was a setting to turn this off (without turning off all the very useful sound effects).
Yeah I noticed that too. It is very annoying.
jjd_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:24 PM   #3
toddspch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Any way to get rid of it?
toddspch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:51 PM   #4
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
I noticed it and turned the sounds off. It's just too much.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:58 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddspch View Post
Anyone else mildly "annoyed" by the addition of a tivo sound effect when changing channels now? Wish there was a setting to turn this off (without turning off all the very useful sound effects).
I don't have that issue here since every channel has DD audio. With DD there are no sound effects.

But that seems like a very weird choice to have a sound effect every time the channel is changed.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:24 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
Channel changes can be slow, so the sound alerts the user that the TiVo is working on changing it. Makes sense to me.

Then again I don't watch live TV ever, so I'd never notice it anyway.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:22 PM   #7
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,522
wow, someone annoyed by new sound effects, but NOT the rest of the annoying sound effects? (After the initial setup, the first thing I do is turn off the sound effects.. Heck, if it let me turn them off during guided setup, it might literally be the first thing I do!)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:25 AM   #8
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
wow, someone annoyed by new sound effects, but NOT the rest of the annoying sound effects? (After the initial setup, the first thing I do is turn off the sound effects.. Heck, if it let me turn them off during guided setup, it might literally be the first thing I do!)
Really now?
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:51 PM   #9
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
I also turn off sound effects on all my tivos my wife and i hate the sounds. and we have owened 8 tivos ,currently down to 2 tivos .
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:51 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
I like the sounds. However I always set them to Low since they are a bit too loud on the other settings. I'm actually kind of disappointed TiVo can't render them when the source audio is 5.1. I miss the doop, doop doop when FFing.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:58 PM   #11
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
wow, someone annoyed by new sound effects, but NOT the rest of the annoying sound effects? (After the initial setup, the first thing I do is turn off the sound effects.. Heck, if it let me turn them off during guided setup, it might literally be the first thing I do!)
I agree 100% with Dan. The sound effects let the user know his request has been accepted. There is nothing worse than waiting for an action to complete when one has no idea whether the request has even been received. When the batteries on the remote are gettting a little low, not having the sound effects would drive me insane. When the batteries are low, but nowhere near dead, under heavy use every fourth or fifth button press can be lost.

I also agree I would never notice a sound on channel changes. I haven't changed the channel more than 4 or 5 times in the last 12 years.

Last edited by lrhorer : 11-13-2012 at 03:10 PM.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:59 PM   #12
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I like the sounds. However I always set them to Low since they are a bit too loud on the other settings. I'm actually kind of disappointed TiVo can't render them when the source audio is 5.1. I miss the doop, doop doop when FFing.
Hmm. I never noticed that one. I only rarely use FF.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:21 PM   #13
toddspch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
All this sounds great for those of you who have the sounds turned off or never change channels, but just talk to people in the TV advertising industry -- there are still many of us out there who "graze" and channel changing is part of that equation. The fact that the channel changing is "slow" as Dan put it, is a problem in itself, but hearing the sound on each channel is just not necessary. (I wonder if the folks at Tivo thought this was an enhancement since we didn't seem to miss it for the last 12 years as multiple Tivo user.)
toddspch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:24 PM   #14
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,005
wait, you can watch live TV on a Tivo?
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:43 PM   #15
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
wait, you can watch live TV on a Tivo?
Technically no, you can't.

"Live" TV is delayed several milliseconds from being recorded to/retrieved from the hard drive.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:51 PM   #16
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddspch View Post
The fact that the channel changing is "slow" as Dan put it, is a problem in itself
This is the nature of digital TV. With MPEG-2 encoding, and even more so with MPEG-4/H.264 encoding, it can take a 1/2 second or so for the stream to hit a sync point where the device can even start to decode the video. Add in the slight lag TiVo has due to the way it buffers all video to the disc and you've got a 1+ second delay for each channel change.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #17
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
wait, you can watch live TV on a Tivo?
Not if it is recording on all tuners. A rare occurrence, indeed, for that not to be the case.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:01 PM   #18
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Technically no, you can't.

"Live" TV is delayed several milliseconds from being recorded to/retrieved from the hard drive.
It's delayed a lot longer than that. It varies by model, but it's about two seconds.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:04 PM   #19
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Not if it is recording on all tuners. A rare occurrence, indeed, for that not to be the case.
Really? you can't watch "live" tv as it's being recorded? when did tivo make that change?
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:08 PM   #20
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
I agree 100% with Dan. The sound effects let the user know his request has been accepted. There is nothing worse than waiting for an action to complete when one has no idea whether the request has even been received.
The yellow light blinking on the TiVo shows me that the request has been received.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:17 AM   #21
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
It's delayed a lot longer than that. It varies by model, but it's about two seconds.
I thought as much, but I figured I would err on the side of caution with my numbers.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:33 AM   #22
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I like the sounds. However I always set them to Low since they are a bit too loud on the other settings. I'm actually kind of disappointed TiVo can't render them when the source audio is 5.1. I miss the doop, doop doop when FFing.

Dan
It doesn't have to be 5.1, just Dolby Digital. All my SD channels are in DD 2.0(I guess some of the SD premiums are in 5.1 though), and there are some HD channels in DD 2.0 also. I get no sound effects whether DD 1.0, DD 1.1, DD 2.0......DD 5.0, DD 5.1, and all the choices in between.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:06 AM   #23
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
Really? you can't watch "live" tv as it's being recorded? when did tivo make that change?
I don't think most people would include that in the definition of "live TV". The term suggests the ability to surf. I would say that is, "Watching something as it is being recorded", not "live".
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:13 PM   #24
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,005
sorry, my /sarcasm tag wasn't included
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 12:41 PM   #25
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
The yellow light blinking on the TiVo shows me that the request has been received.
1. None of my TiVos are visible when I am watching TV. Even if they were, I would not be looking at them when I press a button.

2. The yellow light does not necessarily mean the command has been properly processed. For example, the light will flash when one gets a Bonk! response. It also does so when the Tivo receives a garbled or unknown signal.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |