TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,039
Phone line needed?

Sorry if this has been answered before. I am thinking of giving a Tivo Series 3 OLED to my uncle. He will have only a cell phone and no internet service. He will have Charter cable service in SoCal and I would set it up w/ 2 Cable Cards.

Will he need a landline for guide updates or any other reason? I don't imagine that there will be any firmware updates any time soon? I can do a clear and delete before I give it to him. Will I be able to do guided setup w/o a landline?
A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 05:59 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J Ricaud View Post
Sorry if this has been answered before. I am thinking of giving a Tivo Series 3 OLED to my uncle. He will have only a cell phone and no internet service. He will have Charter cable service in SoCal and I would set it up w/ 2 Cable Cards.

Will he need a landline for guide updates or any other reason? I don't imagine that there will be any firmware updates any time soon? I can do a clear and delete before I give it to him. Will I be able to do guided setup w/o a landline?
The TiVo will need either a phone line or an internet connection to download the guide data (what shows are on which channel at what time).

Also it will need one or the other to keep the clock set so that when you tell it to start recording at 8pm, it starts at 8pm and not a minute or 3 either side of it that it thinks is 8pm.

Also you won't be able to do Guided Setup without some way for the TiVo to connect to the TiVo, Inc. servers, because you tell it the zip code the TiVo is in (or is going to be in, I suppose in your case), and only then does it download info about available cable companies and local broadcast channels, even before it downloads guide data.

Can his cell phone access the internet at all?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:01 PM   #3
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,222
An S3 will need EITHER a phone line or an internet connection to do guided setup and then get guide data in the future.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:03 PM   #4
tiassa
Me --Avatar
 
tiassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,303
In order to be set up, the Tivo has to connect to the "Tivo Control Central" somehow, and your choices are phone line or Internet. There isn't a way around this (well, I suppose your uncle could use his cellphone as a modem to a PC and then share the internet connection and get the Tivo to connect that way, but that isn't a long term solution).
tiassa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:37 PM   #5
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiassa View Post
In order to be set up, the Tivo has to connect to the "Tivo Control Central" somehow, and your choices are phone line or Internet. There isn't a way around this (well, I suppose your uncle could use his cellphone as a modem to a PC and then share the internet connection and get the Tivo to connect that way, but that isn't a long term solution).
If he could connect to the Internet about once a week using the cell phone somehow, that would keep his guide data reasonably up-to-date, and it might not use up too much of his data plan if it's reasonably generous.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:23 AM   #6
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,039
I'll have to see if I can get him a low cost "lifeline" phone line. He isn't tech savvy and will not need or use an internet connection.
A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:31 PM   #7
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J Ricaud View Post
I'll have to see if I can get him a low cost "lifeline" phone line. He isn't tech savvy and will not need or use an internet connection.
Check to make sure TiVo has a local dial in number. My understanding is they have cut back and a lifeline phone might end up having to dial a long distance number and end up costing more than one with "normal" service. I would also check to see what kind of low cost Internet access he can get from the cable company.

Good Luck,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:18 PM   #8
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Check to make sure TiVo has a local dial in number. My understanding is they have cut back and a lifeline phone might end up having to dial a long distance number and end up costing more than one with "normal" service. I would also check to see what kind of low cost Internet access he can get from the cable company.

Good Luck,
Thanks for the advice.
A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |