TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2012, 05:03 PM   #1
Doggie Bear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA
Posts: 229
Monday nights at 10 pm -- the dual tuner dilemma

We have a dual tuner HD Tivo, which is perfectly fine most of the time in terms of covering what we want to watch, but occasionally we run into the problem of three shows at the same time. This is the second season in a row that Monday nights at 10 pm air three shows that my wife and I are interested in: Hawaii 5-0, Castle, and Revolution. (Last season, in the spring, Smash was on the channel now airs Revolution.)

Last week, Revolution was the only one airing a new episode, so we got to check it out, and it intrigued us enough to keep the season pass. So we were left to decide between Castle and H50 as to which to keep on the TiVo, and which to watch online or sporadically when the other two are reruns.

My wife preferred Castle, because she thinks H50 is way too over the top. I preferred H50 for the following reasons:

- Hawaii in HD >>> New York
- H50 is supposed to over the top -- the whole point of it is to see what superhuman feats Steve McGarrett accomplishes this week! (Other than Jack Bauer, is there any TV character as uber-competent as McGarrett?)
- although both are episodic with some minimal long-term arc, the whole mystery of Beckett's mom's murder has gotten really tedious, especially when the deaths of supposed last person to know the truth turn out not to be dead ends
- yes, Ryan and Esposito are a funny pair, but so too are McGarrett and Williams
- Grace Park > Stana Katic

In the end, my wife relented because of the first point, figuring that Castle would lose less on the computer screen. However, she's also getting impatient with Revolution, so perhaps this will resolve itself in short order.
Doggie Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
bryhamm
randomize
 
bryhamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis area
Posts: 2,189

__________________
I just want bryhamm on top -- dthmj

Bry, normally I would say you can hammer me any time baby -- Zevida

I should have frickin' bryhammed your balls yesterday -- KMan
bryhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:15 PM   #3
Archangel00
Registered User
 
Archangel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 309
Not real common but the occasional show has had reruns on weekends. Usually Saturday nights.

Worst case keep the 2 well established shows and catch Revolution via reruns? That way if it were to get canceled then nothing lost. Plus you'll have something new to watch when everything else is being rerun.
Archangel00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:24 PM   #4
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 30,924
I've gotta disagree one one point. For me, Stana Katic > Grace Park. Both very good looking ladies, but I'll take Stana any day.
LoadStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:00 PM   #5
JLucPicard
Registered User
 
JLucPicard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West St. Paul - Viking Country
Posts: 3,335
TC CLUB MEMBER
I agree with the previous poster about Saturday night. And I haven't studied to get solid numbers, but I know I've seen H50 show up on Saturday nigths quite a bit.
JLucPicard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:53 PM   #6
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
The Saturday night repeats are usually done during the offseason or as a temporary situation early on in the new season. I wouldn't count on that as a full season alternative. Out of the 3 shows mentioned only Revolution is being repeated Saturday at 8pm. None of them are on the following Saturday.

I've had to relegate Castle to one of my S2's because of the same conflict.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:59 PM   #7
super dave
Upgrade Willy
 
super dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 5,832
H5O is on demand if you have it. Also aren't the shows online?
__________________
Dave
super dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:02 PM   #8
n548gxg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: East Coast
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by super dave View Post
H5O is on demand if you have it. Also aren't the shows online?
I was just going to say the same thing.

I do not know what cable provider you have but Verizon FIOS has most broadcast shows free on demand for a month.
n548gxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:04 PM   #9
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,229
Get another Tivo/4 tuner TiVo.

semi-joking.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:08 AM   #10
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,892
As of October, Comcast in my area is going all-digital. Which takes out the two S1s at last, leaving me with only the 2 tuners in the TiVoHD.

I haven't sorted out all my SPs yet but Tuesday nights are looking like a nightmare.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:05 AM   #11
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Get another Tivo/4 tuner TiVo.

semi-joking.
Yep, I rarely have a three way conflict, but when I do, I'm glad I have a 2nd Tivo.

If I had to choose, Castle would be the choice for online viewing. IMO it is the least visual of the three.
Castle is more about the storyline and character interaction. You don't need HD for that.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:17 AM   #12
Unbeliever
Random Nobody
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 4,043
For instances like that, I grabbed an older dual tuner HDHomeRun and relegate the lower priority OTA program to it.

I also have a computer connected to the same TV the TiVo is connected to, so not much lost in the experience.

Surprisingly, I've only got one instance this season where there's the conflict. Same shows, Monday night at 10pm.

--Carlos V.
Unbeliever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:39 AM   #13
Alfer
WOOSAH!
 
Alfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 30,530
1wp


:d
__________________
<a href="http://chataboutyou.com/online-forum-bully">Are you a forum bully?</a>
Alfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:19 AM   #14
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 30,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by murgatroyd View Post
As of October, Comcast in my area is going all-digital. Which takes out the two S1s at last, leaving me with only the 2 tuners in the TiVoHD.

I haven't sorted out all my SPs yet but Tuesday nights are looking like a nightmare.
I'm pretty sure the S1s should work in conjunction with Comcast's Digital Transport Adapters.
LoadStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:07 PM   #15
dbranco
Registered User
 
dbranco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 631
If you have Comcast, can you watch one in On Demand? (Does Dish or DirectTV have a similar service?)
dbranco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:10 PM   #16
snowjay
40mph couch potato
 
snowjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Almost in CT, NY
Posts: 15,336
None of the shows repeat later at night or on another day?
snowjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:26 PM   #17
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 30,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowjay View Post
None of the shows repeat later at night or on another day?
Unless I'm mistaken, ABC is one of the few networks without an encore programming block somewhere on their schedule. Even if they did, "Castle" repeats don't generally get particularly good ratings, so I can't see them including "Castle" in an encore programming block if they had one.

NBC's Saturday prime time is entirely encore programming. That said, I wouldn't plan a schedule around it; there is no one show permanently scheduled to be repeated during those hours. NBC could decide on a moment's notice to change what shows re-air on Saturdays.

CBS only chooses to encore their crime shows on Saturdays.

FOX is the only one of the four that I'm aware of has encore programming in the late-night block.

So, the short answer is: no.
LoadStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:44 PM   #18
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,229
Yeah, I've been burned in the past trying to rely on the repeats (manually rescheduling from the To Do list). TOTALLY vague guestimate -- within a few days, it's probably valid. Maybe even almost a week (e.g. Monday -> Saturday rerun). But for NEXT weekend's rerun of THIS week's episode, which sometimes happens? don't rely on it.

If there's breaking news, you might be hosed anyway.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 10:19 PM   #19
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadStar View Post
I'm pretty sure the S1s should work in conjunction with Comcast's Digital Transport Adapters.
I'm just not looking forward to the IR hell, plus having to get back there and rewire stuff. And the $1.99 monthly charge really pisses me off.

Serves me right for not getting one earlier when they were handing them out for free, I guess.

I've been very happy with the TiVoHD, and if it were still in production, I would just order another one and replace the two S1s. Oh, well.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:15 AM   #20
snowjay
40mph couch potato
 
snowjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Almost in CT, NY
Posts: 15,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadStar View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, ABC is one of the few networks without an encore programming block somewhere on their schedule. Even if they did, "Castle" repeats don't generally get particularly good ratings, so I can't see them including "Castle" in an encore programming block if they had one.

NBC's Saturday prime time is entirely encore programming. That said, I wouldn't plan a schedule around it; there is no one show permanently scheduled to be repeated during those hours. NBC could decide on a moment's notice to change what shows re-air on Saturdays.

CBS only chooses to encore their crime shows on Saturdays.

FOX is the only one of the four that I'm aware of has encore programming in the late-night block.

So, the short answer is: no.

Thanks. lol
snowjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:17 PM   #21
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by murgatroyd View Post
I've been very happy with the TiVoHD, and if it were still in production, I would just order another one and replace the two S1s. Oh, well.
Umm, get one off eBay?

Actually, I have a couple (unsubscribed), that I bought thinking I had a hardware problem in my TivoHD.. Do you want to buy one basically for shipping? (maybe plus a few bucks, but almost nothing).
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:33 AM   #22
marksman
ID-10-T
 
marksman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 16,781
My advice is drop Hawaii 5-0.


Otherwise does your provider have any on demand stuff? On directv I can get abc and NBC shows, but when they show up is dicey. So if it were me and I didn't drop h50 I would figure out my best on demand shot for the other two and record the third.

Really though, just stop watching h50.
__________________
I Support Global Warming!
marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:37 AM   #23
marksman
ID-10-T
 
marksman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 16,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbranco
If you have Comcast, can you watch one in On Demand? (Does Dish or DirectTV have a similar service?)
Directv has NBC and abc on demand. Problem is they don't have all the shows sometimes, episodes can take a long time to show up and in some cases individual episodes are not put up.
__________________
I Support Global Warming!
marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:53 AM   #24
wedgecon
Just Plain Awesome
 
wedgecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buena Park, CA
Posts: 2,958
I had to move H50 to my other DirecTV DVR which for reasons involving my apt wiring is SD and not HD. But I can view the show on my main DVR via whole home.
__________________
My pictures

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wedgecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:56 AM   #25
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Umm, get one off eBay?

Actually, I have a couple (unsubscribed), that I bought thinking I had a hardware problem in my TivoHD.. Do you want to buy one basically for shipping? (maybe plus a few bucks, but almost nothing).
That's generous, thanks. Let me clear some space in my PMs, and talk to my husband about what's in the budget.

Obviously, there are tons of HDs on eBay right now, but playing eBay roulette -- ugh. And reading about the problems with the Premiere -- I'd rather have a slow, stable TiVo than a fast, buggy one.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth

Last edited by murgatroyd : 10-01-2012 at 10:06 AM.
murgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:57 AM   #26
Hoffer
Captain Chaos
 
Hoffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 31,862
I don't watch any of the three shows. No problems for me.

Seriously though, whenever I have an issue like this, I download the show off usenet. Usually a 720p file and I stream it to my Blu-ray player. It is actually a better experience since the commercials are cutout. Video is still HD and if there is 5.1 audio, it will be there.
__________________
Xbox/PSN/Wii U IDs: Hoffer
Hoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:02 AM   #27
sieglinde
Registered User
 
sieglinde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 5,370
Mob Doctor got dropped in my schedule due to this problem. Not a great loss. I would check the places that provide free viewings. CBS is the channel that seems the least generous in that regard so if one of the shows is in CBS, I would rely on my Tivo for that one.
__________________
Science over Superstition
sieglinde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |