TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #1
Durkis007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Fall Update Coming....

Hey All....

Just noticed the priority list is back for the coming fall update.

www.tivo.com/priority

Figure I start a post where all the guesses and rumors can be in one place !

Last edited by Durkis007 : 10-16-2012 at 03:26 PM.
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
Balzer
Registered User
 
Balzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 135
Thumbs up

Yea.. just got the tweet from @tivodesign that the priority page is active, so I am signed up!
__________________
Jeff
"Proud Cord Cutter"

Roamio/Stream (Sep '13 - Present)
Premiere "B" (July '12 - Oct '13)
Premiere "A" (August '11 - Present)
TiVo HD (July '07 - July '12)
TiVo S1 (August '01 - July '07)
Balzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:44 PM   #3
dcborn61
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 146
Tweet reads as follows: Fall Update for TiVo Premiere DVRs includes HD My Shows (for networked DVRs), HD Season Pass Manager, and HD To Do List.
__________________
TiVo Premiere connected via MoCA to FiOS Actiontec router
dcborn61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
HockeyFan
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Durkis007 View Post
Hey All....

Just noticed the priority list is back for the coming fall update.

www.tivo.com/priority

Figure I start a post where all the guesses and rumors can be in one place !


Thanks! What is expected in fall updates?
I saw another thread but that had the spring info in it.
HockeyFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:53 PM   #5
Durkis007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcborn61 View Post
Tweet reads as follows: Fall Update for TiVo Premiere DVRs includes HD My Shows (for networked DVRs), HD Season Pass Manager, and HD To Do List.
Finally, I can pick and watch a show from the other tivo without it switching to the low def screen !
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:17 PM   #6
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcborn61 View Post
Tweet reads as follows: Fall Update for TiVo Premiere DVRs includes HD My Shows (for networked DVRs), HD Season Pass Manager, and HD To Do List.
so basically some of the screens will be in HD now? is that all?
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:25 PM   #7
Kingpcgeek
Couch Potato
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaldingclan View Post
so basically some of the screens will be in HD now? is that all?
Some of us are really hoping for updates for Mini support
Kingpcgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:26 PM   #8
Rebate_King
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 249
Do we know when rollout is to start?
Rebate_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:26 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Durkis007 View Post
Hey All....

Just noticed the priority list is back for the coming fall update.

www.tivo.com/priority

Figure I start a post where all the guesses and rumors can be in one place !
Sweet!!!! Thanks!!!!!
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:29 PM   #10
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaldingclan View Post
so basically some of the screens will be in HD now? is that all?
Those are probably some of the more noticeable changes. We also know there are some code updates for the Stream and to prepare for the Mini.

Tivo recently announced a DLNA initiative, so it'll be interesting to see if that is incorporated yet, or still down the road. The press release said, "The [DLNA] solution will ship in Q4 2012."
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:43 PM   #11
Kingpcgeek
Couch Potato
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebate_King View Post
Do we know when rollout is to start?
Spring update priority signup started on 4/4. Update rolled out 5/10. If they follow the same schedule this time plan on 4-5 weeks.
Kingpcgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:13 PM   #12
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebate_King View Post
Do we know when rollout is to start?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingpcgeek View Post
Spring update priority signup started on 4/4. Update rolled out 5/10. If they follow the same schedule this time plan on 4-5 weeks.
It's unlike Tivo to release anything after Thanksgiving, so I strongly suspect this will be coming pretty soon for priority signups and the phased rollout will be completed by then.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 10-16-2012 at 05:25 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:18 PM   #13
WVZR1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The WV Eastern Panhandle
Posts: 156
Amazing - managed to catch a 1st day "sign-up"! Great!

I don't get here frequently. My TiVo's just seem to do what I expected of them when I bought them - record and I watch at "my" convenience!!
WVZR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:39 PM   #14
NotNowChief
Addicted to TiVo
 
NotNowChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 283
Do they still do these updates on the older models boxes? I assume no, and we're just getting guide data. Which is OK, really.
__________________
Verizon FiOS
TiVo Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini TCDA92000 (Codename: UNICORN)
TiVo HDXL TCD658000
TiVo HD TCD652160 + WD 500GB Expander
Retired: Philips Series 1 HDR212 & TiVo Series 2 540080
NotNowChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:41 PM   #15
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNowChief View Post
Do they still do these updates on the older models boxes? I assume no, and we're just getting guide data. Which is OK, really.
This update will be for Premiere boxes. Older units haven't gotten any new updates is a couple years, sadly.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:05 PM   #16
NotNowChief
Addicted to TiVo
 
NotNowChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
This update will be for Premiere boxes. Older units haven't gotten any new updates is a couple years, sadly.
You know, I cant even complain about it. They work fine, and how much can you really expect out of old tech?
__________________
Verizon FiOS
TiVo Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini TCDA92000 (Codename: UNICORN)
TiVo HDXL TCD658000
TiVo HD TCD652160 + WD 500GB Expander
Retired: Philips Series 1 HDR212 & TiVo Series 2 540080
NotNowChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:06 PM   #17
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNowChief View Post
You know, I cant even complain about it. They work fine, and how much can you really expect out of old tech?
+100!! Finally someone who gets it!
BlackBetty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 03:47 AM   #18
jtmal0723
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsauken, New Jersey
Posts: 63
Quote:
Congratulations!
Your TiVo box will be updated within 3 days
of the Fall update becoming available.

NOTE: If your TiVo Premiere was provided by a cable company, you will receive the update on a different schedule.
NOTE: Once your box has installed the update, it may take up to 6 hours before the authorizations for Netflix and YouTube make it to the box. During those six hours, you will not be able to use those apps.
Within 3 days, what is the typical length? Within a day? I've never done a "priority" list before, so I'm ignorant on the ordeal. Also, I've never seen the authorizations ordeal either.
jtmal0723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 04:31 AM   #19
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmal0723 View Post
Within 3 days, what is the typical length? Within a day? I've never done a "priority" list before, so I'm ignorant on the ordeal. Also, I've never seen the authorizations ordeal either.
Usually within the first 2 days. It depends on 3 things: What time the box connects to the mothership, what time your box is officially provisioned to download the update, and what time the Tivo reboots to actually install the update.

For example -- The tivo automatically calls the mothership once a day. If it connects at 12 noon but isn't provisioned by the Tivo servers to get the software until 5pm later that day, then it missed its chance that day unless you manually force another connection after 5pm. Otherwise it will wait until the following day to download the software. (btw, I'm just using these made up times as an example.)

Then, once it's downloaded, by default the unit will reboot typically at 2am that night to install the software... unless you force a reboot sooner. So mathematically, that's where they come up with the 3 days. (1-2 days to download, then waiting until 2am to reboot and install.)

If you sign up on the priority list, the fastest way to get it is to force a connection once it's officially available (the folks here on the boards are very fast to announce it), then force a reboot once you get a "pending restart" message on the System Information or Settings > Network screen. This way you'll likely have it in a matter of hours of release.

Otherwise, if you just let the box do it on its own without forcing connections or reboots, it'll have it running anytime within those 3 days.

(* I'll go ahead and point out now that forcing connections will not speed up delivery of the software if your box is not yet provisioned to receive it. Most priority list signups are provisioned on the first day, but it's not a guarantee.)

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 10-17-2012 at 05:12 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 01:20 PM   #20
Rebate_King
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 249
Back in the day, the update would come out fairly soon after the priorty page went live.
Rebate_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 03:15 PM   #21
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 406
Would like Mini updates
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 10:43 AM   #22
jon96cobra
Registered User
 
jon96cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 73
Recently purchase XL4 I just signed up for the fall update.
__________________
Jon
Premiere XL4
Series 3
Series 3 with External 500gb
HL-S6187W Samsung DLP
jon96cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:03 AM   #23
Ziggy86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 799
When I enter my information it says
Page not found
Hmmm... Seems we couldn't find what you were looking for.

The page may have been removed, changed its name, or is temporarily unavailable.

Here are a few things you can try:

Make sure the page address in the address bar is spelled correctly (if you typed it, that is).Open the tivo.com homepage, and click on the links to the information you want.Or, you may find the page in one of the categories below:Sorry for the inconvenience.
Ziggy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:05 AM   #24
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,156
it still works for me.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:10 AM   #25
brentil
Registered User
 
brentil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 289
Woo-Hoo just signed up! I don't have multiple Premieres or a Stream but still hoping there will be some nice stuff for us. I'll try to remember to benchmark again prior to the update to get a fresh baseline.
__________________

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
brentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:22 AM   #26
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,263
Thank You!

Does anybody else have this happen - Each time I sign up on the priority list it takes one of them and then when I go to a new screen and input my other Tivo it says (something like - ) 'sorry, you are already signed up'. Does that mean that you just need to sign up one of your machines and it automatically signs up your entire account? (Both Premieres)
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:27 AM   #27
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkster View Post
Thank You!

Does anybody else have this happen - Each time I sign up on the priority list it takes one of them and then when I go to a new screen and input my other Tivo it says (something like - ) 'sorry, you are already signed up'. Does that mean that you just need to sign up one of your machines and it automatically signs up your entire account? (Both Premieres)
I believe others have stated you need to sign up each box. I can't say definitively one way or the other but it makes sense that each box is required.

Maybe try a different browser to add your second box? I signed up both my Premiere's without issue a few days ago.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:42 AM   #28
jtag48
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Looking forward to more HD menus
jtag48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:55 AM   #29
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,263
Thanks for that suggestion, Mrizzo.

I tried that and it still says that I'm already signed up on the other one. I even went so far as to go with a different browser AND a different computer.

No problem, I'm sure, as it seems that I always get the updates within a day or so of each other. I just don't understand why, when I sign up one, the other one always says 'already signed up'. weird
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:17 AM   #30
Balzer
Registered User
 
Balzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkster View Post
Thanks for that suggestion, Mrizzo.

I tried that and it still says that I'm already signed up on the other one. I even went so far as to go with a different browser AND a different computer.

No problem, I'm sure, as it seems that I always get the updates within a day or so of each other. I just don't understand why, when I sign up one, the other one always says 'already signed up'. weird
That is strange. I had to sign up both of my Premieres. I entered one, then went back and entered the second one.
__________________
Jeff
"Proud Cord Cutter"

Roamio/Stream (Sep '13 - Present)
Premiere "B" (July '12 - Oct '13)
Premiere "A" (August '11 - Present)
TiVo HD (July '07 - July '12)
TiVo S1 (August '01 - July '07)
Balzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |