TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2012, 01:15 AM   #1
calitivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 343
NFL RedZone not working on XL4

Bought a new XL4 and haven't been able to get RedZone channels (SD & HD) working on it. My old Series 3 cablecards receive RedZone and I have already tried swapping them into the XL4 without success.

Verizon sent me a new cablecard and same situation. I do receive HBO on that card without problems once I have them pair the card. But I can't seem to get RedZone working on it.

Doesn't make sense that it would be a hardware problem because it receives HBO. Fios support is awful like all other cable companies. Very frustrating hold times and general stupidity in the people I am talking to.

Anybody have any ideas of why this is happening? I had the HBO problems a few weeks ago on the S3, but was fixed once they manually input the Data ID I gave them.
calitivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:21 AM   #2
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Sounds like a cable card problem to me. FIOS isn't properly authorizing that channel for you on that card.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 01:24 PM   #3
TerpBE
Go Terps!
 
TerpBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 663
Apparently you need to "activate" Redzone before you can get it (even if it's part of your plan). This is easy if you have a fios set-top box, but apparently nobody really knows how to do it if you're only using cablecards.
TerpBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:15 PM   #4
jay_man2
jay_man-also
 
jay_man2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,869
I got Verizon to give me a free set top box which I installed long enough to reactivate the channel. I picked it up from a Verizon Experience store, and returned it the next day.

After tuning to the channel and hitting ok twice it still took over an hour and a router reboot for the channels to activate on my Tivos.
__________________
Verizon FiOS, two Premiere Elites
jay_man2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:36 AM   #5
dsnotgood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_man2 View Post
I got Verizon to give me a free set top box which I installed long enough to reactivate the channel. I picked it up from a Verizon Experience store, and returned it the next day.

After tuning to the channel and hitting ok twice it still took over an hour and a router reboot for the channels to activate on my Tivos.


Yes, I did the same. I have a standard box and I used it to activate red zone and it works fine on my TiVo now.
dsnotgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 11:51 AM   #6
calitivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 343
Thanks for the input. Got it fixed once it got elevated to a Fios team that watches out for people who are calling in many times in a certain timeframe. The front line tech support are really bad with cablecards from my experience. I actually had a guy reading from a script when I called in.

Verizon claims RedZone issues the last weekend were not isolated to cablecards, but who knows. Supposedly, Verizon has bought x number of subscriptions from the NFL and combined with the Ultimate package situation (which I don't have), it's a mess for their systems. Clearly the lack of a cable box had something to do with it.

3 years running that RZ hasn't automatically worked without intervention on their part. I would recommend anybody with a similar issue call the special Verizon line at 888-959-5227. These people are way more intelligent than the front line tech support.
calitivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:15 PM   #7
TerpBE
Go Terps!
 
TerpBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 663
I've had a practically unused FIOS box for the past 3 years. Two weeks ago I decided to return it so I could stop wasting the $5/month or whatever it is. Of course now is the first time I actually need one.
TerpBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:47 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by calitivo View Post
Thanks for the input. Got it fixed once it got elevated to a Fios team that watches out for people who are calling in many times in a certain timeframe. The front line tech support are really bad with cablecards from my experience. I actually had a guy reading from a script when I called in.

Verizon claims RedZone issues the last weekend were not isolated to cablecards, but who knows. Supposedly, Verizon has bought x number of subscriptions from the NFL and combined with the Ultimate package situation (which I don't have), it's a mess for their systems. Clearly the lack of a cable box had something to do with it.

3 years running that RZ hasn't automatically worked without intervention on their part. I would recommend anybody with a similar issue call the special Verizon line at 888-959-5227. These people are way more intelligent than the front line tech support.
This is the first year I had an issue with RedZone. The previous years it showed up fine.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:11 PM   #9
TerpBE
Go Terps!
 
TerpBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Philly 'burbs
Posts: 663
If you're unable to get your RedZone activated, try tweeting @VerizonSupport. I just did, and they said everything is now good to go (I'm not home so I can't check until later). They also said anybody else with problems should get in touch with them. They're pretty quick to reply.
TerpBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |