TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,465
TiVo Stream install problems / issues

Figured I'd start a new thread for those having install issues.

I installed my box, originally got "Not successful" message or something.

Now the box has a blinking blue/orange flashing and seems to be looping during the software install process. I've reset the router, power cycled the Stream, etc and no change.

(I do have the new version of the Tivo ap on my iPad.

Originally, the info screen in the ap for the Stream was blank - now it shows:

Status Succeeded
TSN <my TSN>
Name TiVo Stream (what I renamed the box in MMA)
Software Version 19.0.J4-01-6 (based on sev...
IP address <IP address on my LAN>
MAC address <the pseudo address used, not the real one)
Next Service call Sat, Sept 8 2012 at 12:24am
Software Update status Not available

If anyone had this same issue - what did you do to fix it?
__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,971
Do you have any other iOS devices? Just to be sure the failure isn't the app/devices fault?

If it fails with multiple iOS devices then I'd say you got a defective unit and need to exchange it.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:11 PM   #3
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Do you have any other iOS devices? Just to be sure the failure isn't the app/devices fault?

If it fails with multiple iOS devices then I'd say you got a defective unit and need to exchange it.
Yes, but I haven't tried it yet on my iPhone. Or deleted/reinstalled the Tivo ap from the iPad. Thanks for the idea.
__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:20 PM   #4
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,465
Tried on the iPhone and deleted/reinstalled the Tivo ap from the iPad. Same problem.

Tivo support says they just got a memo this afternoon that says that any Stream that is looping in Step 1 ("Checking for software version") needs to be replaced. (Apparently there is no way to currently do a real hardware reset).

So, looks like I wait a few more days before any Stream happiness.
__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:38 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,971
That sucks

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:10 PM   #6
tunarollz
Jon at TiVo
 
tunarollz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
Tried on the iPhone and deleted/reinstalled the Tivo ap from the iPad. Same problem.

Tivo support says they just got a memo this afternoon that says that any Stream that is looping in Step 1 ("Checking for software version") needs to be replaced. (Apparently there is no way to currently do a real hardware reset).

So, looks like I wait a few more days before any Stream happiness.
How's your new one working out for ya?
__________________
Jon
tunarollz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:45 PM   #7
ScaryMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 201
Im having pretty much the exact same issue. Listening to hold music with TiVo support right now. Hopefully they will replace it quickly. It sucks having to wait... again!

note: I've tried multiple iOS devices, and multiple ethernet cables, on multiple ports.
Its getting an IP address, i can see that in my router. I can even bring up the ipaddress/index.html

but It gets stuck at the second step of setup.

edit: been on hold for - 27 minutes. (called at 8:30 central which is 6:30 PT) so technically they close now (7pt) but I'm hoping the fact that I called before they closed means I'll get in.

followup: getting an exchange.

Last edited by ScaryMike : 09-11-2012 at 10:25 PM.
ScaryMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:00 AM   #8
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunarollz View Post

How's your new one working out for ya?
The replacement box was up and running in about 25 minutes. Much happier now.
__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:28 PM   #9
ScaryMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 201
Got my replacement today and its up and running. No issues.
ScaryMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |