TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2012, 11:46 AM   #1
jreichjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Tivo Series 3 HD Terminates recordings early

Anyone have any ideas about a TIVO series 3 with a dual cable card that started to terminate programs very early? Running with Cox Cable in Phoenix.

After one to three minutes most of the new recordings that have been programmed will terminate early. Almost every time. One exception was a ball game that was set for 1 hour of overtime (4 hours total) and it terminated at
2 hours and 35 minutes.

Just prior to termination you usally see a short burst of digital screen garbage and then that is it.

I have an external 500gb drive along with the original 160gb internal that the DVR came with.

I was thinking of detaching the external drive to see if it is the external hard drive that is failing.

Thanks, JR
jreichjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:55 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,810
Try a reboot?
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:30 PM   #3
jreichjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Try a reboot?
Yep, did that twice over two days. Same thing.
Now, I disconnected my external 500gb Segate external drive this morning and so far no problems. I recorded 4 programs without any problems and have several more to go for the rest of this afternoon.

If the remaining day does not have any problems I will get a new ext drive.

Is there a set of tools for these drives that will mark bad sectors as non useable? Might be worth a try if the problem area is small.

Thanks for your help, JR
jreichjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:07 AM   #4
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,628
Yep, partial recordings are usually a drive or signal-level issue. You could use dd_rescue to scan/fix the drive (I think), ask in the drive upgrade thread in the Series3 forum.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:22 AM   #5
jreichjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Yep, partial recordings are usually a drive or signal-level issue. You could use dd_rescue to scan/fix the drive (I think), ask in the drive upgrade thread in the Series3 forum.
Thanks.
I just confirmed the external drive as the bad guy. Over 10 very complete shows from a 3 hour ball game to some 30 minute shows and not a single flicker or short recording.

I will check the upgrade thread for "rescue" info. However the external was almost 4 years old so if I find much in the way of bad sectors I won't bother with it. I may be able to use the drive on my other DVR which is a Cox Box.

The Tivo is over 4 years old so I need to backup up the internal drive or remove it for safe storage for a backup. So I ordered a 1gb from DVR_guy
and I will just install that internal and forget about the external drive on this box.

Thanks for all the help guys. This forum is awesome.

Cheers, JR
jreichjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:36 AM   #6
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreichjr View Post
I just confirmed the external drive as the bad guy.
It was always near the top of the list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jreichjr View Post
The Tivo is over 4 years old so I need to backup up the internal drive or remove it for safe storage for a backup.
That is my universal advice for new TiVos, or at the very least when the warranty has expired. You're fairly lucky, you know, for the drive to last 4 years?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jreichjr View Post
So I ordered a 1gb from DVR_guy and I will just install that internal and forget about the external drive on this box.
If you ask me, that is an excellent plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jreichjr View Post
This forum is awesome.

lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |