TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
pintosdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Fios Humax Single Tuner Dvd Watch One Record Another

We used to have Charter cable until about 2 months ago and while we had it we were able to watch live tv via our old Sony VCR while recording another show using the TIVO. Now that we have switched to FIOS we seem to have lost that capability. I can't tell if it is due to the tech screwing up how I had the cables set up or if there is some issue with FIOS. I have tried a number of cable configurations but I can't get it to do what it used to.

Any ideas.

The TV is old and only has RF antenna input, and S-VIDEO input and an 2 rca type inputs.

Any ideas.
pintosdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,502
I'm pretty sure FIOS is all digital, which is probably why your VCR can't pick up the channels. You can use one of the digital converters that enable you to use an older TV or VCR with digital signals. Check compatibility to make sure it will work. You may have to use a FIOS converter box for their channels. I think most digital converters were meant for OTA reception when they switched from analog to digital for local antenna reception.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by pintosdad View Post
We used to have Charter cable until about 2 months ago and while we had it we were able to watch live tv via our old Sony VCR while recording another show using the TIVO. Now that we have switched to FIOS we seem to have lost that capability. I can't tell if it is due to the tech screwing up how I had the cables set up or if there is some issue with FIOS. I have tried a number of cable configurations but I can't get it to do what it used to.

Any ideas.

The TV is old and only has RF antenna input, and S-VIDEO input and an 2 rca type inputs.

Any ideas.
First try splitting the RF from the wall before it enters the FIOS cable box and run line to the FIOS box and one to the RF input of the TV. Do a channel scan and see if you pick up any channels. If you do, you will be good to go, if not you will need a second FIOS cable box to decode the channels for you. For the two box solution you would do the following.

Run the Humax TiVo s-video and RCA audio outputs to the matching TV inputs. Then run an RF coax from a second FIOS cable box to the TV RF input. Swtich the TV to RF and channel 3 or 4 (whatever you set the second FIOS box to send on) to watch live TV from FIOS. Switch the TV to AUX input (or whatever your TV calls it) to watch from the TiVo which will control the first FIOS cable box.

YOu will need to make sure your remote control for the second fios box does not control the first one. You may be able to do that with settings in the cable boxes or you may need to hid the box the tiVo controls from the remote somehow.
CuriousMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |