TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2012, 10:29 AM   #1
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,266
TiVo Service outage?

I'm at work and I went to use the iOS app in away mode and it won't let me log in. I tried checking the TiVo.com web site and it won't load most of the time (when it does, I can't get to my account or my TiVo). I tried Slingboxing into my TiVo at home and it's reporting N33 errors.

All things point to a network/service outage at TiVo? Anyone else seeing the same thing?
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:32 AM   #2
Ron88keys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1
I'm in Tennessee and seeing the same thing. I downloaded a show from my Tivo to my Macbook before I went to bed last night, so I thought I had messed up my wireless connection last night during the download, but everything else except Tivo and tivo.com are fine.
Ron88keys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
jitteryjewel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Thumbs down Out in Kansas

No service here in Kansas either. Tried all trouble shooting options and nothing. Website error and no network connection.
jitteryjewel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:46 AM   #4
01dyna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
I'm in Va and having the same problem since a little after 10am this morning. Tivo.com's site is also down. All other sites are accessible so it's definately Tivo that seems to be out.

They need to have a method of notification so we don't waste a lot of time doing needless troubleshooting. Possibly an alternative off-site website that can post updates/notifications.
01dyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:58 AM   #5
tivoknucklehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 621
same in Florida all morning and still down
tivoknucklehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:29 AM   #6
mypape
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Same thing here. I just spent the last 3 hours troubleshooting the cat5 I ran to the tivo last night
mypape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:38 AM   #7
01dyna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
tivo.com still down at 12:37 EDT....at least two hours. Poss longer. First noticed it was down around 10:15-10:30 EDT this morning.
01dyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:51 AM   #8
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 894
Yup!
Down here on the West Coast.

New members:
Please include the city and state in your profile
it can prove useful for troubleshooting various problems.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:55 AM   #9
WSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 28
Down in Austin Texas.
WSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:57 AM   #10
jtmal0723
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsauken, New Jersey
Posts: 63
TiVo is down in New Jersey as well. Calling the TiVo Customer Supprot number states one of their call centers is out and call times are longer than 20 minutes, most likely due to customers calling to complain. I have Error N33 and the connection status says "Failed/Service not found." It will keep trying approx every 45 minutes. Reference the attached image.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tivodown.jpg (49.1 KB, 41 views)
jtmal0723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:58 AM   #11
mypape
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
I chatted with support and they denied the service being down and told me it was my network. There is defiantly something up. Maybe something to do with the DEV sdk they opened up recently.
mypape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 11:58 AM   #12
ronaldheft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 21
Down for me in Allentown, PA.
ronaldheft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:00 PM   #13
Kingpcgeek
Couch Potato
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 55
Down in AZ
Kingpcgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:16 PM   #14
wrecklass
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Down in CO, but I think at this point we can say it is down across the country. No connection to tivo.com seems to mean no TiVo service in general.

Keep expecting some news somewhere to tell us what is happening. They apparently went down hard given the lack of news.
wrecklass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:17 PM   #15
the_Skywise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 60
I was able to get onto the website around 9:30am EDT and it died just around that time.
the_Skywise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:20 PM   #16
wrecklass
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mypape View Post
I chatted with support and they denied the service being down and told me it was my network. There is defiantly something up. Maybe something to do with the DEV sdk they opened up recently.
That's not a good sign. When people across the country report the problem and the CSR folks say it is up, one wonders if they are not aware of the problem and therefore have nobody working on t.
wrecklass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:24 PM   #17
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,266
Margret tweeted a response to me that the service is down and they are working on it.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:27 PM   #18
Embowe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
Another user reporting an outage in South New Jersey @ 1:27 est... Website as well..
Embowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:27 PM   #19
mlvnsmly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4
And to make matters worse (not to get everyone in a frenzy), it looks like Comcast launched VOD service in some new areas today. Before you ask, all I remember seeing is Pittsburgh. I did see the vod icon on my tivo, but by that time, service was down
mlvnsmly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:28 PM   #20
macsaintus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
tivo out in Cleveland too

Northeast Ohio had sporadic power outages beginning Sunday night: Time Warner bundle of internet, phone and cable all out through morning. Cable, phone and internet now back but can't link to TiVo. Just getting N33 message. Guess will wait and see.
macsaintus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:30 PM   #21
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlvnsmly View Post
And to make matters worse (not to get everyone in a frenzy), it looks like Comcast launched VOD service in some new areas today. Before you ask, all I remember seeing is Pittsburgh. I did see the vod icon on my tivo, but by that time, service was down
I'm pretty sure it's not related. VOD became available for me on Friday (and it worked).

Currently all my services under "Find Shows" disappeared, including Xfinity, which is odd since On Demand doesn't even go through TiVo.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:33 PM   #22
mlvnsmly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4
didn't mean to imply that it was related, just saw some additional areas on the tivo site before it went down. I didn't see any mention of them elsewhere on here and assumed they went live today.
mlvnsmly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:49 PM   #23
lttu-1212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6
Tivo service is back

No more N33 error on my premiere
but
from pc still cannot connect or ping tivo.com

Long Island, NY
lttu-1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:51 PM   #24
shadowless127
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Also out in Long Island.
shadowless127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:01 PM   #25
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,419
I got a normal response a little early and figured it was back up for everyone. Now I'm getting nothing.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:02 PM   #26
01dyna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
well the N33 error is gone in No. Va but tivo.com is still down. Also, when I tried to download a movie from amazon.com, it got all the way to the order page and it errored out with a network error. So it looks like they've got some of the servers back up but not all of them. Being a network guy myself, it sounds like it is/was a DNS issue and if that's the case, it may take a couple more hours for the DNS entries to propagate and stabilize. just speculatin'

With all the hacker attacks in the news, may be a hack attack or if they're going through GoDaddy.com, they were up and down the past couple of days.

Hopefully, Tivo will update us either way.
01dyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:08 PM   #27
lttu-1212
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6
Of interest... Tivo iPad app during Tivo N33 error

During the time our premiere Tivo s had the N33 error we could see them from the iPad Tivo app but could not connect.

Even tried power cycle on the iPad.

So apparently to use the Tivo iPad app at home over local Wi-Fi the Tivo Premiere must have access to the Tivo service.
lttu-1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:15 PM   #28
wrecklass
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by lttu-1212 View Post
So apparently to use the Tivo iPad app at home over local Wi-Fi the Tivo Premiere must have access to the Tivo service.
One of the many things that I dislike about the TiVo Stream system. It's absurd that we have to ask for permission to watch content on our system. I get the entire "leasing the software" mantra, but it is absurd when we are leasing the right to watch the content.
wrecklass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:16 PM   #29
julesAI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
tivo service down since early this morning in Louisville, KY via tivo box. don't use the app.
julesAI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:18 PM   #30
tivoknucklehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by lttu-1212 View Post
No more N33 error on my premiere
but
from pc still cannot connect or ping tivo.com

Long Island, NY




this. Orlando FL
tivoknucklehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |