TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2012, 11:00 AM   #1
HiKent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 80
NFL Network

How long should it take for TiVo to add new channels? Like all TWC users, we got NFL network on Saturday (reported in New York Times among places). Still no guide data on my box nor on TiVo.com.

Have the replacement refs taken over TiVo as well?
HiKent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:31 AM   #2
stujac
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,343
Did you force a connection? I would start with that.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Basic w/2TB, TiVoHD + 1TB, Panny 46" Plasma, Marantz SR5003, PS3, Panny A2 HD DVD player, Panny DMR E-95, JVC Dvd-Audio, all controlled by a Harmony One
stujac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:48 AM   #3
HiKent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 80
It's not that. (I've had a TiVo for over 10 years). The channel doesn't show on TiVo.com program guide. There's just no guide data.
HiKent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:50 PM   #4
lastdeadcat
22 years in Alaska
 
lastdeadcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Duvall, WA
Posts: 431
You have the program playing on the assigned cable channel, but no program info on the guide, right? That's common with newly added channels.

I've had the same experience with the program guide. I had to report a line-up issue to TiVo on the tivo.com website. I also have reported it to zap2it.com which is comes from the TMS where also TiVo uses for its program data.

It took about a week or so and the the program guide info showed up. Until it showed up, if I wanted to record something on that channel, I had to do a manual recording with date, time and channel info.

I don't know if my line-up issue report or the just the course of events of adding a new channel caused the guide info to show up, but it did.
lastdeadcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:31 PM   #5
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
In any case you should report the problem to TiVo here:

http://www.tivo.com/setupandsupport/...neup_tool.html
__________________
Comcast, Cox, TW, Charter and BHN are cabal companies.
(That is not a spelling error. Check the definition.
)
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:40 PM   #6
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 687
I had a channel list update to the TWC Columbus OH region today when I was home for lunch that added the various NFL Network channels to my lists.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:49 PM   #7
jsmeeker
Vegas Boy
 
jsmeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 87,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastdeadcat View Post
You have the program playing on the assigned cable channel, but no program info on the guide, right? That's common with newly added channels.

.
that was my "issue"

But it really wasn't an issue. I didn't really need guide data for the NFL Network on a Sunday.


Out of curiosity, when does the free trial end?
__________________
Jeff
Proud to use my TiVo improperly
President of the TiVoShanan Fan Club


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jsmeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 05:00 PM   #8
jbaum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmeeker View Post
that was my "issue"

But it really wasn't an issue. I didn't really need guide data for the NFL Network on a Sunday.


Out of curiosity, when does the free trial end?
I called them yesterday and was told I was the first one to report it. Was told it would be done in a week. Surprised me given the publicity around the NFL TWC deal.
jbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:47 PM   #9
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,197
Brighthouse just added NFL Network as well ... a pleasant surprise when I saw the TiVo channel update tonight.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis
S/old: 746~Premiere, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:25 AM   #10
HiKent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 80
My program information also arrived last night. Much longer than I would expect, but maybe those internet tubes were all stopped up or something.
HiKent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:49 AM   #11
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,149
Less than 24 hours? That is nothing less than amazing. Tivo needs to get this data from the outside, thus it normally takes a while to have the appropriate entity push this through.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:51 AM   #12
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 687
In general, 4-5 days to see Cable Company changes reflected in 3rd party guide data is the norm. Since it was only a few channels, and they were simply added, it's not such a big deal, at least for me.

Back in 2009, TWC did a massive channel re-organization in my region and it was torturous waiting for the guide data to update in Tivo because so many channels changed. Probably 50% of my recordings were wrong for that week.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:54 PM   #13
CybrFyre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 35
Here, the channel showed up w program info in the guide almost immediately.

But, I never got the usual message about a channel being added to my lineup, on either my elite or my hd.
CybrFyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:13 PM   #14
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 29,628
I received the PTCM message today about the channels being added. (Milwaukee-area Time Warner Cable.)

Curiously enough, the special Olympic Basketball and Olympic Soccer channels have yet to disappear. I should submit a lineup report about that.
LoadStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 07:44 AM   #15
andyw715
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 4,226
I got the msg yesterday, just in time for last night's game
Super happy that I'll be able to watch the Bills in a couple months.
andyw715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:48 AM   #16
CybrFyre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 35
Just got the message today on the elite.
CybrFyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |