TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2012, 10:39 PM   #1051
sigocpt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Any advice on finding an image for a TCD230040? My hard drive quit after 10 years. I got a replacement hard drive (same make and model - 40 GB) but the original drive is unusable.

Any help would be appreciated.
sigocpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:17 AM   #1052
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigocpt View Post
Any advice on finding an image for a TCD230040? My hard drive quit after 10 years. I got a replacement hard drive (same make and model - 40 GB) but the original drive is unusable.

Any help would be appreciated.
You can try the TCD240040 image*, it might work.

If you go back through several hundred of user classicsat's posts you'll probably find one where he opined authoritatively on that subject.

I can't remember if the conflict is between the 30s and 40s, or between the 1s and 2s when it comes to TCDxxx

*unfortunately my 240 image

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...32#post8707432

is for an 80GB drive, and a Maxtor at that which was slightly bigger, LBA number-wise, than contemporary Seagates and WDs.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:37 AM   #1053
sigocpt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Maxtor Drive

Thanks for the advice.

What is the model number /specs of the Maxtor? I can check Ebay for a replacement. An 80Gb drive should not be that much.

Thanks again.
sigocpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:43 AM   #1054
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigocpt View Post
Thanks for the advice.

What is the model number /specs of the Maxtor? I can check Ebay for a replacement. An 80Gb drive should not be that much.

Thanks again.
Let me dig up what I can about 230/240 compatibility before I go trying to find which "used devices" pile on the bottom of which that drive wound up.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:08 AM   #1055
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Let me dig up what I can about 230/240 compatibility before I go trying to find which "used devices" pile on the bottom of which that drive wound up.
I think the only difference between the 230 and 240 was branding (AT&T vs TiVo). The 130 has front panel controls.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:46 AM   #1056
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Hey, sigocpt!


Okay, according to robomeister the TCD130xxx and the TCD230xxx use the same software.

The TCD140xxx and TCD2400xxx use the same software which is different from the '30 software.

So it's the 30 or 40 that matters, not the 1 or 2.

See this post

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...85#post8759585

and try PM'ing him.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:41 PM   #1057
sigocpt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks

I will do just that. Thanks for the information.

Everyone in my house will be a bit happier
sigocpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:46 PM   #1058
sigocpt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Installation instructions

Which is better to use MFS or WinMFS?

Is there a thread with clear backup re-installation instructions?

Sigocpt
sigocpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:51 PM   #1059
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigocpt View Post
Which is better to use MFS or WinMFS?

Is there a thread with clear backup re-installation instructions?

Sigocpt
You can always go to mfslive.org and do a lot of reading like the rest of us did.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:51 PM   #1060
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
However, WinMFS pretty much automates the process.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:51 PM   #1061
sigocpt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
REading

I have plenty of time to read since my tivo has stopped working.

So, I will go there and do my research.
sigocpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:57 AM   #1062
zuma53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Any line on how I might get an image for a TDC540040?

Much appreciated and many thanks.
zuma53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 06:06 AM   #1063
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by zuma53 View Post
Any line on how I might get an image for a TDC540040?

Much appreciated and many thanks.
I was about to tell you to search this thread, but I just tried it myself and apparently there's an intermittent bug in the search engine.

So go here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...85#post9160085

and also read the post below it about how you can get both of us more free DropBox account space.

And go to

http://mfslive.org

and read 'til your eyeballs fall out.


(even if you decide to use WinMFS, you should still burn yourself a copy of the MFS Live cd to keep handy).
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:49 PM   #1064
TheMerk
Always Bid First
 
TheMerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
TCD652160 images.

For use with MFS Live

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49887720/652_gset.bak

For use with WinMFS

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49887720/652_gset.tbk
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Used the .tbk to bring my Series 3 back to life. Had the new SATA drive in a USB dock, connected to my Mac Mini. WinMFS running on WinXP within VMware Fusion.
__________________
Adam

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



TheMerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:49 AM   #1065
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMerk View Post
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Used the .tbk to bring my Series 3 back to life. Had the new SATA drive in a USB dock, connected to my Mac Mini. WinMFS running on WinXP within VMware Fusion.
My pleasure.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:23 AM   #1066
-pc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Good Day All,
I need a disk image for a Sony SVR-3000
(yes a SVR-3000, not a SVR-2000)
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
-pc
-pc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:16 AM   #1067
zonga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Hi Everyone,

I need an image for a TCD652160

thanks a lot

Marc
zonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:17 AM   #1068
zonga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Just saw the post above, downloading now

thanks everyone
zonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:37 PM   #1069
wongster12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Hello Tivo community!! I have a Tivo HD TCD652160 and wanted to request an image from anyone kind enough to pm me. Thanks in advance
wongster12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:51 PM   #1070
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by wongster12 View Post
Hello Tivo community!! I have a Tivo HD TCD652160 and wanted to request an image from anyone kind enough to pm me. Thanks in advance
I'm not going to bother to PM you to tell you to search this thread.

(go up a few comments)
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:02 PM   #1071
sproinky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Hello-

Any chance you still have this floating around? My TivoHD (TCD652160) just crapped out and I want to get it back in action with a truncated image of the software...any help you can provide would be great, thanks!

***FOUND IT, WHAT A GREAT COMMUNITY!***

Last edited by sproinky : 11-06-2012 at 02:07 PM. Reason: FOUND IT
sproinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 03:23 PM   #1072
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by sproinky View Post
Hello-

Any chance you still have this floating around? My TivoHD (TCD652160) just crapped out and I want to get it back in action with a truncated image of the software...any help you can provide would be great, thanks!

***FOUND IT, WHAT A GREAT COMMUNITY!***
If you don't have a free DropBox account, and you let me send you an invitation, and you use that to sign up for one, then we both get extra free space, which for me means more space for hosting TiVo images for different models, and for you, well, whatever you want to use the space for.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:00 PM   #1073
AviStetto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
I, too, am looking for a SVR-3000 image. Message me if you have one.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by -pc View Post
Good Day All,
I need a disk image for a Sony SVR-3000
(yes a SVR-3000, not a SVR-2000)
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
-pc

AviStetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:50 AM   #1074
halj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
TCD140060 image

I'm looking for a TCD140060 image. Any help in finding one would be greatly appreciated.
halj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:25 AM   #1075
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by halj View Post
I'm looking for a TCD140060 image. Any help in finding one would be greatly appreciated.
Wait about 2 hours to be sure this has uploaded and then try this:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/49887720/140_gset.tbk

It's for use with WinMFS.

If you have to have the regular .bak version for use with the MFS Live cd, let me know and I'll see if I can make one in a day or two.

And if you don't already have a free DropBox account, if you'll let me send you an invite, and use that to set one up, we both get extra free space, and you don't ever have to actually use the account if you don't want to.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:20 PM   #1076
halj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Wait about 2 hours to be sure this has uploaded and then try this:

It's for use with WinMFS.

If you have to have the regular .bak version for use with the MFS Live cd, let me know and I'll see if I can make one in a day or two.

And if you don't already have a free DropBox account, if you'll let me send you an invite, and use that to set one up, we both get extra free space, and you don't ever have to actually use the account if you don't want to.
Thats perfect! Thank you so much for the help.

I'd gladly accept a dropbox invitation, but I've already got an account. Sorry.
halj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:02 AM   #1077
billy_taylor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Wait about 2 hours to be sure this has uploaded and then try this:


It's for use with WinMFS.

If you have to have the regular .bak version for use with the MFS Live cd, let me know and I'll see if I can make one in a day or two.

And if you don't already have a free DropBox account, if you'll let me send you an invite, and use that to set one up, we both get extra free space, and you don't ever have to actually use the account if you don't want to.
This is good stuff. HAven't posted much, so can't PM or email you, but have some space on me. Pls send invite to <my forum handle> at hotmail dt com

cheers
billy_taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:58 AM   #1078
AviStetto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
I'm still looking for an image to get my SVR-3000 going again. Can anyone here help me out?
AviStetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:15 PM   #1079
rchassel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
TCD24004A Image

Can anyone direct me to an image for a TCD24004A for a 40GB drive?

Thanks so much!
rchassel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:18 PM   #1080
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by rchassel View Post
Can anyone direct me to an image for a TCD24004A for a 40GB drive?

Thanks so much!
You can try my 140 image, or you can get a bigger drive and try my 24008A image.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |