TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2012, 10:36 PM   #4291
lew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
VideoReDo does not determine commercial breaks by the logo on the video, it determines by the black frames between the video and the breaks. Sometimes they will cut directly to the commercial suddenly without the blank frames and that will not get detected.
My post wasn't clear. My understanding is comskip can use the logo and VRD doesn't. Hence the question which approach gets better results.
lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:19 AM   #4292
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
Most network shows have a logo in the corner during the program but not during the commercial. Surprised there isn't a reliable way to use that.
I never much cared for auto-commercial cutting personally. I'd rather just do it manually since I don't do it very often. But comskip is highly configurable - by editing comskip.ini you can do things such as you suggest to target a network logo as an indicator. But you have to put in place different configs for different channels and/or shows so if you have a wide variety of recordings you are targeting it quickly becomes unwieldy. If you want to play with it, kmttg does allow you to specify comskip.ini file to use and in auto transfers config you can even setup a different comskip.ini for each entry so you could setup different ones for different shows. It all depends how much work you are willing to put in to get it working as well as possible. If it's just occasional use then I say don't bother and just cut manually using VRD without any commercial detection. If you do a lot of shows frequently then it's a different story.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:38 AM   #4293
lew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I never much cared for auto-commercial cutting personally. I'd rather just do it manually since I don't do it very often. But comskip is highly configurable - by editing comskip.ini you can do things such as you suggest to target a network logo as an indicator. But you have to put in place different configs for different channels and/or shows so if you have a wide variety of recordings you are targeting it quickly becomes unwieldy. If you want to play with it, kmttg does allow you to specify comskip.ini file to use and in auto transfers config you can even setup a different comskip.ini for each entry so you could setup different ones for different shows. It all depends how much work you are willing to put in to get it working as well as possible. If it's just occasional use then I say don't bother and just cut manually using VRD without any commercial detection. If you do a lot of shows frequently then it's a different story.
ITA I was thinking of automating the process so I can D/L programs while I'm on vacation. My goal would be to get rid of some, not all, commercials. I have no doubt getting rid of all the commercials is likely to also get rid of some of the program.

I may try it with earlier episodes of programs. See which programs work.

I'll be watching the program when I don't have access to the internet.

This "exercise" may be more trouble then it's worth.
lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:46 AM   #4294
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
If it's just occasional use then I say don't bother and just cut manually using VRD without any commercial detection.
I definitely agree with the rest of what you say, but definitely not this. No commercial cutting utility is going to be 100% accurate, or indeed anywhere close, but that does not mean automated commercial cutting is not useful. Having a cut file created automatically can save the user a huge amount of time when manually editing the file. Most cuts are at least in the ballpark, and skipping to the proposed cut points can save one easily ten to fifteen minutes of searching per show on average. False positives are easy to detect and eliminate, and it is usually easy to tell when a commercial has been missed because the show content will be more than 43 minutes per hour of recording after one is at the end of the file. I manually edit all programs - even the ones which do not contain commercials, which in my case is the vast majority - but I have kmttg run them all through comskip when they are downloaded.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:57 AM   #4295
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
ITA I was thinking of automating the process so I can D/L programs while I'm on vacation. My goal would be to get rid of some, not all, commercials. I have no doubt getting rid of all the commercials is likely to also get rid of some of the program.
It doesn't quite work that way. While it is true that tweaking the skip parameters can make the commercial cuts more or less accurate, in general it is a case of working well for one channel and poorly for another. Note, too, that accuracy involves not only the rate of false positives and false negatives, but also the accuracy of the cut point. Frequently either comskip or VRD will accurately identify commercials, but will set the cut point where a few seconds of program video are lost or a few seconds of commercial are displayed. You may not care, but I want the cuts to be as accurate as possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
I may try it with earlier episodes of programs. See which programs work.
Both work fairly well in general. One may work much better with one channel than the other, even after tweaking. Some channels are devilishly difficult for both.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
This "exercise" may be more trouble then it's worth.
That's entirely for you to decide, of course.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:13 AM   #4296
lew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
It doesn't quite work that way. While it is true that tweaking the skip parameters can make the commercial cuts more or less accurate, in general it is a case of working well for one channel and poorly for another. Note, too, that accuracy involves not only the rate of false positives and false negatives, but also the accuracy of the cut point. Frequently either comskip or VRD will accurately identify commercials, but will set the cut point where a few seconds of program video are lost or a few seconds of commercial are displayed. You may not care, but I want the cuts to be as accurate as possible.
I wouldn't expect an automated process would do the cuts as accurately as doing it manually. For my purposes I'm looking for a system which errs in leaving an occasional commercial or even a few seconds of a commercial.

In your experience, is the automated ad scan likely to be consistent among shows on the same network? Among different episodes of the same series?

My goal is to chop enough commercials so I can transfer the program, on the road, to an iPad.

I'd be surprised if an automated system is good enough for my normal processing. Just trying to decide if it's good enough so I can D/L some shows while on vacation. Watch on the plane or other downtime.

Last edited by lew : 09-12-2012 at 09:20 AM.
lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:56 PM   #4297
txporter
One sec, almost done
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
I definitely agree with the rest of what you say, but definitely not this. No commercial cutting utility is going to be 100% accurate, or indeed anywhere close, but that does not mean automated commercial cutting is not useful. Having a cut file created automatically can save the user a huge amount of time when manually editing the file. Most cuts are at least in the ballpark, and skipping to the proposed cut points can save one easily ten to fifteen minutes of searching per show on average. False positives are easy to detect and eliminate, and it is usually easy to tell when a commercial has been missed because the show content will be more than 43 minutes per hour of recording after one is at the end of the file. I manually edit all programs - even the ones which do not contain commercials, which in my case is the vast majority - but I have kmttg run them all through comskip when they are downloaded.
I agree with what lrhorer is saying, I have kmttg generate the detection file but do not actual have it cut the video. I just use that to jump around in VRD using F5/F6 to verify the cut points. (I use comskip to do the actual detection FWIW). I do think it is a little faster than the manual scrub. I tend to set up downloads and let it run overnight, so the extra 10 mins or so to do the detection doesn't really impact me. This has actually allowed me to VPN into my machine and perform commercial cuts (even with sub-par fps through VPN). If I didn't have the detection file, it wouldn't have really been possible with just a manual scrub.
__________________
Tivo Premiere 2TB WD20EARS (lifetime)
TivoHD 1TB WD10EACS + 1TB WD10EVCS Antec MX-1 (lifetime)
TivoHD 1TB WD10EACS (lifetime)
Series2 540 400GB Seagate DB35 (lifetime)
txporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:48 PM   #4298
global_dev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 98
mac osx cc extactor

moved from a windows system to osx last year and got back into setting up kmttg.

i like having the CC extracted and it took a bit to sort out how to compile the binary as the appropriate tools aren't included in the default os x image.

i had to install xcode and check another option in xcode to install the correct tools to compile and then run the script in terminal of the dir as the script wouldn't work from the provided info.

if anyone wants the binary or better directions, let me know...
global_dev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:01 PM   #4299
global_dev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 98
OS X CCE further info… i downloaded Xcode and in "Preferences" -> "Downloads" installed "Command Line Tools". in text edit, copy the OS X build command provided by CCE download and run script in the SRC dir in terminal. the binary should be compiled.

here is CCE ver. 0.63

Last edited by global_dev : 09-15-2012 at 02:16 PM. Reason: added zip, upload revised
global_dev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:12 PM   #4300
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,709
I just tried to send to my tivo, a video from iTunes, its a .m4v and the blue light comes on and goes off after about a second. Obviously, Tivo does not like iTunes. Do I need to convert it beforehand?

Update: I googled and found that I need to use a DRM Remover but so far, only found 1 and the Aimersoft trial version will convert 1 minute worth of video, (or pay $36 for full version). I rather find a free converter as I already paid for the iTunes video series.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : 09-15-2012 at 11:43 PM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:41 AM   #4301
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
I wouldn't expect an automated process would do the cuts as accurately as doing it manually. For my purposes I'm looking for a system which errs in leaving an occasional commercial or even a few seconds of a commercial.
Again, the results depend on how the channel does its commercial insertions and how consistently they do them. Depending on the exact nature of the commercial insertions, it might be possible to tweak the cut paramaters to make this usually work as you want, at least for a given series on a given channel, and perhaps for all series on that channel. It is not unusual for similar results to be found on more than one channel, either, but OTOH it is also not unusual to encounter rather different results on different channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
In your experience, is the automated ad scan likely to be consistent among shows on the same network?
I don't have enough experience with this to form a useful opinion. I would not be surprised for it to be the case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lew View Post
Among different episodes of the same series?
It has been my general experience that different episodes of a single series airing at the same time on the same channel are pretty consistent, but by no means perfectly so.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:10 PM   #4302
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyF
Quote:
Just so we're clear, you have all of the settings in the pytivo tab fo kmtth set, including destination TiVo.

Then from the main kmttg page, with only the "push" box checked, you go to the "Files" tab and add a .tivo file, select the entry and do a "Start" and kmttg issues an error message?
You are correct in your statement above. I appreciate your help.
This discussion should be moved to http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...ighlight=kmttg, especially since I don't know why it is behaving as it is.
Addressing a question posed in the Sourceforge pyTivo forum.

You need to download and configure kmttg to use the radian build of ffmpeg. Whether this will cause other problems, I do not know.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:30 PM   #4303
Sam Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 24
I downloaded kmttg today. At first it did not work; nothing happened.

When Java 7 was installed it did not remove Java 6. When I execute kmttg using Java 7 javaw explicitly nothing happens. When I execute the exact same thing using Java 6 it works. So I do not know if it is a problem with the way Java is installed, in which case it is not a kmttg problem, or if there is a compatibility problem. So if someone is unable to use kmttg then this might at least help to isolate the problem.

I am using Windows 7. The Java updates were installed from the Java site with no customizations (that I can remember).

The command I am usng to execute kmttg using javaw explicitly is:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw.exe" -jar "C:\Software\kmttg\kmttg.jar"

That uses Java 6 and works. If I change jre6 to jre7 (just the 6 to a 7) then nothing happens.

Last edited by Sam Ray : 09-21-2012 at 07:31 PM. Reason: spelling
Sam Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:39 PM   #4304
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Just installed latest JRE 7 on a Win XP machine and was able to run kmttg without issue:
Code:
C:\home\kmttg>java -version
java version "1.7.0_07"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_07-b11)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 23.3-b01, mixed mode, sharing)
java -jar kmttg.jar
Run java -jar kmttg.jar from command line (using jre7 version and using java instead of javaw) and see what error messages are generated in the console that may provide some clues. i.e. I think in your case:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe" -jar "C:\Software\kmttg\kmttg.jar"
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:21 PM   #4305
Sam Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 24
I got:
Error occurred during initialization of VM
java/lang/NoClassDefFoundError: java/lang/Object

Sam Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:43 PM   #4306
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Ray View Post
I got:
Error occurred during initialization of VM
java/lang/NoClassDefFoundError: java/lang/Object
What happens if you just open kmttg.jar by either double-click or right-click then open?
That's how I run KMTTG.jar.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:09 PM   #4307
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Ray View Post
I got:
Error occurred during initialization of VM
java/lang/NoClassDefFoundError: java/lang/Object
Sounds like a Java installation issue to me. Can you run any jar file with that Java installation? For example download this very simple hello.jar and try running it instead of kmttg.jar to see what happens. It should just print "Hello World!" to console:
http://kmttg.googlecode.com/files/hello.jar
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:22 PM   #4308
Sam Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
What happens if you just open kmttg.jar by either double-click or right-click then open?
That's how I run KMTTG.jar.
I am sorry, I was not clear. The simple answer to your question is that nothing happens. I assume because the jar file is associated with version 7 of Java. So that is what prompted me to use Java explicitly. When I open the Jar file in the manner you describe (except I have single-click turned on; if you don't know what that is then ignore it) then the same thing happens (at least symptom-wise) as if I execute explicitly using Java 7; nothing happens.
Sam Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:35 PM   #4309
Sam Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 24
I get the same error if I use java (not javaw) and Java 7 but I get "Hello world!" with Java 6. So it does seem to be a Java problem.
Sam Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:07 PM   #4310
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Sounds like a Java installation issue to me. Can you run any jar file with that Java installation? For example download this very simple hello.jar and try running it instead of kmttg.jar to see what happens. It should just print "Hello World!" to console:
http://kmttg.googlecode.com/files/hello.jar
Ironically, I ran hello.jar and I have nothing show up (except javaw.exe peeked in the task manager for less than a second), but KMTTG always worked for me.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : 09-21-2012 at 10:12 PM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:17 PM   #4311
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Ironically, I ran hello.jar and I have nothing show up (except javaw.exe peeked in the task manager for less than a second), but KMTTG always worked for me.
That's expected. You have to run "java -jar hello.jar" in a cmd (console) window to see the output since it just prints a message to stdout and exits, so running from GUI will do as you described.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:26 PM   #4312
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Yeah, that sorta got back burnered plus I had to remove the episodeTitle code as it was causing some problems and I didn't have time to try and fix it. I will try to get back to it next week. Starting tomorrow, I will be AFMK for a week so won't have access to my development machine.
Did you ever get back to this?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:48 AM   #4313
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Did you ever get back to this?
Sorry, no. I failed to take something into account - how big a bite out of my day that the course of treatment I began September 5 would take.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:55 AM   #4314
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Sorry, no. I failed to take something into account - how big a bite out of my day that the course of treatment I began September 5 would take.
I hope the course of treatment goes well. I'm sure we all do.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:01 AM   #4315
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
I hope the course of treatment goes well. I'm sure we all do.
So far, so good. At least I don't glow in the dark. Yet.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:11 AM   #4316
janry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 17,688
Sorry if this has been asked before but I can't find what I'm looking for. I have the latest version of kmttg installed. I have a desktop shortcut and kmttg launches fine from it and everything seems to run fine.

I'm trying to schedule kmttg to run in Windows 7's "Task Scheduler" with the "-b" option without services running to do a daily transfer of selected programs. When I try to run the task which launches the same shortcut, I get the following error message: "Could not find the main class: C:\kmttg\kmttg.jar. Program will exit."

Thoughts? Can kmttg be launched from Task Scheduler?
janry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:21 AM   #4317
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by janry View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before but I can't find what I'm looking for. I have the latest version of kmttg installed. I have a desktop shortcut and kmttg launches fine from it and everything seems to run fine.

I'm trying to schedule kmttg to run in Windows 7's "Task Scheduler" with the "-b" option without services running to do a daily transfer of selected programs. When I try to run the task which launches the same shortcut, I get the following error message: "Could not find the main class: C:\kmttg\kmttg.jar. Program will exit."

Thoughts? Can kmttg be launched from Task Scheduler?
What you really want to do is run the kmttg service. Look under Auto Transfers->Service.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:37 AM   #4318
janry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 17,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
What you really want to do is run the kmttg service. Look under Auto Transfers->Service.
As I understand the service is it transfers at intervals. I want my transfers to always occur at 1:00 AM. Also, I don't believe the service will wake the computer.
janry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:53 AM   #4319
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by janry View Post
As I understand the service is it transfers at intervals. I want my transfers to always occur at 1:00 AM. Also, I don't believe the service will wake the computer.
OK. Not gonna ask why. I don't know much about Win7 (I'm still running Win2K cause I can't afford to upgrade), but have you got the task set to "Run as administrator"?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:40 PM   #4320
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by janry View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before but I can't find what I'm looking for. I have the latest version of kmttg installed. I have a desktop shortcut and kmttg launches fine from it and everything seems to run fine.

I'm trying to schedule kmttg to run in Windows 7's "Task Scheduler" with the "-b" option without services running to do a daily transfer of selected programs. When I try to run the task which launches the same shortcut, I get the following error message: "Could not find the main class: C:\kmttg\kmttg.jar. Program will exit."

Thoughts? Can kmttg be launched from Task Scheduler?
Just tried and it works. My guess is you are setting kmttg.jar as the Program/script which won't work. You need to set it up as:
Program/script = full path to javaw.exe
Arguments = -jar "full path to kmttg.jar" -b
Example:
Program = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\javaw.exe"
Arguments = -jar "C:\home\kmttg java testing\kmttg.jar" -b

For testing purposes you may want to leave off the -b just to see if kmttg GUI pops up as expected, and one you have that working add the -b back in.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |