TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2012, 10:30 PM   #1
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,850
Movie theater in my car...

Nothing helpful in this post - just sharing.

So tonight I found myself sitting in my car for a couple hours waiting on my daughter - dads you know the drill... Knowing that I would be sitting for a while, I side-loaded a movie from my media server to the TiVo app. (Battle Los Angeles)

I connected the iPad to the Bluetooth audio in the car, leaned the iPad on the steering wheel and watched a movie with huge sound!

I use the stream quite a bit and for the most part it has worked great!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 09-15-2012 at 11:36 PM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:46 AM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,926
Are all you channels unprotected? All of my movie channels are protected and can't be sideloaded.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 01:32 AM   #3
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Are all you channels unprotected? All of my movie channels are protected and can't be sideloaded.

Dan
I have FIOS, so not too much of a problem with copy protection - but this was not a TiVo recording...

This movie was from one of my DVD archives. Moved it to the Premier and side loaded it to the iPad. Very quick and easy to do.

I travel quite a bit so I am really happy how easy this is....
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:28 PM   #4
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
I have FIOS, so not too much of a problem with copy protection
I have fios also and your statement used to be true up until a month or so ago. Fios has recently started to lock down all of the pay stations.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:34 PM   #5
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
I have fios also and your statement used to be true up until a month or so ago. Fios has recently started to lock down all of the pay stations.
FIOS didn't - the content owners did...

I shut down HBO, Showtome, et al years ago. With Redbox I get plenty of premium movies at a much cheaper price.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #6
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
FIOS didn't - the content owners did...
FIOS most certainly did. They control the mechanism.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:59 PM   #7
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
FIOS most certainly did. They control the mechanism.
Control is the operative word in my mind... FIOS didn't decide to block the premium channels they were obligated to block them.

Your definition of control is different then mine.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:00 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
I have fios also and your statement used to be true up until a month or so ago. Fios has recently started to lock down all of the pay stations.
The last time I checked it was only HBO and Cinemax. The several other Premium movie channels didn't have an issue. Has this changed?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:13 PM   #9
DeWitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Summit, NJ
Posts: 421
So far only HBO and Cinemax for me, and we got a mail notification about it from FIOS.
DeWitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |