TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
mhopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
program search results fail to "select"

Tivo HD OEM.
When programs are "selected" as returned by a title search, the TIVO bonks (remote receive led blinks) as if an illegal command is entered and nothing happens. The record/season pass menu does not appear. Reboot does not affect situation. Removal of several Season Pass titles makes no diff (is there a limit?) in fail operation. This happens when searching for the new CBS series "VEGAS" but not others. No diff if pgm is off cable/tuning adapter or off air.
Is there a new type of recording prohibition other than the no transfer imposed by (in my case) Time Warner?? Help, I am stumped.

Can't help but notice after numerous "looks" no one has seen fit to comment on this issue. Is my explanation unclear? Is this a common problem that many others have reviewed and thus a "dumb question?" Or does no one have any ideas at all about this anomaly?
thanks

Last edited by mhopper : 09-21-2012 at 08:06 PM. Reason: added new info about issue
mhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:39 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhopper View Post
Tivo HD OEM.
When programs are "selected" as returned by a title search, the TIVO bonks (remote receive led blinks) as if an illegal command is entered and nothing happens. The record/season pass menu does not appear. Reboot does not affect situation. Removal of several Season Pass titles makes no diff (is there a limit?) in fail operation. This happens when searching for the new CBS series "VEGAS" but not others. No diff if pgm is off cable/tuning adapter or off air.
Is there a new type of recording prohibition other than the no transfer imposed by (in my case) Time Warner?? Help, I am stumped.

Can't help but notice after numerous "looks" no one has seen fit to comment on this issue. Is my explanation unclear? Is this a common problem that many others have reviewed and thus a "dumb question?" Or does no one have any ideas at all about this anomaly?
thanks
Perhaps you need to power down the tuning adapter overnight, to trigger garbage collection, or maybe do a clear and delete program info and to do list, or a Kickstart 58.


What part, apprx., of NC?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 02:44 PM   #3
mhopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
thanks

Thank you for your reply. I did those things as well. Even switched out the TA and the CC. No joy. --- BUT yesterday tried to set 'Pass for VEGAS again just for kicks and it worked normally. Guess time heals that wound at least.

I reside in Cleveland County, in Town of Earl, south of Shelby and west of Charlotte.

thanks again for the suggestions but I suppose any further troubleshooting of this problem will have to await the next iteration of the anomaly.
mh
mhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhopper View Post
Thank you for your reply. I did those things as well. Even switched out the TA and the CC. No joy. --- BUT yesterday tried to set 'Pass for VEGAS again just for kicks and it worked normally. Guess time heals that wound at least.

I reside in Cleveland County, in Town of Earl, south of Shelby and west of Charlotte.

thanks again for the suggestions but I suppose any further troubleshooting of this problem will have to await the next iteration of the anomaly.
mh
Glad it worked out for you over there in Earl Owensby territory.

Sometimes it takes the TiVo a while to get it's ducks in a row.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |